Baker Tilly Canada Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 97 reviews

3.9
57%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Baker Tilly Canada National Chair Grant Galbraith (no image)
Grant Galbraith
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance, great people, amazing clients(in 9 reviews)

  • "Great place to work filled with great people(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "So don't kill yourself during busy season for a place like this(in 9 reviews)

  • "Long hours, lots of levels of senior which makes it slower progress to move up(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Amazing place to work

      Dec 10, 2020 - Assurance Senior Manager in Dartmouth, NS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance, great people, amazing clients

      Cons

      Nothing bad about BTNS to mention

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Overall Experience

      Dec 1, 2018 - Staff Accountant in Ottawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - challenging - everyone is willing to help - great work/life balance - paid overtime or time off - flexible hours - exposure to all employees, including partners

      Cons

      - downtime can sometimes be tedious as there is nothing prepared ahead of time for these situations

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Senior staff accountant

      Nov 6, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Young professional environment with lots of talents Awesome learning experience

      Cons

      Horrible company benefit and compensation No work life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to learn

      Sep 28, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No better place to learn about accounting

      Cons

      Public accounting does not offer a lot of work life balance. This is certainly not specific to Collins Barrow

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      CBV Review

      Nov 11, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      you will have great coworkers which definitely make the negatives worthwhile

      Cons

      like every other public accounting firm, there is almost non existent work life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Senior Staff Accountant

      May 16, 2016 - Senior Accountant in Ottawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As a current student trying to manage studying while working full time is sometimes challenging. One of the best pros for working for CB is the work-life balance they offer. They're really supportive when asking for time off to study. Also, compensation is very competitive as CB pays for overtime.

      Cons

      There aren't that many downsides. We don't do too much FRS work in the Ottawa office so if you're looking for experience in IFRS then I wouldn't suggest CBO.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee

      The Worst of the Worst

      Jun 4, 2017 -  in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Most of the partners and staff are very friendly and helpful. (except HR and IT) -Work/life balance is reasonable -Extra days off during the year -Some good community and social events

      Cons

      -Worse two years of my life. -Management only cares about management. -HR only cares about making management happy and the staff's happiness is an afterthought. Forget about going to HR to look for solutions. You are labeled and blacklisted. -High staff turnover especially in October after the yearly bonuses are given out. The take the money and run attitude speaks volumes about staff morale. -Had to pay for half of my monthly benefits. Never worked at a company where staff had to do this.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Baker Tilly Canada Response

      Leadership Team

      Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear you experienced our firm this way. It is difficult to respond to some of the comments without actual examples. We can say with confidence that our professional and operational leadership is committed to listening and investing in our talent across all levels. We are glad to share that our turnover rates have declined. We also want to reiterate our continued efforts to provide a great staff experience - including regular socials, casual dress policy, collaboration spaces, a firm-wide mentor program and regular leadership communications. In response to staff feedback, we improved our onboarding process and enhanced our benefits, including our group RRSP program and fully funded health spending accounts with increased limits.

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great culture most partners are friendly

      Aug 12, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get exposure to a lot of different industries and the work culture is great because they offer a great work-life balance

      Cons

      Performance evaluations are usually based on the company's current hiring policy. If they are over-staffed they will give you a bad review but if they want you to stay they will give you a great one.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good place to work

      Aug 14, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Flexible benefit structure (although others have a hard time understanding it and will disagree with me) - HR has been really trying to improve things, e.g. changes to benefit plan, dress code

      Cons

      Work life balance could be better. Policy is that managers and up can work from home once a week, but in practice this is hard to do and can be looked down on.

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not the best, not the worst either

      Jun 28, 2016 -  in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This review is specifically focused on Collins Barrow Toronto. The Firm drives itself on being a progressive player in the accounting & advisory realm and they have made this possible with things such as: - Innovative IT team: definitely progressing to building better tools and support Firm-wide - Busy season socials, misc. socials throughout the year: great social events, boosts employee morale and engagement especially during busy season - Great people: people are extremely friendly and genuinely make an effort to get to know you - Location: great location (in the heart of Downtown core), close to subway lines and Union Station - CBT Days: offer 5 extra days off to all staff in addition to yearly vacation entitlement - Busy Season Audit Bonus: Assurance staff receive a bonus after busy season - Staff Involvement: ways to get involved, from the social committee to community work, the firm does value staff involvement in socials and activities

      Cons

      Although there are pros, the overall culture and total rewards at Collins Barrow Toronto are extremely demotivating and prevent the Firm from retaining its staff. - Health Benefits: are atrocious. Seriously, if health/dental benefits are a huge factor for you, do not join CBT. The worst part is that management thinks they are amazing, but they are extremely low for a firm competing with big 4. - RRSP: Does not exist until you hit 3 years of service. Very minimal firm matching, and not many staff make it to 3 years to have it kick in. - Limited Growth Opportunities: Very few staff are promoted within; Audit staff have opportunity to grow level wise, but you'll hit a plateau once you hit the senior mark. - Turnover: Turnover is extremely high at the firm; its constantly very busy because you are training new staff every 6 months. The firm says it's "growing", but it's mostly just backfills to replace exiting staff. - Work/Life Balance: Very little, expected to cancel vacations at the last second, or work while away. - Top Heavy: the Firm is very top heavy, and half the manager's have never managed people and need people leader training. My manager was clearly lacking how to manage and engage staff. Constantly hiring managers and senior managers, but very few staff level. Don't expect your voice to be heard unless management has already decided or agrees.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Baker Tilly Canada Response

      Marketing Manager

      Thank you for your comments. You have many positive things to say about CBT’s people, culture, innovation and rewards which are appreciated. We understand that staff is our biggest asset. As such, we are committed to investing in our talent and listen to staff feedback at all levels of management. Currently, we are reviewing further benefits enhancements and look forward to improving the staff experience with our other development programs including our firm-wide mentoring initiative.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Baker Tilly Canada Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Baker Tilly Canada? Share Your Experiences

    Baker Tilly Canada logo
    or