Cover image for Big Viking Games
Logo

Big Viking Games

Engaged Employer

Big Viking Games

Add a Review

Big Viking Games Reviews

Updated Nov. 24, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 75 of over 81 reviews
2.4
28% Recommend to a Friend
Big Viking Games Founder and CEO Albert Lai
7% Approve of CEO

Found 74 of over 81 reviews

2.4
28%
Recommend to a Friend
7%
Approve of CEO
Big Viking Games Founder and CEO Albert Lai
Albert Lai
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people to work with, I've made so many friends at the company(in 7 reviews)

  • "Awesome culture and relaxed work environment(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management does not seem to be aligned with the staff(in 8 reviews)

  • "big viking games(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best place to work

      Aug. 6, 2022 - Senior Producer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really fantastic people and culture.

      Cons

      Limited Projects to work on

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      No future

      Nov. 24, 2022 - Anonymous/Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great coworkers who do their best to keep a positive environment under the crushing weight of a company with no future

      Cons

      Two decade old flash games which have only had any modernization done when forced. Promises of new things were constant from every new senior management that fizzled out much in the same way as their time there. If you are QA, support or creative (especially from a different country), don't expect to be paid fairly. Their questionable compensation plan only works when followed, which it isn't.

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. Join the Big Viking Games team
      See Our Latest Jobs
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Not worth it

      Nov. 19, 2022 - Senior Software Engineer in London, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nothing that stands out in the recent past

      Cons

      - Bad management - Bad execution - Bad comp...

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Pros and cons

      Sep. 19, 2022 - Technical Recruiter in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This Is a company that tries to take care of their employees. My time there was short but fun. All of the people I worked with were great and always willing to help. They really promote a great work life balance. Highly recommended if you have a family.

      Cons

      -Too many changes too fast which affects employees and their work load

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Avoid at all costs

      Sep. 23, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent benefits, work from home, RRSP matching, the people you work with are great most of the time

      Cons

      Poor work/life balance, a senior leadership team that will lie to your face and can't decide on a company direction to save their life, frequent layoffs (seemingly cited as necessary for restructuring or budgetary reasons, only to turn around and hire for the very same job weeks later) and some of the fastest management turnover I've ever seen in a professional setting. I don't know what more can be said that hasn't already been said. If you are reading these reviews you should take them seriously. It is easy to chalk negative reviews up to disgruntled former employees, but look at the commonalities here across the reviews, this company has systemic problems that I do not believe are solvable, and that I do not believe the company actually wants to solve.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      One of the worst companies in the world

      Sep. 15, 2022 - Designer in London, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None that I can mention even for courtesy sake

      Cons

      Everything I can quote on Senior Management

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Trust the reviews, avoid BVG at all costs

      Sep. 6, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is constantly updated and is above market average Access to unlimited Udemy content Monthly spending account

      Cons

      No amount of perks or benefits could make up for the stress and nonsense you will endure working at this company. Everything you've read below is true, and likely worse than you could ever image. The management is far and away the worst group of managers I have ever worked with in my 15 years of corporate work. A bunch of middle aged men with massive egos who seem to thrive when they make their employees experience with the company miserable. Most of the SLT don't even have their experience with BVG on their linkedin profiles, which should say a lot about their level of care and investment in BVG. They outsource work to other countries and pay them almost nothing and don't give them any benefits. They think NFTs are the future of tech.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Some of the worst "leaders" I've ever encountered

      Jul. 29, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I genuinely cannot think of a single good thing about working at BVG

      Cons

      There isn't enough space here to write out all of the things that are terrible about BVG, but I'll try to focus on some of the bigger ones - International employees are paid virtually nothing, our use of employment from less fortunate countries is exploitative and absolutely unethical. We don't give them benefits, we don't give them perks, and they are not treated as equals by the company. - Leaders have absolutely no business sense. Short-term revenue chasing always takes priority over updates and improvements that would improve the long-term health of the game and the company. - The SLT are dishonest, rude, aggressive, shady, and any other negative trait you can think of. I have never worked under a group of people who care so little about the people who work for them. They put on some incredibly disingenuous performances in large meetings to make people think they care, but the guise is paper thin. They make comments about people's appearance, they force people into uncomfortable situations, and any kind of feedback is met with defensiveness and anger. The SLT is the root of the problems at BVG, but they're too ignorant to accept it. It's like an episode of Kitchen Nightmares that never ends. - Working on dated games that have dying user bases. The company is investing in NFT and Crypto projects, which should say a lot about their business sense. They have tried and failed numerous times to create new games, basically creating the same playable demo over and over again, despite scrapping a virtually identical game only months ago. - BVG has a trend of hiring "rockstars" which are usually just people the CEO seems to think are awesome. They come in, implement half of some half-baked awful idea, and then get fired or quit within the first year. The average tenure of our SLT members is only 6-12 months. - Empty promises are an everyday thing, the SLT says what you want to hear and then never follows through. Promising to repay for courses and certificates but not following through, promising benefits and then cutting current coverage. Following up is near impossible, and it feels like they just wait for you to give up as emails and follow-ups go unanswered for months.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Improving......They show that they care about us

      May 25, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They care about my overall well being. Last year we got Ontario parks passes or money to spend on fitness equipment. They often communicate to us through various means like informal twice a week meetings, once a month mini updates and large quarterly townhalls.

      Cons

      Old games. They keep saying they are looking for new opportunities but so far I have seen nothing.

      3 people found this review helpful
    11. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work at

      Apr. 28, 2022 - Senior Software Engineer in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Permenant work from home. - great salary and perks

      Cons

      I have not really had any problem here.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 74 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Big Viking Games Reviews FAQs

    Big Viking Games has an overall rating of 2.4 out of 5, based on over 81 reviews left anonymously by employees. 28% of employees would recommend working at Big Viking Games to a friend and 22% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Big Viking Games employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.0 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Big Viking Games. This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

    28% of Big Viking Games employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Big Viking Games 2.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.9 for culture and values and 2.4 for career opportunities.

    Work at Big Viking Games? Share Your Experiences

    Big Viking Games logo
    or

    Reviews by Job Title

    Big Viking Games Job Seekers Also Viewed

    Big Blue Bubble Logo
    Big Blue Bubble

    3.4

    21 reviews
    Compare

    Glassdoor has 81 Big Viking Games reviews submitted anonymously by Big Viking Games employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Big Viking Games is right for you.