Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada Reviews

Updated May 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada President, CEO, and Director Louis Vachon
Louis Vachon
442 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "French is required if you want to be promoted(in 27 reviews)

  • "Exposure and locations outside of Quebec are limited(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good company,+prospects and management that cares"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Work with talented individuals and group is well recognized on the street - Clear direction from upper management and easily accessible: CEO holds weekly webcasts to talk about state of economy and takes questions from employees for 30-45 minutes. - Good benefits

    Cons

    Some systems/processes are a bit outdated and can be simplified

    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada2020-05-22
  2. "Red tape and rigidity"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada full-time

    Pros

    -Benefits are decent... Nothing crazy though.

    Cons

    It's a very rigid place with a lot of red tape. Old systems, old thinking. Pretending to go Agile, but really just to use a buzzword while they twist the methodology for more pressure and micro-management on their IT teams. No time is left for introspection or self improvement. Hell, no time for testing. Old technology, bad practices, spaghetti code left to rot because technological debt is never addressed. Business commits to projects without consulting IT - which causes impossible deadlines. IT teams deprived for any kind of agency or power. Feels like a factory assembly line. Developers are at the bottom of the food chain. New methodologies introduced are always biased toward providing management more control and metrics. Never about empowering the IT teams. Unimpressive compensation package. Especially considering the poor culture.

    Continue reading
    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada2020-05-16
  3. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good growth and learning opportunity, flexible, agile and changing environment

    Cons

    No particular problem or cons

    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada2020-03-20

    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada Response

    April 14, 2020

    Thank you for your comments.

  4. "Fun to work for, but hard to advance"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada full-time

    Pros

    -Team was fun to work with -Great work environment

    Cons

    -Very difficult to move up

    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada2020-03-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible team"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada full-time

    Pros

    Good office environment and some good managers

    Cons

    Terrible team dynamic Management doesn't care whats going on in the office Poorly trained associates - no assistance No help if your in a bad team Really low compensation Poor office moral, people are always gossiping or running to management to tell on other people

    Continue reading
    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada2020-04-06

    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada Response

    May 8, 2020

    We thank you for your comments. We are very sorry to know that you had a negative experience working at our organization. National Bank of Canada has a zero-tolerance policy towards behaviors that you described. Please note that we have multiple resources within the organization to help and guide you through your journey with us. We refer you to the HR Advisory Centre or the Employees Ombudsman Office should you wish to talk anonymously about the issues you experienced.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada full-time

    Pros

    Generous pay and benefits even for a bank.

    Cons

    Top heavy, obsolete systems and processes, toxic culture that rewards brown nosers over hard work.

    Continue reading
    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada2020-04-01
  7. "Damaging experience"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working from home, competitive salary and bonus

    Cons

    Company that doesn’t walk the talk. Tries to be very innovative but is still bogged down in heavy internal politics.

    Continue reading
    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada2020-03-29

    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada Response

    May 13, 2020

    We thank you for your comments. National Bank of Canada sees diversity as a great source of wealth and values it in all its dimensions. Its objective is to offer an open, respectful work environment where all employees can achieve their full potential. We are very sorry to know that you had a negative experience working in our organization. Please note that we have multiple resources within the organization to help and guide employees through their journey with us. We refer you to the HR Advisory Centre or the Employee Ombudsman Office should you wish to talk anonymously about the issues you experienced when you were an employee of the National Bank.

  8. "Operations"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, lots of upward mobility.

    Cons

    Not amazing salary but the fringe benefits are great.

    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada2020-02-20

    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada Response

    April 14, 2020

    Thank you for your comments. Yes, the bank is committed to developing and developing its employees.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Working at national bank"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, flexible schedule, hours, paid vacation , opportunity

    Cons

    Bad management , low salary

    Continue reading
    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada2020-02-29
  10. "Rotational Program Review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Banking Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The rotational program gives you a breadth of experience before committing to a specific coverage or execution group

    Cons

    The rotational program limits your deal exposure eraly in your career

    Continue reading
    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada2020-02-18

    Banque Nationale du Canada/National Bank of Canada Response

    April 14, 2020

    Thank you for your comments. We are forwarding your propositions to the persons in charge of organizing the rotational program.

Found 522 reviews