BlackBerry Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

BlackBerry Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1938 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
BlackBerry CEO John Chen
John Chen
624 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Beta Software Test Student (Co-op)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beta Software Test Student in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely loved working there, the environment is very ripe with opportunity and the support provided by my immediate leaders was great. I was able to pitch an idea and see it come to life within my tenure which was awesome to witness. John Chen was always very welcoming and honest about where the company stood and thats what I loved the most, honesty with a gameplan.

    Cons

    None, I absolutely loved it,

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    BlackBerry2018-10-15
  2. "Senior Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Compensation, work environment, great people

    Cons

    In the midst of a rebuild / turnaround means many changes

    Advice to Management

    Less hierarchical decision making

    BlackBerry2019-03-19
  3. "Great culture, smart people, innovation hindered by process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Infrastructure Specialist in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great salary and benefits, excellent work life balance, subsidized meals and free healthy snacks.

    Cons

    Senior management is unfortunately very reactive instead of proactive. Innovation is often crippled by excessive policy and lack of appropriate IT framework. My job (like most) is 85% process, 15% actuall work. Might as well be government.

    Advice to Management

    Create an environment where people can learn and innovate instead of being bogged down by process.

    BlackBerry2019-07-12
  4. "Good Place to Work Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time

    Pros

    Good salary with bonus incentive. Good work-life balance with flexible hours. Strong leadership from CEO John Chen.

    Cons

    Go-to-market strategy not fully baked for new solutions. Limited career growth opportunities.

    BlackBerry2019-07-10
  5. "Good till gone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BlackBerry part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    awesome while it lasted, too bad it came to an end

    Cons

    failure to adapt to changing market conditions

    Advice to Management

    none

    BlackBerry2019-07-18
  6. "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Support Analyst in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    People are great and willing to help

    Cons

    Managers need to know what is going on at junior levels

    BlackBerry2019-07-18
  7. "Unclear and improper career tracks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Automation Tools Developer in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Large enterprise so opportunities to learn where productivity is at a slower pace compared to smaller companies

    Cons

    Career tracks are ill-defined and no career guidance or resources.

    BlackBerry2019-07-08
  8. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BlackBerry full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great compensation. Some inspiring leaders to work for . Opportunities to grow and learn if you seek for advancement

    Cons

    Communication is always challenging in big companies and BlackBerry is not the exception. Time of transition and restructuring were difficult years of uncertainty for employees but it feels as it is all in the past and the environment is much better now.

    BlackBerry2019-06-08
  9. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Joined at the time of transition and although a bit chaotic, they knew what they were doing

    Cons

    slow process to get things done but this is to be expected with the larger firms

    BlackBerry2019-06-06
  10. "Great company to work at when they were on top!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Technician in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BlackBerry full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Cared about employees and empowered them to progress within the company.

    Cons

    Didn't stay on top of the market.

    Advice to Management

    Too late

    BlackBerry2019-05-29
Found 1938 reviews