Black & McDonald Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Black & McDonald Co-CEO Ian McDonald
Ian McDonald
66 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "the only cons that I can see on my experience was my long hours of daily driving to get to the work(in 8 reviews)

  • "I was traveling for so long it messed up my work/life balance a few times(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Current employee"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time

    Pros

    Strong leadership group, very involved

    Cons

    Company lacks collaboration between divisions

    Black & McDonald Response

    January 11, 2021Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!

  2. "Good when market is in your favor"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Moncton, NB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. Salary equal to industry standards

    Cons

    Office politics and lack of trust within teams and departments.

    Continue reading

    Black & McDonald Response

    January 15, 2021Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your feedback and the time you took to post your review! Thank you for your dedication and work during your time with Black and McDonald and the goodwill you’ve shown us through sharing your experience.


  3. COVID-19

    "Good Employer even in times of Covid 19"

    5.0
    Current Employee - 4th Class Power Engineer in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time

    Pros

    Growth and Pay is really good , good culture .

    Cons

    Lack of switching roles within organization

    Black & McDonald Response

    December 15, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!

  4. Helpful (1)

    "B&M job rating"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The employees are amazing and great to work with

    Cons

    Promotions, to management positions, are given to personal friends, over experience

    Continue reading

    Black & McDonald Response

    December 4, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review! Thank you for your dedication and work during your time with Black & McDonald and the goodwill you’ve shown us through sharing your experience.

  5. "Canada'a greatest employer in Facilities Management"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities Coordinator in Richmond Hill, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome people, professionally and great staff and pay

    Cons

    None that I remember of a

    Continue reading

    Black & McDonald Response

    December 4, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!

  6. "This company has the best people."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operating Engineer in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They really encourage you to succeed and give you opportunities to grow.

    Cons

    Losing great coworkers for more lucrative opportunities.

    Continue reading

    Black & McDonald Response

    November 20, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!

  7. "lost trust in management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician in Regina, SK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time

    Pros

    union pay scale. new service van. not micromanaging or watching gps like a hawk. great co worker.

    Cons

    communication between management, different department, and field tech seems very minimum. each tech keeps their own customer. favoritism clearly displayed. there's lack of work, but doesn't want to lay off techs. just keep them around until they quit on their own. cheaper that way than giving them the package. was hired in oct but sat at home for over 3 weeks in dec/jan due to lack of work. why hire at all if there's no work in dec??

    Continue reading

    Black & McDonald Response

    December 4, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black & McDonald team!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Bad leadership culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ERP Systems Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working from home and ....done

    Cons

    Micro management and manager and higher have attitude issue

    Continue reading

    Black & McDonald Response

    November 6, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We are very sorry to hear your experience with Black & McDonald was not a positive one. We consider people our greatest asset and take your feedback very seriously. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and giving us the opportunity to learn and improve.

  9. "Good company to work for"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Field Service Engineer in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Good staff to work with -Company sponsored activities (Summer BBQ etc.)

    Cons

    -Need better communication and co-operation between divisions.

    Black & McDonald Response

    August 27, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review! Thank you for your dedication and work during your time with Black & McDonald and the goodwill you’ve shown us through sharing your experience.

  10. "Good company to work for"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Accountant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black & McDonald full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers and managers, lots to learn, good social events

    Cons

    No work life balance, no room for growth, low pay

    Black & McDonald Response

    September 4, 2020Corporate Human Resources Administrator

    We are very sorry to hear your experience with Black & McDonald was not a positive one. We consider people our greatest asset and take your feedback very seriously. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and giving us the opportunity to learn and improve.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 120 English Reviews