Black & McDonald Reviews

Updated Sep 22, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 216 of over 304 reviews

4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Black & McDonald Co-CEO Ian McDonald
Ian McDonald
118 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly work environment and treat employees well(in 15 reviews)

  • "Some very good people who care about the company(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "the only cons that I can see on my experience was my long hours of daily driving to get to the work(in 6 reviews)

  • "No work life balance, no room for growth, low pay(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Black & McDonald and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Employee review

      Sep 19, 2022 - Rail Operations Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Treat employees with dignity and respect.

      Cons

      No cons at this company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Low pay, room for growth low if you are a woman on site.

      Sep 22, 2022 - Administrative Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had a great manager and loved the field staff. Manager was always willing to teach me as much as possible which ultimately proved valuable in my career growth after leaving B&M.

      Cons

      Sexism rampant Racism rampant Although my manager was always pushing for me to be promoted, it was never considered after 4 years of work. Promotion was only offered once I was leaving. Reason being that those in charge of promotions have no connection to the person on a day to day. Also, being a quiet female in a loud construction site, I was never taken seriously although I was more than capable at my job and a valuable asset to the whole team.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Black & McDonald Response

      Corporate Human Resources Administrator

      Thank you for your review. Black & McDonald recognizes the value of diversity and is committed to fostering an inclusive work environment that respects people’s dignity, ideas, and beliefs and that welcomes and encourages equal opportunity for all current and prospective employees. We are sorry that was your experience and will look for new ways to reinforce our commitment to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion.

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Excellent Experiencce

      Sep 1, 2022 - Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good learning environment Family run business

      Cons

      Increase support staff for sucessful execution of work

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Black & McDonald Response

      Corporate Human Resources Administrator

      We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review! Thank you for your dedication and work during your time with Black & McDonald and the goodwill you’ve shown us through sharing your experience.

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great company to work for!

      Aug 9, 2022 - Electrical Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work schedule, good work environment.

      Cons

      May require lots of overtime

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Black & McDonald Response

      Corporate Human Resources Administrator

      We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review! Thank you for your dedication and work during your time with Black & McDonald and the goodwill you’ve shown us through sharing your experience.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      OK

      Jul 17, 2022 - Machine Operator in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pretty chill job but would not see myself long term here

      Cons

      Wanted to leave but couldn't

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Black & McDonald Response

      Corporate Human Resources Administrator

      We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black and McDonald team!

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best place to work

      Jul 12, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A lot of learning opportunities, great company stability, the owners care a lot about the company and employees

      Cons

      There's never a dull moment

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Black & McDonald Response

      Corporate Human Resources Administrator

      We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black and McDonald team!

    7. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Company

      Jul 11, 2022 - Service Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Proactive, Professional, extremely structured and honest

      Cons

      be less corporate and go back to its family roots.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Black & McDonald Response

      Corporate Human Resources Administrator

      We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review! Thank you for your dedication and work during your time with Black & McDonald and the goodwill you’ve shown us through sharing your experience.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Awesome

      Jul 6, 2022 - Analyst in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good management Flexible Team atmosphere Opportunity to grow

      Cons

      Fight for raises Slightly overworked Takes a while to learn the business and system

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Black & McDonald Response

      Corporate Human Resources Administrator

      We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black and McDonald team!

    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not bad - needs improvement

      Jun 19, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits & secure position

      Cons

      Not as organized as other major companies

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Black & McDonald Response

      Corporate Human Resources Administrator

      We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review! Thank you for your dedication and work during your time with Black and McDonald and the goodwill you’ve shown us through sharing your experience.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Jun 15, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity for advancement Multi trade company, something for everyone

      Cons

      Must work from the office

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Black & McDonald Response

      Corporate Human Resources Administrator

      We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and the time you took to post your review. Thank you for your dedication and work as a member of the Black and McDonald team!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 216 Reviews

    Black & McDonald Reviews FAQs

    Black & McDonald has an overall rating of 4.0 out of 5, based on over 304 reviews left anonymously by employees. 81% of employees would recommend working at Black & McDonald to a friend and 63% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Black & McDonald employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Black & McDonald. This rating has improved by 5% over the last 12 months.

    81% of Black & McDonald employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Black & McDonald 3.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.0 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Black & McDonald Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Black & McDonald? Share Your Experiences

    or