Bible League Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 13 reviews

4.3
87%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Bible League President and Chief Executive Officer Jos Snoep  (no image)
Jos Snoep
2 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Creative Ministry

    Jun 19, 2012 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bible League is among the top Bible Agencies in the world. The ministry is well focused and purposed to serve the global church in the fulfillment of the mission to bring people into a personal relationship with Christ. In this age of technology and a growing church in the global south, the Easy To Read Bible translation is a very effective way to engage people groups in a way/language they can undersatnd.Bible League is a progressive Christian Service Organization, here to serve the Church and Partners around the world.

    Cons

    In this ecomony Bible League faces the same struggles that most organizations face; decreased funds from which to operate and as a result the organization has needed to re-set itself [actually not all bad]. The negative comments are unfounded and are a result of a bitter spirit by some who do not see the need for change.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    I am thrilled to be a part of this great ministry!

    Oct 23, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bible League is reaching people around the world with God's word through the local church and other partners to help people meet Jesus. The dedication, commitment and servant heart of those I work with are evident every single day and I feel blessed to be a part of it. Bible League offers very competitive pay and benefits and an excellent working environment where people are recognized for their contributions.

    Cons

    Bible League, like many nonprofits has struggled with the ability to raise income for our ministry. We have experienced some staff lay-offs, which is difficult to go through, but it has also helped the organization become more efficient and streamlined.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Very Satisfying

    Mar 30, 2012 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I appreciate the growth opportunities that are presented to me, and the exciting nature of the work. My supervisor has provided me with helpful feedback on my performance which allowed me to continue to grow. My ideas and suggestions are heard and I receive the freedom to move forward with many of them.

    Cons

    BLI has had to adapt to a changing environment, as most non profits have had to do. We all know that change can be uncomfortable. With that said, we are headed in an exciting direction and I'm anxious to see the results that will follow.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee

    A unique experience

    Mar 24, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The best reason to work here is because for the first time in my professional career I was able to truly feel like I was making a difference. It was the one place where I worked where I felt that every day going in we were doing good work that would benefit the entire world.

    Cons

    Working for a non profit is tough just because of the economy overall and there are so few dollars to go around for the non profits that it is really a much more competitive environment than you would think.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee

    A Rollercoaster Experience

    Aug 14, 2010 -  in Crete, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The organization has a stellar reputation for its ability to achieve ministry on the ground, in the field. For decades it has cultivated relationships and partnerships with like-minded evangelistic organizations, churches and individuals around the world to make the gospel available, to nurture new believers in the faith, and get Bibles into their hands. Other organizations are eager to partner with Bible League to take advantage of this infrastructure and its successful modalities.

    Cons

    The economic recession has hit nonprofits hard, and Bible League is no exception. Positions have been eliminated through attrition and "rightsizing," and US staff levels are down roughly 30%. The result is an environment of uncertainty and fear of further job losses.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Awesome place to work!

    Dec 17, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cutting edge work in Bible distribution and translation. They provide great benefits for me and my family (a lot more than just medical and dental). The work environment is very friendly. People are open to admitting shortcomings and working with others to fix problems. The leadership is honest with staff.

    Cons

    Hard time for non-profits in general. Donors are tightening their purse strings. This causes stress of course, but I do not see a gloom-and-doom situation as the negative reviews have.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best job ever

    Jun 15, 2017 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working here is incredible. The vision and humility of the leadership, the fact that there's a genuine care for the employees, and everyone's heart for ministry and God are just a few reasons that Bible League International is a great place to work. It really is an amazing place to work.

    Cons

    I understand that there has been shifts in leadership in the last 10 years that caused a few bumps, but in my two years here, things are extremely stable. An extraordinary, super healthy culture.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Bible League Response

    HR Generalist

    Thank you so much for your feedback. Leadership is committed to maintaining stability and transparency while never losing site of our mission. We are so happy that you are happy with your role here! We strive to make it a positive working experience where employees can grow not only professionally but also in their faith. Thank you again!

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Headed the Right Direction

    Jun 19, 2012 - Anonymous Employee in Crete, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bible League is a ministry that is redefining its trajectory. The opportunities to reach the world with God's word is greater than ever. The direction for the ministry is clear. For a non-profit ministry, the wages and compensation are fair. Good benefits structure. Everyone I work with is great.

    Cons

    There are challenges to working in an environment where there is a shift in direction. There are some will be critical of those changes.

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Working for the Bible League was the best working experience of my life.

    Sep 25, 2013 - Field Operations Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was part of a well organized and well functioning team with clear goals. I had great friends at the work place and in the agency.

    Cons

    I was only able to do my job in Europe and I wanted very badly to remain in the organization when my family needed to return to the USA.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Grossly Negligent Ministry

    Jun 9, 2012 - Anonymous Employee in Crete, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bible League was one of the top ministries four years ago in affective scripture placement through training churches and local partnerships in evangelism/discipleship and church planting. Millions of people came into fellowship with Jesus Christ and His Church through the placement of Scripture and training.

    Cons

    The lack of leadership, direction, and respect for people has devastated this ministry. It never was financial. There is absolutely no trust within the ranks and employees have been walking on eggshells for the last three years. You literally can hear a pin drop in this mammoth building. No positive chatter to speak of for fear of saying the wrong thing. A sad outcome of what the ministry could have been with proper leadership.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

Work at Bible League? Share Your Experiences

Bible League logo
or