Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada Reviews

Updated Jan 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
85%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada President, CEO, and Director Louis Vachon
Louis Vachon
419 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "French is required if you want to be promoted(in 27 reviews)

  • "tre agile dans le changement et la transformation car c'est une entreprise qui cherche constamment(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "The best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Solutions Manager in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Culture that promotes empowerment, new ideas and collaboration - Respectful work environment - Good career opportunities - Great people and great management

    Cons

    - Nothing to report. I don't see any negative aspect.

    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada2019-05-28
  2. "Great work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to grow and great benefits

    Cons

    Long hours and outdated systems

    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada2020-01-16
  3. "it depends where you land"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agilent 

    I have been working at Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    National Bank is huge and every department has a different culture. It's easy to move within the company, so you have a good chance of finding your fit. Jobs are well paid and the work-life balance is very good.

    Cons

    Highly political, corporate, not transparent environment.

    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada2020-01-27
  4. "good place to start career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Services Representative 

    I worked at Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada full-time

    Pros

    work-life balance is good, benefits are ok, salary is good compared to other banks

    Cons

    not well known in western regions

    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada2020-01-21
  5. "Management needs improvement."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in Brampton, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work life balance. Easy commute.

    Cons

    Not the best pay for responsibility. Some management employees should not be in their 7position. I've been bullied and I've seen other people being bullied and there is no one to help you.

    Advice to Management

    Management should be more approachable and help their employees. There should be better management selection.

    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada2020-01-22
  6. "CSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - C S R in Brampton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada part-time

    Pros

    Helpful coworkers Excellent training Good bonus

    Cons

    growth prospect Short staffed Sometimes slow

    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada2020-01-01
  7. "Not the best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Clerk 

    I worked at Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada full-time

    Pros

    Nice location for the break time

    Cons

    Enough money to pay the rent

    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada2020-01-14
  8. "Very Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Short hours where i work

    Cons

    Lower pay comparing to other banks

    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada2019-12-27
  9. "Great place to start a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Ottawa, ON
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Benefits -Stable pay -Professional team to work with -Great place to grow into the financial services industry

    Cons

    -Outdated technology -Tedious procedures -Outdated training

    Advice to Management

    Improving technology at the front till will improve client retention

    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada2020-01-06
  10. "Nice work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good personal/professional work balance. Very nice work environment

    Cons

    Salary may be less than peers. But it's difficult to confirm

    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada2019-12-19
Found 766 reviews