Bankers Life Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Bankers Life Reviews

Updated Nov 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Bankers Life CEO Scott Goldberg
Scott Goldberg
463 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great training available in person and online(in 87 reviews)

  • "They have a fantastic training program that gets new agents up to speed very quickly(in 67 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Bankers Life

    Pros

    Help people everyday to protect and preserve their assets! Build lifetime relationships with both clients and coworkers. Great training from knowledgeable management. Definitely a money opportunity. Hard work pays off! Great support from dedicated managers.

    Cons

    A lot of turn over. People give up way too quickly.

    Continue reading
    Bankers Life2014-10-28
  2. Helpful (129)

    "Changed my family's life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent in Paducah, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bankers Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    No one determines how much I'm worth or how much my time it worth. I earn what I put into the career. By far the most rewarding career I've ever been in and it keep getting better every year. The bonuses during the 1st year of the career are great while one get momentum, and the fact that bonuses are ongoing all year long, makes it even a better incentive to work hard.

    Cons

    Not sure if this is a "con". The fact that we are in commission only instead of salary or hourly pay makes it possible for us to get paid our full commissions! I've seen hourly wages in other companies, and it's a shame someone made $100 a day in hourly wages when they could have made hundreds more with the same effort and production if they were in commissions. If anyone is looking for a job where you can just milk the clock and get paid, this is not it. But if you're looking for a vocation or career that pays you what you're worth? This is it.

    Continue reading
    Bankers Life2019-01-19
  3. "New Management - Come See The Culture For Yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Duluth, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bankers Life full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Greatest opportunity for a new career or change of careers for anyone with some grit, grind and determination to be successful! It's not a clock watching job - it's a rare career that puts no cap on what you can achieve. Leadership has changed and the culture is something you have to see for yourself to get the true experience. Don't let someone who didn't understand the required level of work ethic deter you from building a career that puts back into their agents in so many ways!

    Cons

    It's hard work to build a business. Got to ask yourself if the reward is worth the effort.

    Continue reading
    Bankers Life2019-11-19
  4. "Great place to work!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Life Agent in Roseville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bankers Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited Earning Potential Great work environment/friendly coworkers Flexible schedule Management is very easy to talk to

    Cons

    100% Commissions pay scale Lead system isn’t very good

    Bankers Life2019-10-31
  5. "Pros n Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Agent in Owensboro, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bankers Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Make your own Schedule

    Cons

    Other Agents are cut throat jerks Pay sucks unless you like to force someone on a disability check to buy something.

    Bankers Life2019-11-14
  6. "The best training for a new agent."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Bankers Life

    Pros

    Extensive training, testing, and Bankers Life gives the best experience for a new agent.

    Cons

    Very competitive be prepared to put work in.

    Continue reading
    Bankers Life2019-10-25
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Commission ONLY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Bankers Life full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere Good people Travel Opportunities

    Cons

    Commission only No base pay

    Continue reading
    Bankers Life2019-10-04
  8. "A company that works hard to do what is fair and best for both the company and its customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bankers Life full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Constantly evolving, likes to promote within the organization, and gives good talent opportunities. Good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Systems are outdated making it difficult to evolve with the times.

    Bankers Life2019-10-17
  9. "The least helpful, least caring company for agents who are new to the industry."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Life and Health Insurance Agent in Westlake, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bankers Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They pay for your licensing exam prep and exam.

    Cons

    Almost no support. Very numbers-driven with little regard to an individual's actual experience in the field. Training is essentially halted 1 month in. A cold, very divided atmosphere; no sense of teamwork. Sink or swim. You need a large savings reserve to help you survive for your first year here as no salary is paid. No motivation to continue working for this company other than the unrealistic hope for a large commission very early on.

    Continue reading
    Bankers Life2019-11-12
  10. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Agent in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bankers Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment and real nice people

    Cons

    Only commissioned pay!! Have great customer service skills

    Bankers Life2019-10-19
Found 1249 reviews