Beachbody Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Find jobs for Engineer

Beachbody Engineer Reviews

Updated Apr 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
66%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Beachbody Chairman and CEO Carl Daikeler (no image)
Carl Daikeler
13 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Beachbody Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Beachbody part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is passionate about the products and helping people achieve their goals whether that is the customers or coaches that are a part of the network. Great office and location in santa monica.

    Cons

    Some days can feel slow because people work from home and the office is quiet. Snacks are decent but unchanging.

    Beachbody2019-04-10
  2. Helpful (8)

    "My Experience At Beachbody"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beachbody full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Beachbody has been always so flexible and loving, I was able to continue my education while working full time, until I finished my B.S. degree. Beachbody was always supporting me all the way. For me education is really important and they offer so many opportunities for growth in leadership. Thanks!

    Cons

    Every team, including IT needs to push towards always making the company revenue and learning about attribution.

    Continue reading
    Beachbody2018-11-05
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Learned a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Beachbody full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free Shakeology, free gym, free snacks, fitness-minded coworkers, product that I believe in

    Cons

    outdated technology to managing e-commerce backend, there were some toxic management particularly a female tech engineer manager who would yell at employees but heard since I left they were let go.

    Continue reading
    Beachbody2018-08-28
  4. Helpful (25)

    "Decide. Commit. Succeed... Should be more like, undecided, do nothing, fail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Beachbody full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome people who work here. I've made some life lasting friends from this place. It's a shame because even though the ship is sinking, people still generally have a positive attitude.... Free shakes if you are into that disgusting stuff. (though generally avoid the restroom after shakeology lunch) Pay is decent, because to compensate for the crappy job, they will throw some money your way to get you to stay. So you'll see a lot of coworkers that threaten to quit on a regular basis so they can get more money.

    Cons

    How many characters do I have? When they interview you they are really really good on selling the company and technology stack. Let me tell you, it's mostly BS. Upper management has no idea what they are doing. The incompetent ones get promoted straight to the top. They are looking for yes men, don't question their direction or poor technology stack. If you are looking for using current or even semi modern technology, PASS right now. They spent years and an obscene amount of money deploying an outdated Oracle platform. If they mention Docker, AWS, or anything that sounds modern.. It's really only being used in some tiny deployments, not their main platform. When they should be double downing on micro services, cloud, containers and other technology.. they are doing more Oracle, more Wordpress. So if you like 10 year old Oracle software, click Apply now! Just ask for a 12 month roadmap if you don't believe me. Pro or Con, not sure which section to put this on. Con that all the good people are leaving, like by the day/week. Pro is that there are frequent going away Happy Hours. On that subject, just read prior reviews. They have had to do mass layoffs multiple times because of not hitting numbers, and just hiring tons of people who do nothing. Unlimited vacation is BS. They make it sound good, but in reality you'll never be able to take that time off. Read the fine print, unlimited means they don't have to pay you 1$ when you quit/fired because you won't accrue time off.

    Continue reading
    Beachbody2018-09-12
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Beachbody full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun working environment! Access to onsite gyms, healthy snack bars including free Shakeology, unlimited PTO for salaried employees.

    Cons

    The company is working on stabilization to continue further growth. Therefor major layoffs took place in 2017. The layoffs have created an unsettling environment, and unstable future outlook for many team members.

    Continue reading
    Beachbody2018-02-13
  6. Helpful (18)

    "Not a Great Technology Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Beachbody full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most of the engineers I worked with were very dedicated, hard-working and selfless. The Engineering department is earnestly trying to modernize its DevOps. You'll probably never find another place that so encourages its employees to get and stay fit. Two gyms, healthy snacks, prizes for participating in fitness programs, etc. The company introduced a number of events to make it a more "Fun Place to Work", including Beachbody Games, cuisines-of-the-world potluck, Diwali celebration, etc.

    Cons

    Engineering is saddled by some poor technology choices in the past, including investing heavily in an outdated Oracle-centric technology stack, stitched together in a way that even Oracle didn't recommend. Spent a lot of money on Oracle consultants. Odd hierarchical structure. My technical manager had 50 other reports, so it was nearly impossible to get any of his time. Instead had to go through an abrasive project manager who understood and cared little for the work I was tasked with.

    Continue reading
    Beachbody2018-01-20
  7. Helpful (28)

    "Politics everywhere....Incompetent Managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Beachbody full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    <ul> <li>On Site Gym access to all the Beachbody programs</li> <li>Free snacks</li> <li>Free shakes</li> <li>Employee discount on Beachbody products</li> <li>Benefits </li> </ul>

    Cons

    Nepotism at it’s extreme! By the way, every 2-3 years there will be a layoff. In 2013 or 2014, there was a layoff. Again in Feb’2017 there was a massive layoff. Particularly during this Feb 2017 layoff, favorites were retained. Manager/Directors (especially in QA dept.) are incapable and a drag on the company. QA dept. sucks. The QA Director brought his own team of QA Managers/other team members from his previous company, and leaving aside few, others are totally unqualified. Politics can be seen all over the place. This company is going south for sure.

    Beachbody2017-06-11
  8. Helpful (23)

    "Horrible work environment overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Beachbody for more than 3 years

    Pros

    access to gym during business, shakes and snacks

    Cons

    huge layoffs due to money problems. financially, company is very unstable IT leadership went through a re-org and is going downhill ever since.

    Continue reading
    Beachbody2017-05-22
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Former Employee Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Santa Monica, CA

    I worked at Beachbody full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Gym in building Free snacks Free shakes In the biz of helping others Strong Tech Mgt

    Cons

    Suspect business model Suspect business process Uncertain future Unsuccessful products Low confidence in executives

    Continue reading
    Beachbody2017-03-14
  10. "Great work culture, health environment and people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Beachbody full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked at Beachbody about 1,5 year in Technology department. I really enjoyed that time and truly miss it. This place has great work culture, health environment and people! People were the best part of working at Beachbody! I have never worked with such friendly, caring, open-minded and helpful people. Beachbody is the company where everyone wants you to succeed and supports each other. Management there is interested in your growth and would provide you with necessary tools and material to do so. My team mates would always come to help and pass their knowledge, collaborated with the rest in case if any kind of obstacles arose and were open to try new ideas. The culture at Beachbody encourages healthy lifestyle and communication among employees from different department. We had 2 gyms where everyone could go to workout any time of the day when there was some downtime at work. Invention of Shakeology bar that was serving employees shakeology protein drinks with different flavors was quite amazing and unique experience . CEO of the company is very inspiration and motivational man. Whenever he had a new idea he made every one of us believe in it and work hard to make it come to life. He would take time to write inspirational quotes on the walls, gave us motivational speeches and was the example of someone who turned his own idea into multibillion company pushing us forward to be better at what we do. I'm very grateful to the Beachbody and happy that I got to work at that place.

    Cons

    Very ad-hoc. As most corporate companies communication between departments and find the person of contact was a challenge.

    Continue reading
    Beachbody2017-03-23
Found 21 reviews