Berenberg Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Berenberg Bank Reviews

Updated Nov 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Berenberg Bank CEO Peter Raskin
Peter Raskin
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "nette Kollegen, schickes Office, interessante tasks(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I'm having two years of experience in Infosys under financial analyst. Our client is bloomberg."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Berenberg Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Right now, I'm working as a financial analyst. For as berenberg is a important broker so, i like goodwill of berenberg bank.

    Cons

    I don't have anything.

    Advice to Management

    I would like to work berenberg so, kindly give change. I will give my best

    Berenberg Bank2019-11-06
  2. "Good place to work, meritocratic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Equities 

    I have been working at Berenberg Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Meritocratic set up, very flat structure, management regularly on the floor

    Cons

    Degree of favouritism, especially in research

    Berenberg Bank2019-10-22
  3. "Research house with high ambitions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Analyst in London, England

    I worked at Berenberg Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company by and large employs people that are nice to work with

    Cons

    No obvious ones to speak of

    Berenberg Bank2019-09-18
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Honest Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Berenberg Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There can be flexibility if you do your work and are honest. But even that is limited. Some company events you can attend. Huge Christmas parties where they fly you out to Germany. Traveling is awesome but seldom. There are few but some really talented and honest people who are very caring. Benefits are ok. Start here, get the experience, move up and move out.

    Cons

    Biggest con is the lack of structure. Very inexperienced admins and assistants run the floor and have a heavy impact on hiring/firing decisions. People who have seniority in the company tend to be extremely rude and unprofessional - HR and Management doesn't bat an eye. Especially if they are bringing in revenue. Some leads are inexperienced and undeserving. It's a social circle. If you're not apart of it...you will... stick out and be targeted. Nothing is guaranteed, not even your job security. I've seen several people reach put to HR regarding bullying and abuse and 2 days later...they were let go unfortunately. Never speak up.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire actual professionals who have a track record of producing results. Don't give so much lead way and major decisions to inexperienced assistants who aren't experienced. Bring structure to the core. Find an HR team who is passionate and willing to create change.

    Berenberg Bank2019-04-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Ambitious plans"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Berenberg Bank full-time

    Pros

    Driven culture and management. Trying to unseed the bulge bracket.

    Cons

    Everyone is expendable and management is very clear about that.

    Berenberg Bank2019-04-07
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Berenberg Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Travel policy is generous. Offices in London in good location.

    Cons

    Management is unprofessional and unethical. Often try to get people in at low salary levels and promise higher bonuses however this never comes to fruition and they distribute the rewards among themselves and not the wider pool that has contributed. Over ambitious expansion and treat people as dispensable. If you try to leave and are convinced to stay they get rid of you at the next opportunity. Completely... unethical. Would also say that these people skirt a fine line from a regulatory perspective, more concerned about fee earning than doing the right thing. If you disagree or raise and issue you are shown the door. HR serves to protect management rather than employee.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Head of research needs to go.

    Berenberg Bank2019-04-22
  7. "Excellent working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern 

    I worked at Berenberg Bank

    Pros

    The whole experience was excellent, my colleagues were very friendly and eager to help me whenever I faced difficulties.

    Cons

    Everything was fine even if my internship was too short.

    Berenberg Bank2018-12-18
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Berenberg Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and perks. Good location.

    Cons

    Full of bullies from admin staff to managers. If you are not part of the social circle then you will be targeted. HR will not intervene or do anything about it. Managers speak badly of other staff. Not nice people and no one treats anyone with respect and professionalism. Best decision made was leaving that place, so much happier now.

    Advice to Management

    HR should be more involved with the different business areas and should monitor and work closely with the teams so that there is transparency. The bank needs to implement "respect" and "professionalism" into their culture and core values.

    Berenberg Bank2019-01-10
  9. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Berenberg Bank full-time

    Pros

    Good culture, location, people, reputation

    Cons

    Hours, pay, little mobility

    Berenberg Bank2018-10-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I worked at Berenberg Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flat Structure. If you were good you got opportunities.

    Cons

    Probably the pay - not the highest on the street.

    Berenberg Bank2018-07-06
Found 42 reviews