Barnes & Noble Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Barnes & Noble Reviews

Updated Apr 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Barnes & Noble Chief Executive Officer James Daunt (no image)
James Daunt
46 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "You only are paid minimum wage with no raises over time(in 190 reviews)

  • "I worked 40 hour weeks every week for 4 months as a part time employee and never made overtime or received benefits(in 188 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Seaking job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Character Animator in Niagara Falls, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Barnes & Noble part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I want to show my skills

    Cons

    Some people never understand our needs

    Continue reading
    Barnes & Noble2018-10-22
  2. "Undergoing transformations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in Quebec, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Barnes & Noble full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - great work conditions - great office space

    Cons

    - lack of challenge - organisational changes are painful

    Continue reading
    Barnes & Noble2017-10-17
  3. "It was alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shipping and Receiving in Columbia, SC

    I worked at Barnes & Noble full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible schedule, get to work with books

    Cons

    low pay, few opportunities, and bad management

    Barnes & Noble2020-04-06
  4. "Good pay and discount"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barnes & Noble full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Generally pretty good pay, great employee discount, good purpose

    Cons

    Don't necessarily know where they are going. Communication not great flowing down.

    Barnes & Noble2020-03-26
  5. "B&N"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bookseller/Barista in Victorville, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barnes & Noble part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I absolutely love the atmosphere of this job. From my management, my co-workers, to my customers.

    Cons

    I have worked for this company for six years and only received $0.25 over minimum wage. I have been nominated for above and beyond. I have won employee of the month. I am cross-trained in many areas of the store including management.

    Continue reading
    Barnes & Noble2020-03-25
  6. "Not great, Not terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Cashier in Exton, PA

    I worked at Barnes & Noble part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff is generally made up of intelligent, hard working people who are a pleasure to work with.

    Cons

    Upper management and corporate are failing at staying relevant in a dying industry.

    Barnes & Noble2020-04-01
  7. "Not a good time to join the corporate office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Barnes & Noble full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Dedicated teammates, great office location, good benefits

    Cons

    Leadership churn, decisions made without fully thinking them through, uncertainty

    Continue reading
    Barnes & Noble2020-03-29
  8. "Barnes and noble review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bookseller in McAllen, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barnes & Noble part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great coworkers, good management

    Cons

    Not many cons at this site

    Continue reading
    Barnes & Noble2020-03-15
  9. "Good for short-term or college work, long term seems to drive people insane"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bookseller in White Marsh, MD
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barnes & Noble part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extremely friendly coworkers and management that was down-to-earth Very nice customer base Great perks, almost half off most things in the stores and cafes Easy work if you can handle the rare entitled customer Work environment is usually calm and comforting

    Cons

    Lots of time on your feet, you WILL be reprimanded for sitting down even for a second No advancement opportunities to speak of despite what they say The few customers who do cause trouble can single-handedly ruin your day, something about the store environment attracts both the best and the worst people imaginable Stores are downsizing big time and you may find your position cut or your hours low Working as a bookseller for more than 5 years seems to start affecting your mental health negatively Low yearly raise, some booksellers working almost 10 years still only making about 3 bucks above their starting wage Management will occasionally throw you under the bus to save their own faces Company seems to be getting suffocated very slowly by Amazon and other bigger retailers

    Continue reading
    Barnes & Noble2020-03-13
  10. "Industry has changed dramatically, but enjoyed my time at B&N"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barnes & Noble full-time

    Pros

    Great co-workers Fast-paced environment Felt good about the products and experience

    Cons

    Monotonous and low pay at times.

    Continue reading
    Barnes & Noble2020-03-09
Found 4062 reviews