Black & McDonald Reviews

Updated Jul 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Black & McDonald Co-CEO Ian McDonald
Ian McDonald
61 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "the only cons that I can see on my experience was my long hours of daily driving to get to the work(in 8 reviews)

  • "lots of desk work, tech issues, low pay for interns(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Friendly fun work environment ; Opportunities to grow ; Modern corporate culture ; Professional ; Leader in Industry"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to learn from the best professionals ; Positive work culture ; Emphasized culture of safety ; Variety of Construction Trades ; Supportive management team ; Family owned

    Cons

    Nothing of note to mention

    Continue reading

    Black & McDonald Response

    July 31, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!

  2. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Engineer in Dartmouth, NS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time

    Pros

    Strong team environment Flexible work hours

    Cons

    Around the clock operations Services Offshore industry only

    Black & McDonald Response

    June 19, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!


  3. COVID-19

    "Complete Joke!"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weekly Pay, benefits and occasional free food!

    Cons

    Bad Union, no pay raise, no reviews, Union dictates everything and does nothing really but collect money from workers. No Pandemic support.

    Continue reading

    Black & McDonald Response

    June 12, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We are very sorry to hear your experience with Black & McDonald was not a positive one. We consider people our greatest asset and take your feedback very seriously. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and giving us the opportunity to learn and improve.

  4. "No chance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrician in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great overall company. From management to workers

    Cons

    To quick to judge. Don’t be a rat.

    Continue reading

    Black & McDonald Response

    March 6, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black &McDonald team!

  5. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great environment to be working in

    Cons

    None. Not any cons working in B&M

    Black & McDonald Response

    March 6, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!

  6. "Project Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company, great culture. Highly value employees.

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say about this company.

    Black & McDonald Response

    January 17, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!

  7. "WORST COMPANY EVER"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The electricians in the field are lots of fun

    Cons

    unethical/ corrupt/decietful/ no safety ethics and try to bury them!!! after a severe health issue while at work, they didn't want to pay medical so found 1 PO in 2 years issued incorrectly so they could let me go with cause!!!!! PM and VP are always hiding unethical and corrupt behaviour for each other. Superintendant uses intimidation to try to skirt safety policy. Teaches employees how to cheat the D&A tests. As the only female in my division, i wasn't paid the equivelant, although went over and above my job duties, got no mileage, fuel or compensation for the extras.

    Continue reading

    Black & McDonald Response

    February 25, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We are very sorry to hear that your experience with Black & McDonald was not a positive one. We consider people our greatest asset and take your feedback very seriously. We have already shared your feedback with the appropriate Managers, and thank you for taking the time to post your review and giving us the opportunity to learn and improve.

  8. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Saint John, NB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, good wage, great to ework for.

    Cons

    No bonuses, need more vacation with pay

    Continue reading

    Black & McDonald Response

    January 6, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!

  9. "Responsible for all Labour and Employment matters"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Family owned, Canadian, and a long successful history of success.

    Cons

    None, great place to work and build a career.

    Black & McDonald Response

    January 6, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!

  10. "Good starter company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good management and supporting team members

    Cons

    Long hours low wages cold work

    Black & McDonald Response

    January 3, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!

Found 106 reviews