Belcan Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Belcan Reviews

Updated 9 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 403 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Belcan CEO Lance H. Kwasniewski
Lance H. Kwasniewski
97 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours and great coworkers(in 32 reviews)

  • "Flexibility, great management that treats each employee like a person rather than a number, excellent work environment(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, low benefits, no room to grow(in 16 reviews)

  • "On the contract side - no room for upward movement, raises are non-existent; management is inexperienced(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fairly good recruiting company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Manager 

    I have been working at Belcan full-time

    Pros

    you can get good hourly rate

    Cons

    you do not have a good package of benefits

    Belcan2019-08-23
  2. "Good first experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst/Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Belcan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    From my knowledge of the market, the salaries offered are decent. As it is a company that "rent" you to a client, you have limited contact with the company. However, the contacts I had lately were very good and the personnel very helpful. I think it is a good company for a first experience of 1 to 2 years.

    Cons

    Insurance are not very good. Evolution with this company stays relatively limited.

    Belcan2019-03-19
  3. "Good, Flexible job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Engineer in West Palm Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Belcan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hours flexibility and opportunities to work with different engineering companies.

    Cons

    Not necessarily a con, but you have to make your space and look for the opportunities you are trying to reach.

    Belcan2019-09-08
  4. "Create company to begin your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Belcan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People of many different backgrounds and experiences to learn from

    Cons

    Sometimes there is a little too much free time

    Belcan2019-08-29
  5. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Belcan full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great experience in all the projects

    Cons

    no cons to report about company

    Advice to Management

    none

    Belcan2019-08-28
  6. "Good Work-Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in West Palm Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Belcan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Laid back work environment, flex time, good benefits, typically a good variety of internal jobs available

    Cons

    Not much room for growth within the company, pay could be better, no bonus

    Belcan2019-08-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Belcan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Controls Engineer in Lynn, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Belcan full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Belcan excels at providing purposeful work. - Company culture and values - Structure - Company growth/success. - Time Flexibility

    Cons

    Pay was a little low, but I had little experience.

    Belcan2019-08-05
  8. "Good entry level role, awful experience in my particular office."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Recruiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Belcan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will learn the ropes quickly with a fast paced staffing environment.

    Cons

    Low pay, always micromanaged, no flexibility in schedule. It felt as though you were not treated as an adult, letting management know you are going to the bathroom seems excessive. Taking lunch at 10:30 vs 11 seemed to be a big problem. It was a very weird environment that ended up being extremely toxic.

    Belcan2019-09-09
  9. "Relaxed Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Belcan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Hours Great coworkers Relaxed local management

    Cons

    Upper management (satellite offices) Deadtime Work can be pretty boring

    Belcan2019-08-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "worklife balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in West Palm Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Belcan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great flex house which allow you to come and go in a relatively convenient manner

    Cons

    work load fluctuates. sometimes youre working 40+ hours a week. others work is so slow that you sometimes have to switch groups. really kills morale.

    Belcan2019-07-07
Found 403 reviews