Bank of Canada Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Bank of Canada Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Bank of Canada CEO Stephen S. Poloz
Stephen S. Poloz
32 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Ottawa is not the best place to live especially if you are not accustomed to the cold climate(in 5 reviews)

  • "Lower salary than private sector(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Analyst in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bank of Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun, lively, interactive, lots of work

    Cons

    No cons at all. Would recommend

    Bank of Canada2019-08-26
  2. "Good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Architect in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of Canada full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    interesting work - lots of variety - ability to move within organization

    Cons

    Slow to adapt to changes in best practice

    Advice to Management

    Be open and honest

    Bank of Canada2019-09-30
  3. "Backstabbing Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Management in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, beautful building, gym, cafeteria

    Cons

    Its hard to find a person who isnt out to backstab you. The culture is Dog-Eat-Dog. Every. Single. Person. Horrible place to work. People are stabbing you in the back and taking credit of your work to get ahead. No one supports each other and works together. Watch your back. Managers are stressed out, and taking it out on employees.

    Advice to Management

    Support your employees. Everyone is fake. There is no actual support when someone asks for it. It's all a facade.

    Bank of Canada2019-10-11
  4. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of Canada full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good, collegial atmosphere. Rewarding work

    Cons

    None really to mention about the organization

    Bank of Canada2019-08-22
  5. "It's very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Economist in Quebec, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Commitment to work, respect, punctuality, friendship

    Cons

    Anything because it's a very good place to work

    Bank of Canada2019-06-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Better than a government agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture, flexible work arrangements (earned days off, teleworking), annual performance bonuses. Excellent gym and nap areas (though I have never used them). Much better pay than equal level in government.

    Cons

    Aversion to any change while promoting innovation. Aversion to risk to the detriment of progress. Same type of workers as government agencies - passing the buck on problems, avoiding accountability, "successful" projects that are objectively complete failures.

    Bank of Canada2019-06-18
  7. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of Canada full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Interesting work, opportunities to grow, people are fantastic and foster collaboration

    Cons

    No Cons. Loved my time here

    Bank of Canada2019-06-06
  8. "Great place to work. Can get bureaucatic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Economist in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bank of Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good intellectual workplace. Beware of bureaucracy and don't stay too long if you do want to go to private sector

    Cons

    Bureaucracy and governance structure is fundamentally incompatible with innovation

    Advice to Management

    Too many meetings sap people's energy.

    Bank of Canada2019-05-15
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Bank of Canada full-time

    Pros

    Stable Nice hours Flexible working arrangement Nice offices

    Cons

    Limited advancement Overly bureaucratic Ottawa No profit motive, no incentive pay

    Bank of Canada2019-04-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bank of Canada full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Government job. Stable pay. Easy working hours no real rolling up the sleeves. Most stay to collect a bank backed pension.

    Cons

    Chances to move inside the organization are given to a specific few. You won't see minorities in the upper ladder. That says a lot. Today I am in the US and my reality is far better than I could ever have achieved working at the BoC . This should tell you.

    Advice to Management

    You should all resign. Public service may have been good for you but clearly not for the Canadian people. Part time jobs is a new norm I guess and a crazy house market.

    Bank of Canada2019-04-25
Found 79 reviews