Blizzard Entertainment Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Blizzard Entertainment Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Blizzard Entertainment CEO J. Allen Brack
J. Allen Brack
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very good work environment and work life balance(in 42 reviews)

  • "Surrounded by likeminded gamers even or manager level(in 38 reviews)

Cons
  • "Rent in Irvine can be high and options for a social scene can be limited compared to Los Angeles(in 53 reviews)

  • "Cost of living in the area is outrageous(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "QA Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Blizzard Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    Very good work environment and work life balance.

    Cons

    Compensation is lower than average.

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-03-07
  2. "Fun Work Environment, Long Hours, Great Perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Producer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blizzard Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    Everyone who works at Blizzard is incredibly passionate about gaming and Blizzard IPs. Work hard and it will pay off. Great benefits and employee perks.

    Cons

    long hours and the work/life balance isn't great depending on what team you are on.

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-10-13
  3. "Excellent but evolving company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Historically good compensation and work-like balance

    Cons

    Company continues to grow. Growth comes with challenges, some challenges have been handled well, others have not.

    Advice to Management

    Control headcount growth. Resist hiring for perceived future needs. Hire to address well defined, strategically aligned, existing deficiencies.

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-09-24
  4. "Extremely positive and refreshing work experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I work with the most recent technologies, utilizing the most current skill sets. Expectations are high in a good way! I am challenged and respected. The culture is inclusive and the companies stated values can actually be seen. The managers I work with and around have great management skills and are also highly technical! The team members I work with are all skilled, respectable, helpful. Just awesome!

    Cons

    I would love onsite day care l, which most companies don't offer anyways. If anyone can pull it off properly, Blizzard can!

    Advice to Management

    I am excited in regards to the current direction of the company. Keep the vision going strong!

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-09-19
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Meh experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Game Master in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Kinda fun place to work

    Cons

    Bad shifts, low pay, clique behavior, slow to be promoted, little management direction

    Advice to Management

    Empower employees to take action, increase pay

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-10-01
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer() in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, company cares about personal growth, coworkers are collaborative rather than competitive

    Cons

    The management does lots of micromanagement. When you provide feedback about that the management claims it’s for your own good. Not much freedom in doing things in the way you prefer. People are leaving the company, it’s demotivating. The compensation is lower than industry average.

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-09-27
  7. "Producer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Producer in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fantastic people in dev teams.

    Cons

    Management is a gigantic clown fiesta. Bunch of them are completely clueless and with zero idea of what their direct reports are doing.

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to be SJW and do what you are paid for.

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-10-16
  8. "Good place to grow yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Seoul
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company culture Nice & kind people

    Cons

    Salary Take too much time on decision making

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your crew

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-09-10
  9. "Communist company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Was a good company but culture has slowly deteriorated.

    Cons

    Words can't express how absolutely appalled and disgusted I am at the Chinese like disclipline of progamer BlitzChung. Throughout the years adjustments have been made to products to ensure each release would comply with Chinese censorship. Which was more than ok to make the product culturally acceptable in a global market. In today's most recent events where a gamer was banned by Blizzard and had his $10,000... prize money stripped from him for supporting his home country Hong Kong on a live stream shows what length the company is willing to do to keep Chinese officials happy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Uphold company values “Think Globally” and “Every Voice Matters”. Stop bowing down to China to make a quick buck.

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-10-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate Software Engineer 

    I worked at Blizzard Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Benefits were also very good for me.

    Cons

    Didn't have a lot of room for growth.

    Blizzard Entertainment2019-09-05
Found 766 reviews