Berlitz Reviews

Updated May 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
47%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Berlitz Chief Executive Officer Curt Uehlein (no image)
Curt Uehlein
76 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay but good to get your foot in the door if you wanna teach English(in 54 reviews)

  • "No benefits for part-time employees and contractors(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Transforming Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Princeton, NJ
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Berlitz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are a lot of opportunities to make impactful changes. The company is going through a transformation and that can be challenging, but it also provides the opportunity to do good work and be part of the change.

    Cons

    Change is hard and sometimes it feels like there is too much apathy. People don't seem to care enough to make hard decisions or make the right changes.

    Continue reading
    Berlitz2019-11-21

    Berlitz Response

    May 20, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to submit your thoughts on working at Berlitz. We're glad you've provided a positive outlook. We are striving to make this company the best it can be.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Experience so far!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Berlitz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've experienced great things at Berlitz so far. Friendly staff and flexible work environment.

    Cons

    Continue to strive for creating a great work environment!

    Berlitz2020-03-19

    Berlitz Response

    May 20, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to submit your thoughts on working at Berlitz. We appreciate everything you do for us and look forward to working hard to make Berlitz the best place possible to work and build a career.

  3. "Inconsistent"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Evaluator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Berlitz part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible, works well alongside a full-time job, few surprises

    Cons

    Cannot depend on the income; will get $600 one week and $0 the next without any say in the matter. Also no benefits, raises, or promotions after years of being told I'm a good and dependable employee.

    Continue reading
    Berlitz2020-05-21
  4. "Scheduled day before"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Berlitz part-time

    Pros

    The pay there was good

    Cons

    You only get your schedule the day before.

    Berlitz2020-05-22
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Berlitz Doesn't Value Its Instructors"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in Pasadena, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Berlitz part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's rewarding to teach immigrants from around the world.

    Cons

    Terrible pay, dated materials. The CEO visited several offices and said they would roll out Berlitz 2.0 which includes new materials and a better scheduling system. They said the business would improve and offices would be a hub of social activity. Those were all lies. They suddenly sent out a mass email saying they would close most offices worldwide and do mostly online classes. They acted like we all knew that was coming. Since then they haven't gotten much new business, and their remote managers are terrible at communicating. This company was sinking before the pandemic. The pandemic could finish it off. Don't work here.

    Continue reading
    Berlitz2020-04-13

    Berlitz Response

    May 20, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your time at Berlitz. I'm sorry you didn't have a great experience during your time here. We are working hard to make sure we do our best to have a positive impact during this pandemic.

  6. "Not what is advertised"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enrollment Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Berlitz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Extremely poor culture and low pay. Leadership promises commissions, however they seem to always look for excuses not to pay them, if you earn them at all. To say you are micromanaged is an understatement. Targets are too high, resulting in little or no commission when they do pay them. Senior leadership doesn't seem to care at all about their employees. I could go on and on.

    Continue reading
    Berlitz2020-04-28

    Berlitz Response

    May 20, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your time at Berlitz. We appreciate your feedback and will review your comments.

  7. "Great part time"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Teacher in Carolina, PR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Berlitz part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hands on training at first. Most classes are during the afternoons. Instruction material is provided to the instructor.

    Cons

    Classes are assigned every day during the afternoons, and you may be assigned a different group. Amount of classes assigned depends on student demand during any season.

    Berlitz2020-02-12

    Berlitz Response

    May 20, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are working hard to build a good culture at Berlitz and we're glad you see value in areas like our training methods.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Company that cares about making a difference"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Berlitz full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    We get to help people by teaching them a new language. Very trusted brand in the sector. Management is committed to changing the company for the better. They are very transparent and are actually delivering on the long term plans.

    Cons

    Some internal processes and systems are out of date, but the company is investing in fixing these. There has been a lot of change in a short time but it was necessary to change the fortunes of the company.

    Continue reading
    Berlitz2020-01-27

    Berlitz Response

    May 20, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for positive review! We appreciate you taking the time to submit your thoughts on working at Berlitz. We're glad you find value in our mission and long term goals.

  9. "Fantastic multi-cultural and multi-lingual organization"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director US Public Sector and Strategic Account Executive in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Berlitz full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I strongly share the values of this organization

    Cons

    Initial pay levels for most job categories, primarily operational are far too low

    Continue reading
    Berlitz2020-01-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "low pay"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Teacher 

    I have been working at Berlitz part-time

    Pros

    the classrooms are nice. They have a setup teaching routine, so you don't need to work much for teaching plan

    Cons

    Very very low pay. Their tuition is really expensive but they pay little to the teachers

    Berlitz2019-12-18

    Berlitz Response

    January 22, 2020VP Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Berlitz. While we have many full-time positions available, we offer the opportunity for people to earn additional income and flexible schedules as teachers.

Found 661 reviews