Berenberg Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Berenberg Bank Reviews

Updated Feb 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Berenberg Bank Vorsitzender der Geschäftsleitung Peter Raskin
Peter Raskin
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "nette Kollegen, schickes Office, interessante tasks(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "a lot of volatility in terms of people leaving jobs(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work, very good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in London, England
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Berenberg Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Well resourced, very high quality research, sensible management

    Cons

    Being a regional European bank at its core, the global presence outside Europe is much smaller than competitor banks

    Berenberg Bank2020-02-23
  2. "Overall good experience but high turn over of staff and not much support for new employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Equity Sales in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Berenberg Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good atmosphere, everyone is ambitious and smart - Growing company - Hours aren't too bad for an investment bank

    Cons

    - High turnover of people

    Berenberg Bank2020-02-11
  3. "strong research department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Equity Research Analyst 

    I worked at Berenberg Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Hours are reasonable relative to other investment banks - Graduate program appears to be well run / supported

    Cons

    - Company direction/ targets opaque to employees

    Berenberg Bank2020-01-05
  4. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Frankfurt am Main
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Berenberg Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Exposure to live deals - Employees - Team spirit - Central Location - Great Reputation

    Cons

    Working hours were longer than expected

    Berenberg Bank2019-12-06
  5. "W"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Associate 

    I have been working at Berenberg Bank full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere , lots of responsibility

    Cons

    Worse paid than bigger banks

    Berenberg Bank2019-12-09
  6. "I'm having two years of experience in Infosys under financial analyst. Our client is bloomberg."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Berenberg Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Right now, I'm working as a financial analyst. For as berenberg is a important broker so, i like goodwill of berenberg bank.

    Cons

    I don't have anything.

    Continue reading
    Berenberg Bank2019-11-06
  7. "Good place to work, meritocratic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Equities 

    I have been working at Berenberg Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Meritocratic set up, very flat structure, management regularly on the floor

    Cons

    Degree of favouritism, especially in research

    Berenberg Bank2019-10-22
  8. "Research house with high ambitions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Analyst in London, England

    I worked at Berenberg Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company by and large employs people that are nice to work with

    Cons

    No obvious ones to speak of

    Berenberg Bank2019-09-18
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Honest Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Berenberg Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There can be flexibility if you do your work and are honest. But even that is limited. Some company events you can attend. Huge Christmas parties where they fly you out to Germany. Traveling is awesome but seldom. There are few but some really talented and honest people who are very caring. Benefits are ok. Start here, get the experience, move up and move out.

    Cons

    Biggest con is the lack of structure. Very inexperienced admins and assistants run the floor and have a heavy impact on hiring/firing decisions. People who have seniority in the company tend to be extremely rude and unprofessional - HR and Management doesn't bat an eye. Especially if they are bringing in revenue. Some leads are inexperienced and undeserving. It's a social circle. If you're not apart of it...you will stick out and be targeted. Nothing is guaranteed, not even your job security. I've seen several people reach put to HR regarding bullying and abuse and 2 days later...they were let go unfortunately. Never speak up.

    Continue reading
    Berenberg Bank2019-04-17
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Ambitious plans"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Berenberg Bank full-time

    Pros

    Driven culture and management. Trying to unseed the bulge bracket.

    Cons

    Everyone is expendable and management is very clear about that.

    Berenberg Bank2019-04-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 47 reviews