Blue J Legal Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Blue J Legal Reviews

Updated 5 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.9
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Blue J Legal CEO Benjamin Alarie (no image)
Benjamin Alarie
33 Ratings
  1. "No better place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue J Legal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Invest a lot of time and training into employees - Lots of (actually fun) work social events that are optional - Amazing company culture and genuinely kind people to work with - Room to move up in the company - SUPER close to union - Standard in by 9, out at 5.

    Cons

    - RRSP matching would be great

    Blue J Legal2019-11-05
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue J Legal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - friendly, hardworking, smart staff - great product - competitive pay and excellent time off

    Cons

    - regular growing pains of start-up - formal training is still being developed but management is working on this

    Blue J Legal2019-10-24
  3. "A Truly Unique Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue J Legal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very positive work environment. Management has created a culture where everyone is willing to help each other. People deliver on their promises in a timely manner. Staff are encouraged to take on challenges in a supportive environment. Management is very transparent and responsive.

    Cons

    The company is dealing with the usual challenges associated with growing very quickly. Management can be spread thin at times and hiring takes up a significant portion of everyone's time (although the recent addition of a dedicated talent manager should help alleviate this burden somewhat). There is some emphasis on socializing outside of work hours, which may not be everyone's thing.

    Blue J Legal2019-02-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "From big law to great law"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Research Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue J Legal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Just a phenomenal place to work. Put a bunch of driven, friendly, intelligent people in a room together and build something the world has never seen before. Standout pros: • Truly collaborative environment where everyone contributes their unique skills and experience. • Commitment to work life balance. No blinking lights or vibrating phones after 5 pm. • High morale environment where everyone’s excited by what... we’re creating. • Defined paths to success and promotion in the company. • Great location. • Creativity.

    Show More

    Cons

    Anything said here would be a stretch to call a con. There are challenges, for sure, but we're encouraged to grow professionally and personally and management are always available to discuss any issues.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work.

    Blue J Legal2019-02-01
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Proud to Work for Blue J"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue J Legal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Joining a new company in a new industry can be intimidating but thanks to the supportive and exceptionally friendly people at Blue J the transition has been an incredibly positive experience. The transparency from upper management is a pleasant surprise for me and the emphasis on maintaining a positive culture is evident in all interactions. There is something to say about feeling welcomed and comfortable right off... the bat. Besides the obvious exciting learning curve, the internal satisfaction and pride you experience from being part of such a new revolutionary idea is priceless. To truly believe in the product you are selling creates such a difference in your ability to speak genuinely and passionately about the product and company. Blue J has weekly updates with all departments (did I mention transparency???) which allows you to TRY to fully grasp the amazing work and minds behind the ideas and products. Blue J is made up of 50% women, which is not common in the tech industry, and I couldn’t be prouder to work for such an inclusive and progressive company. I could go on and on about the fantastic culture and people, the way the company encourages individuality and self-management, the ground-breaking ideas behind the wonderful people at Blue J, and the ways Blue J promotes cohesiveness and collaboration among all departments, however this post has a maximum character limit.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing that comes to mind.

    Advice to Management

    Continue exactly what you're doing.

    Blue J Legal2019-01-27
  6. "Best company I've ever worked at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue J Legal full-time

    Pros

    The people. The vision. The challenge. The feeling that this is going to be something big. The feeling that this is something that might just change the world... and, once again, the people. The folks I work with at Blue J are incredible in every way.

    Cons

    There are no cons. It really is a great place to work.

    Blue J Legal2019-02-01
  7. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue J Legal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At Blue J Legal I am challenged everyday and feel that I am living up to my potential as a trained lawyer, even though I am in a non-practicing role. The work is stimulating, diverse, and interesting. The work-life balance is also incredible, especially in comparison to the long hours and unpredictability of private practice. I am able to work 9-5 and be home to spend time with my family on evenings and weekends... without interruption. The people are also a huge plus. The company prides itself on the workplace culture and it should. Everyone is ambitious, helpful, intelligent and fun. It is a pleasure coming to work everyday.

    Show More

    Cons

    The only downside is that it pays less than a practicing lawyer position, but the trade-off is definitely worth it.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Blue J Legal2019-01-31
  8. "A Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue J Legal full-time

    Pros

    Blue J Legal has a lot going for it: - The culture is great - you can be who you are and are accepted as part of the team - There's a strong focus on teamwork and treating each other with respect - Working to create an exciting and leading edge product (AI-powered software) - Great work/life balance - Ambition to continue to build a great company - Future of the company is bright - growing fast - Management... has made a sincere effort to be transparent and communicate - Great office location in downtown TO - near subway and Union Station

    Show More

    Cons

    There's not much here. The office is good, but the design could be improved.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the transparency and communication.

    Blue J Legal2019-01-30
  9. "Working at Blue J Legal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Research Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue J Legal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Blue J Legal has a substantial amount of qualities that make it and excellent company to work for: 1. Amazing work life balance. 2. Caring and friendly coworkers that give you a real sense of belonging not only to a company, but to a community. 3. Plenty of opportunities for advancement. 4. There are always new and exciting challenges to be found in your work. 5. Abundant amounts of team building events... (holiday parties, lunch and learns). 6. You can always feel free to suggest new ideas that you believe can improve the company and discuss them with management who are more than welcome to hear them.

    Show More

    Cons

    Honestly there is nothing that comes to mind.

    Blue J Legal2019-01-28
  10. "Interesting and Challenging work supported by great team and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blue J Legal for less than a year

    Pros

    - Excellent work life balance - The team is truly committed to advancing the law, a noble purpose which I am personally very excited by - Outstanding work culture: the team is respectful, hard working and invested in seeing the team and individuals grow professionally and personally - Interesting and challenging work - Personal agency and flexibility in managing your schedule and workload - Leadership is... transparent and open to feedback.

    Show More

    Cons

    - The team is constantly learning as the product develops - I see this as an opportunity to meaningfully contribute... Candidates should be ready and able to take initiative.

    Blue J Legal2019-01-29
Found 34 reviews