BlackBerry Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

BlackBerry Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1922 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
BlackBerry CEO John Chen
John Chen
617 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Blackberry was dying at the time(in 119 reviews)

  • "Senior Management had their own views and didn't listen to middle/lower management and engineers(in 59 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Beta Software Test Student (Co-op)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beta Software Test Student in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely loved working there, the environment is very ripe with opportunity and the support provided by my immediate leaders was great. I was able to pitch an idea and see it come to life within my tenure which was awesome to witness. John Chen was always very welcoming and honest about where the company stood and thats what I loved the most, honesty with a gameplan.

    Cons

    None, I absolutely loved it,

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    BlackBerry2018-10-15
  2. "Senior Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation, work environment, great people

    Cons

    In the midst of a rebuild / turnaround means many changes

    Advice to Management

    Less hierarchical decision making

    BlackBerry2019-03-19
  3. "Great company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Specialist in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    benefits package is the best, yearly bonus and merit increase.

    Cons

    too much process that slows down productivity

    BlackBerry2019-05-22
  4. "Cool place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learn at your own pace. No micromanagement. Best managers.

    Cons

    Salary is low. Not much future opportunities.

    BlackBerry2019-05-14
  5. "A nice Canadian tech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Architect in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Big company, formal processes everywhere, leading-edge tech

    Cons

    Shrinking, a lot of uncertainties, company in transition

    BlackBerry2019-05-11
  6. "Sr. Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at BlackBerry full-time

      Pros

      - Had a great manager. - Great product.

      Cons

      - company was struggling back then. Many rounds of layoffs.

      BlackBerry2019-05-10
    • "Senior Software developer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Senior Software Developer 

        I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Management and the HR process is good

        Cons

        nothing to mention specifically regarding the cons

        BlackBerry2019-04-11
      • "No future for Blackberry under current manamgent"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mississauga, ON
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        Still some good people left to learn from. Not so many by now.

        Cons

        Leadership is so poor. John Chen cares only on making the numbers look better, no product leadership, and no work is done on how to achieve any goal, and long term success is sold to make another penny on each stock. HR is the worst. They don’t see any employee as a person, just a budget. A good friend got fired while battling illness with zero regard from HR.

        Advice to Management

        Replace John Chen, HR and all Product leadership.

        BlackBerry2019-05-13
      • "Disconnect Between Upper and Middle Management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waterloo, ON
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at BlackBerry part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        - The people I worked with were great. - Flex-core hours. I could start work anywhere between 7am - 9:30. - Moral is on the rise as BlackBerry makes its return into the software world.

        Cons

        - Upper management doesn't really understand what developers do. - Seems like they all got promoted from marketing and most of them are "yes men"

        BlackBerry2019-04-15
      • "Snr. Director"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at BlackBerry full-time

        Pros

        Great learning opportunities and opportunities as the company transforms from hardware history to software future.

        Cons

        As with any public company, it can be hard to balance short term requirements for the quarter and long term needs which can create difficult situations and lack of focus.

        BlackBerry2019-03-22
      Found 1922 reviews