Black & McDonald Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Black & McDonald Reviews

Updated 14 September, 2018
59 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Black & McDonald Co-CEO Ian McDonald
Ian McDonald
29 Ratings

59 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Enjoyable, positive work environment" (in 6 reviews)

  • "They have found good people who care about their jobs" (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "I was traveling for so long it messed up my work/life balance a few times" (in 3 reviews)

  • "Nor were we allowed to modify working hours to line up with operational requirements" (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Best Experience in Best company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Scarborough, ON
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Scarborough, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Amazing, friendly and helpful team, it is a pleasure working with them.
    Company provides the best environment to develop yourself, learn and show results.

    Cons

    Sometimes stressful, when all problems come at once, but at the end of the day problems are associated with development.

    Black & McDonald Response

    12 Sep, 2018 – Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!
    Since we’re always looking to... More


  2. "Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time

    Pros

    -Lots of opportunities; many projects to be involved in
    -Travel (if you like going to different places)

    Cons

    -Travel: many projects may be away from your main stay of residence; may potentially impact work life balance

    Black & McDonald Response

    12 Sep, 2018 – Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and hard work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!
    We are always looking for ways... More

  3. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time

    Pros

    I haven't been here that long, but so far it seems like a good place to work. The company and management are top notch.

    Cons

    My job position is unengaging and boring, but that is the nature of this kind of work. Doesn't seem like there is any room to advance.

    Advice to Management

    Engage with employees better

    Black & McDonald Response

    14 Sep, 2018 – Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    Thank you for your hard work as a member of the Black & McDonald team. We appreciate your review and positive feedback. We are always looking to learn and improve and are grateful for your feedback.... More


  4. "Electrical Project Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    good wages, good management ,great work enviroment

    Cons

    not always able to supply steady work

    Black & McDonald Response

    12 Sep, 2018 – Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    Thank you for your dedication and hard work as a member of the Black & McDonald team! We appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review.
    Since we’re always looking to... More


  5. "Training Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    - Great people
    - Location

    Cons

    - Management
    - Work / Life balance doesn’t exist
    - Under appreciated
    - Employees are treated poorly and are thought of as disposable
    - Culture
    - No opportunities for adavancement
    -

    Advice to Management

    - Appreciate your employees
    - Promote a respectful and valued culture
    - Provide opportunities to younger employees
    - Transparency
    - Reduce favouritism


  6. "Utility worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time

    Pros

    Great guys to work with in the field
    Always safe and fun

    Cons

    The management was terrible, if you were from a certain location(Chester) then you got treated like dirt, favoritism runs hard in the company doesn't matter how long you spend working there your just a number at the end of the day

    Advice to Management

    Drop some people make a difference

    Black & McDonald Response

    12 Sep, 2018 – Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We are very sorry to hear your experience with Black & McDonald was not a positive one. We consider people our greatest asset and take your feedback very seriously. Thank you for taking the time to... More


  7. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Port Darlington, ON
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Port Darlington, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good working environment with peers.

    Cons

    Priority issues between departments. Not much room to progress further.

    Advice to Management

    Need a one vision idea and nourish/ invest to own people.

    Black & McDonald Response

    12 Sep, 2018 – Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We are always looking to learn and improve, we’re grateful for your feedback. Thank you for your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as... More

  8. "project manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time

    Pros

    training, mentorship, development, people, work culture

    Cons

    lack of employee appreciation, lack of younger talent (company is trying to fix this)

    Black & McDonald Response

    12 Sep, 2018 – Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!
    Since we’re always looking to... More


  9. "Good to be in a good working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The group that I work with are good people, great environment and fun place.

    Cons

    Can be overworked at sometimes

    Advice to Management

    Company can take advantage of the new technology.

    Black & McDonald Response

    12 Sep, 2018 – Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We appreciate your feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!


  10. "Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time

    Pros

    Overall good place to work

    Cons

    Communication from management needs to improve, too decenterlized

    Black & McDonald Response

    12 Sep, 2018 – Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!
    Since we’re always looking to... More


Showing 59 of 81 reviews
Reset Filters