BDO USA Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

BDO USA Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
BDO USA CEO Wayne Berson
Wayne Berson
323 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "can be long hours (understood for public accounting)(in 120 reviews)

  • "Hours during busy season can be long(in 116 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Audit senior"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Audit Senior 

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and great group of people to work with

    Cons

    Hours during busy season can be long

    BDO USA2019-04-08
  2. "Consulting in Ottawa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Ottawa, ON
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, and decent exposure

    Cons

    A prime example of nepotism. Mediocre people work here.

    Advice to Management

    Provide flexibility to move within consulting services to people who are eager to work and are really talented.

    BDO USA2019-10-05
  3. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BDO USA full-time

    Pros

    excellent opportunity for growth in the company

    Cons

    limited compensation and benefit planning

    BDO USA2018-04-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Manager in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at BDO USA

    Pros

    Offers broad range of positions

    Cons

    Poor culture with a rigid operational structure

    BDO USA2016-03-28
  5. "It was amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, great people, office culture

    Cons

    work-life balance, compensation,, personal growth

    BDO USA2014-06-01
  6. "Keep doing what you’re doing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Valuation Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BDO USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Keep doing what you’re doing

    Cons

    everything was great working there

    BDO USA2019-10-02
  7. "So far after a time with the company (considering my experience with other companies doing the same type of job)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to start building experience. Good benefits, and some flexibility.

    Cons

    Company has not developed clear procedures and methodology to do audits. Unreal expectations, unreal budgets, unreal goals that cause low moral in employees when not achieved.

    Advice to Management

    Be real. Try to understand what’s going on on lower levels. Instruct your clients to be responsive with your employees. Don’t say yes every time. Bill based on reality, not to try to win a bid and compete with a Big4.

    BDO USA2019-10-13
  8. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Audit Associate 

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with and the culture is good too

    Cons

    Long hours, a lot is expected of you

    BDO USA2019-09-20
  9. "Worst HR onboarding. Job is good though."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can work independently. Nice people.

    Cons

    HR experience was abyssmal. No meeting, no checking in with me to make sure all is done correctly. Has cost me about 6k so far. Advocate and demand a meeting with HR if you start here.

    Advice to Management

    Meet with new hires in person. Don't rely on overwhelmed new hires to be able to sort through 400 pages of terribly written instructions to figure out what they need to do.

    BDO USA2019-10-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture, Very Focused on Employee Welfare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture of the company is something I've never seen in any company I've worked for. The people are cared for and respected. When concerns are raised, nobody is ridiculed or misspoken to. The team morale is fantastic, birthdays, administrative professionals day, intern day, and promotions are recognized. The location I work at has done an impeccable job to hire a strong team that really blends together. Also,... management is APPROACHABLE! This is an extreme quality in any company, I couldn't value this aspect any more.

    Show More

    Cons

    The process, needs more streamlining. Some people do things that aren't standard. Different individuals have different processes, and it makes it confusing to follow one specific guideline. Management gets busy and their meetings go long and are late to their next meetings so you have to go interrupt, which could be awkward.

    BDO USA2019-09-14
Found 840 reviews