Ball State University "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Ball State University Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Sep 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Ball State University President Paul W. Ferguson (no image)
Paul W. Ferguson
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fantastic work environment with friendly colleagues(in 16 reviews)

  • "Highly flexible hours and availability to take off as needed for classes(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "The company only provides minimum wage(in 22 reviews)

  • "Low pay as student unfortunately, so there wasn't very much reason to work hard for other coworkers(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "BSU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Graduate Assistant in Muncie, IN

    I have been working at Ball State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supporting working environment

    Cons

    Working part time whilst schooling is daunting

    Ball State University2019-09-15
  2. "Desktop Support Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DST in Muncie, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ball State University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great working Environment, Great bosses.

    Cons

    hard to work with some end users

    Ball State University2019-01-09
  3. "Athletic Ticket Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Ball State University part-time

    Pros

    Fantastic work environment with friendly colleagues. I have incredibly helpful bosses and I thoroughly enjoy working for Ball State.

    Cons

    Muncie, Indiana is not a very exciting place and pay is relatively low.

    Ball State University2018-11-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Helpdesk Desktop Support Consultants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HelpDesk Desktop Support Consultant in Muncie, IN

    I have been working at Ball State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great industry knowledge, great work environment.

    Cons

    Minimum wage pay and only 20 hours a week.

    Continue reading
    Ball State University2018-09-06
  5. "Helpdesk Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ball State University part-time

    Pros

    Excellent work environment, great job with supportive staff and management

    Cons

    Very low rate of pay considering what job responsibilities are

    Continue reading
    Ball State University2017-06-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Assistant in Muncie, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ball State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reliable and consistent work environment Flexible for students Helpful staff Great opportunity for local residents to get involved in the university

    Cons

    Transparency is an issue here, particularly the past few years with hiring the president of the university and explaining the dismissal of the previous one.

    Ball State University2017-04-16
  7. "Associate Director of Admissions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ball State University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great working environment. Good amount of vacation and sick time. Excellent benefits.

    Cons

    Salaries are very low and not competitive.

    Ball State University2016-11-30
  8. "Production Coordinator -- IDEE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ball State University full-time

    Pros

    Positive work environment - lots of holiday and vacation time. Staff at IDEE were very flexible and took input from every employee.

    Cons

    Hard to break out of the structured pay schedule at Ball State. Good for starting out but not so good for career advancement as a staff employee.

    Ball State University2016-11-05
  9. "Working experience review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Ball State University

    Pros

    It is very nice working environment and the supervisor is very supportive.

    Cons

    The working pace is a little bit slow maybe because of it is located in a small town.

    Ball State University2016-04-09
  10. "Graduate Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Muncie, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Ball State University part-time

    Pros

    I am in math department and I work for three professors. Work environment is good. payment is good. I think It is not stressful so far.

    Cons

    For some weeks, you do not have too much work to do, so you need to learn how to manage your time.

    Ball State University2016-03-16
Found 16 reviews