BCLC Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

BCLC Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 76 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
BCLC CEO Jim Lightbody
Jim Lightbody
30 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Typical government red tape which causes quite a bit of monentary waste(in 6 reviews)

  • "There is also an underlying divide between head office and Vancouver(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Cust Support Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Kamloops, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCLC part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best job I have ever had.

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say.

    BCLC2019-05-08
  2. "Good Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCLC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture and place to work

    Cons

    none - i don't have any

    Advice to Management

    none

    BCLC2019-06-04
  3. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consumer Services Agent in Kamloops, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCLC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    BCLC has a great company culture. It seems like everyone is approachable and friendly. There are also great benefits and perks.

    Cons

    In my experience, they talk about hiring internally and developing people for more challenging roles, but end up hiring externally.

    Advice to Management

    Enact your values, don't just espouse them.

    BCLC2019-05-16
  4. "Great culture, good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sys Administrative in Kamloops, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCLC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fantastic place to work -- great benefits, subsidized cafeteria, gym and opportunity to move around.

    Cons

    Pay often doesn't meet the role and responsibilities, especially in IT.

    BCLC2019-04-18
  5. Helpful (5)

    "HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BCLC full-time

    Pros

    Staff are friendly and fun

    Cons

    Management style is not very supportive or kind

    Advice to Management

    VP likes to bully people, shame them in front of peers and cannot follow through with initiatives. Staff feel like they are always switching gears and there is no prioritization nor is there explanation of what is actually required, so it is a guessing game and you'd better have guessed correctly!

    BCLC2019-04-15
  6. "More cons than pros"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BCLC full-time

    Pros

    - work life balance - great benefits - subsidized cafeteria and free coffee

    Cons

    - inexperience management team - lack of knowledge/understanding in gaming industry - very hierarchical structure and political - promoting unfit employees - slow pace environment

    Advice to Management

    Invest time and money to understand the business. Growth opportunities are being missed as most do not have the basic fundamentals of the industry. Focus on proper on-boarding and hire/promote managers that can mentor and development their employees. It's great that they can collaborate and foster relationships with other stakeholders, but frustrating when they have limited knowledge of the business.

    BCLC2019-04-17
  7. "BCLC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salesforce Marketing Cloud Technologist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCLC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture, Benefits, work life balance

    Cons

    Gambling and negative perception in the community

    BCLC2019-03-27
  8. "Product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at BCLC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Opportunities to learn something new all the time and be in different roles

    Cons

    - Slow, very slow and people are opposed to change

    Advice to Management

    - When you are pro change, you need to ensure your action matches what you are advocating

    BCLC2019-03-19
  9. "Golden Handcuffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BCLC full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance, good pay.

    Cons

    Too much red tape. Slow moving. Silos.

    BCLC2019-03-08
  10. "OKish"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anon in Kamloops, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCLC full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Really nice people Good work/life balance Very ethical and honest

    Cons

    Poor pay Poor technical career path Old technology Bureaucratic & inward looking, though not too bad for Canadian crown corp I understand. More of a lifestyle company than one for the competitive or ambitious. Progression is mostly via length of service and is into administrative functions.

    Advice to Management

    Deal with the pay problems, stop making excuses about them.

    BCLC2019-02-25
Found 76 reviews