Black Sun (UK) Reviews

Updated May 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Black Sun (UK) CEO David Christopherson (no image)
David Christopherson
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "A goliath of excellence"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Fulham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black Sun (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quite frankly the best agency I have ever worked with. From a salary point of view, they actively compensate you over and above your expectation. Bonuses are very significant and regular even at a junior level and are easily achievable. Regular drinks and free fresh food laid on by the company, and relaxed atmosphere where we can enjoy a beer or two at our desk on Friday (when at the office; ironically Corona is what the company supplies to all staff) Fully diverse workforce with lots of cultures and background to learn from, annual tennis matches, picnics and can take 2 hour pub lunch breaks on Fridays and early Friday finish makes the whole engagement seem like a social day than a work day. The premises is a grade two listed building steeped in history, everyone feels proud to be part of this award winning team. The extra covid fund for all employees to support working from home was really quite interesting. Intense training and support is available on a weekly basis and all internal processes always are very smooth. No issues with delivering and keeping clients happy, all work can be finished flawlessly with lots of backups plans in place. Client order book seem to be growing rapidly on a weekly basis with regular company updates and the business gaining more strength during covid than before it began!

    Cons

    You may wish to work a little over your contracted hours, but not much. 99% of work can be complete by 5pm or sooner which mean you can go home early too. Having to respond to emails at midnight or later and having to still work when you are sick or on annual leave (out of a sense of duty, this is optional but part of the culture.) Having to go to parties laid on by the company with free drinks, then be at work again fresh at 9am! I wish there was SOMETHING that is a con, but there is absolutely nothing at all, not even a hint of office politics at any level which is rare in any growing business.

    Continue reading
    Black Sun (UK)2020-05-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black Sun (UK) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Having joined at the start of the COVID-19 pandemic, I was onboarded really well, had lots of communication with my team. I was provided with all the necessary equipment and tools to complete my role safely and efficiently from home. At Black Sun there is a real sense of work hard, play hard with lots of socials (albeit currently virtually) and plenty of face time with leadership. I have enjoyed the constant stream of communication from the senior leadership team at the company forum and updates we have regularly. From my time here so far, I have been able to attend several training sessions with Black Sun having a dedicated Learning and Development programme. I'm excited to see what my future development looks like here, already I've learnt and grown so much!

    Cons

    There may sometimes be long hours within the role, but this is compensated with amazing development and fantastic camaraderie.

    Continue reading
    Black Sun (UK)2020-05-22
  3. "Amazing place to learn and grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black Sun (UK) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It is true the people are great. Very talented, hard working, supportive and fun! If you engage you can learn loads and progress Great clients and interesting work Love the location and working in the palace Management working hard to address the concerns of employees Love the Friday breakfast and social programme

    Cons

    It can be hard work given the nature of the work It helps if you happen to live SW London

    Continue reading
    Black Sun (UK)2019-11-16

    Black Sun (UK) Response

    January 31, 2020Black Sun

    Thank you for the feedback – It is good to hear that you feel we are going in the right direction. Enabling employees to grow their careers with us is something we certainly promote within the business. I strongly believe in promoting and growing within the business to allow progression to anyone who joins. Thanks again for the feedback and I hope you continue to enjoy your time with us. Should things change please let me know! Thanks David

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Incredible people and fast progression"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director in Fulham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Black Sun (UK) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Black Sun gives you the opportunity to work with some of the UK's biggest corporates as part of a fun and very friendly team. Career progression happens quickly once you have proven you are a hard and collaborative worker, offering a platform to gain experience engaging with FTSE 350 C-Suite on exciting comms topics. Management and the Board are very approachable and will earnestly respond to any suggestions you have. But perhaps most importantly, your day-to-day teammates offer a lot of support. Throughout the 5+ years I was there the business consistently hired great people. Finally, the business is growing, maturing, and improving the employee offer. It is an exciting time to join.

    Cons

    The nature of the industry makes the first two months of the year very busy, but you will have the support and camaraderie of sociable and welcoming teams. Rewards are on the table if you keep up.

    Continue reading
    Black Sun (UK)2019-11-07

    Black Sun (UK) Response

    January 31, 2020Black Sun

    Thank you I really appreciate your feedback, I am delighted to hear you are taking advantage of Black Sun and the opportunities to develop your career. I am also thrilled that you recognise the quality of your colleagues and the work we do. As you know, managing a growing a business in such a dynamic market is always challenging. I would encourage you to continue to feedback to your manager or myself on any thoughts or ideas for improvements throughout the business. There is no monopoly of good thinking! With thanks David

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for with exciting and innovative projects"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black Sun (UK) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, clients and interesting work. High investment in training, cross-skilling and personal development. Great people, a culture of mentoring / support Clear promotion path Good work/life balance

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Black Sun (UK)2019-11-02

    Black Sun (UK) Response

    January 31, 2020Black Sun

    Thanks for your feedback – I am delighted that you are enjoying your life at Black Sun so far. However, if things change or you have any concerns please do hesitate to talk to me or your manager. Thanks, David

  6. Helpful (2)

    "So much potential wasted"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Black Sun (UK) full-time

    Pros

    A smart workforce that gives everything A leading position in the industry Genuinely helpful colleagues

    Cons

    The environment is not conducive to collaboration Very siloed, little opportunity to get involved in things other than your direct work Many feel the culture quite arrogant and toxic

    Continue reading
    Black Sun (UK)2019-11-12

    Black Sun (UK) Response

    January 31, 2020Black Sun

    Thank you very much for your review. We take all feedback seriously as it helps us to improve our business. I appreciate your comments in relation to the quality and values of our people and our leading position in the industry. One of things I am most proud about is how Black Sun provides a lot of career development to all levels in the business, with regular training sessions, workshops and 1-2-1 meetings with managers. My advice is to put your hand up and get involved with as many opportunities around the business as possible. I’d also recommend that you speak to your manager or myself to discuss your feedback and possible actions that we can take. Many thanks David

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great clients and interesting work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director in London, England

    I worked at Black Sun (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exposure to interesting clients, recognise hard work, experienced creative and production teams

    Cons

    Work load can be intense, lack of agile workforce however working on it

    Black Sun (UK)2019-10-16

    Black Sun (UK) Response

    November 1, 2019Black Sun

    Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your time at Black Sun. We are happy to hear the positive experience you had working closely with some of great clients and internal teams. We appreciate that the seasonal nature of the reporting part of our business can mean that at some points in the year it get particularly busy. We are always grateful of the effort and dedication the team puts in and we are always looking at ways to support the team through this peak and offer more work/life balance wherever we are able to. Thanks again for your feedback, David

  8. "Good place to learn but long hours"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Black Sun (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent opportunity to learn Management taking steps to learn change environment Free breakfast on fridays

    Cons

    (When I was there anyway) Extremely political office Long hours and high expectations Very cliquey

    Black Sun (UK)2019-10-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Fun environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Black Sun (UK) full-time

    Pros

    Great team culture. Optimism to grow.

    Cons

    Nothing to report on cons

    Black Sun (UK)2019-08-12

    Black Sun (UK) Response

    August 29, 2019Black Sun

    Thanks for taking the time to feedback. I’m pleased to hear you’re enjoying your time so far and are enjoying the great culture and people we have here at Black Sun. Thanks, David

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic opportunities to learn"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Black Sun (UK) full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Black Sun is a fantastic place to work, and your team-mates really are second to none. The work is engaging and challenging, and you get to work with some of the most interesting companies in the country. There are great learning and development opportunities, and plenty of ways that you can stretch yourself. There is a great sense of camaraderie, and it is incredibly stimulating to be able to go to work each day to do interesting and fun work with clever people.

    Cons

    The nature of the work means that it can get very busy at certain times of the year. This isn't for everyone.

    Continue reading
    Black Sun (UK)2019-07-22

    Black Sun (UK) Response

    August 29, 2019Black Sun

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your time so far at Black Sun. I’m delighted to hear the positive feedback about the development opportunities you highlighted as this has been something I’ve been personally committed to ensuring we offer and develop further. You’re absolutely right that the business is seasonal and certain times of the year are particularly busy. I’m always grateful for the work the team puts in, and we’re continuing to look at ways to mitigate this peak throughout the year and offer more work/life balance wherever we are able to. With the appointment of Richard Dixon to CEO, we are looking at what forums we need to engage with our senior team members across the business and will be introducing an engagement survey this year which will also provide a platform for feedback. However, we’d love to hear your thoughts on how we can better engage with our senior team members, so please do pop by my office or speak with a member of the Talent team as we’re always open to new ways of doing things. Thanks again, David

Found 30 reviews