BlackBerry Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

BlackBerry Reviews

Updated Nov 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
BlackBerry CEO John Chen
John Chen
643 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great people and team atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Analyst in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are wonderful, very welcoming. Very diverse set of skills and abilities within the organization. Never short from learning on a daily basis.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is very difficult. It may be unique to my role given I'm in security and monitoring. BlackBerry has a hard rule from working from home which has only gotten more extreme. Before it was casual and if you had a good reason, I'm thinking some people abused the freedom we had. Unfortunately this has stifled my family life and I feel like I'm always in the office.

    Advice to Management

    Discuss hours of operation, work from home capability again. Competing organizations are well advanced in comparison.

    BlackBerry2019-09-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time

    Pros

    There are a lot of great people at Waterloo. Just an amazing bunch of folks that can do anything their minds come up with.

    Cons

    Management needs to realize that the people are what makes the company.

    BlackBerry2018-08-22
  3. "So many great people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get to collaborate with very smart and capable people

    Cons

    The "market" not giving you a chance

    BlackBerry2019-11-10
  4. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time

    Pros

    Get to work on various new projects

    Cons

    The public perception or the reputation of this company

    BlackBerry2019-11-08
  5. "Working on a turn around."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Applications Software Developer 

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time

    Pros

    Good salary, benefit and work life balance.

    Cons

    Culture, work in silos, not much team building activity.

    BlackBerry2019-11-04
  6. "Great COOP Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hardware Engineering Student in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Emphasis on coop student development - Free healthy snack program - Hands on experience with new technology

    Cons

    - Testing outdoors in bad weather

    BlackBerry2019-10-22
  7. "engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Engineer 

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time

    Pros

    work environment, nice building, nice co-workers

    Cons

    low salary, over time, bad work-life balance

    BlackBerry2019-11-02
  8. "System admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay, friendly, innovative, free phone

    Cons

    Layoffs, unemployment, no hardware manufacturing

    BlackBerry2019-10-09
  9. "OK Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits Good culture Good environment Good amount of responsibilities Good locatio

    Cons

    No really cons to mention

    Advice to Management

    Help employees to grow

    BlackBerry2019-10-03
  10. "Different teams, different environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior BI Analyst in Allan Water, ON

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good management and lots of training opportunities in some of the teams.

    Cons

    Bad management, stressful environment, zero training opportunities in some other teams. It all goes to individual managers.

    BlackBerry2019-09-24
Found 1994 reviews