BCLC Reviews

Updated Jan 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
BCLC President and CEO Jim Lightbody
Jim Lightbody
40 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "We consistently consider the impact of gambling on the health of players in BC - always(in 9 reviews)

  • "Typical government red tape which causes quite a bit of monentary waste(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Feels like a community of talented people doing amazing work every day."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kamloops, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCLC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    What's not to love? interesting work. I add value every day. Commitment to professional development. One of the top social purpose companies. Give back billions each year to the province. Great leader and extremely talented peer group. Opportunity to innovate. Great time off options. Defined benefit pension. Good balance of work and life.

    Cons

    I had to take a drop in pay to come here, but I feel so much happier. While it was worth it for me, it may not be for everyone.

    Continue reading

    BCLC Response

    May 22, 2020Recruitment Consultant

    Thank you for your very positive review! (and we tend to agree with the pros you pointed out!) All of our executive also go through a robust onboarding program with the board, as well as with People & Culture and corporate values and behaviours are instilled early and reinforced often. Thanks again!

  2. "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BCLC full-time

    Pros

    Everyone is very like-minded and easy to work with.

    Cons

    Hard to get on as a permanent employee. Lots of contract work.


  3. "Toxic culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at BCLC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. No accountability. Lots of paid time off.

    Cons

    Leadership. Human Resources is so lax and have never been so bad! The HR Directors are completely incompetent

    Continue reading
  4. "One of the best places to work in all of BC"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BCLC full-time

    Pros

    Amazing people, great benefits, beautiful office, penison!

    Cons

    As great as it is, things move slow and upward mobility is challenging. If you have the right expectations going in you'll love it.

    BCLC Response

    November 19, 2020People Recruitment Advisor

    Hi! Thank you for dropping your comments here! We agree, the people & benefits here are amazing. We do believe in developing from within, and encourage our people to have regular career discussions with their leader to help get them to where they want to go. Thanks again!

  5. "Best Company in Kamloops"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager Customer Experience in Kamloops, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCLC full-time

    Pros

    Job Security, People, Work Life Balance, Challenging Work

    Cons

    Not many really - just the regular work woes.

    BCLC Response

    November 19, 2020People Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for leaving such an awesome review!! We have to agree, the people, balance & challenging, meaningful work are awesome!

  6. "Flexible hours"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Student in Vancouver, BC

    I have been working at BCLC part-time

    Pros

    Really accomodating and understanding of my limited hours

    Cons

    Nothing that really sticks out

  7. "Top Top TOP Employer!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BCLC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    amazing people, great benefits, beautiful office with free parking, on-site cafeteria, good work-life balance, government pension!!

    Cons

    limited opportunity for upward mobility, salaries are average at best, not competitive with private companies (but you need to know that going in, you're making it up in other ways)

    BCLC Response

    October 13, 2020People Recruitment Advisor

    Wow! Thank you for leaving your Top Top TOP Review!! We think you're spot on with your comment regarding our amazing people & benefits. If you are interested in career advancement, we recommend you let your leader know. They can then work with you to provide developmental or other opportunities to put you in a better position to get that next promotion!

  8. "Great culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BCLC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong corporate culture and office space

    Cons

    Inconsistent experiences depending on management.

    BCLC Response

    October 13, 2020People Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for leaving your comments! We've been working hard on building a strong culture at BCLC and it all starts with hiring people who actively share our values. We're glad you noticed!

  9. COVID-19
    Helpful (6)

    "Doesn't Walk the Talk"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Specialist in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BCLC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Defined benefit pension - Medical benefits are pretty good - Not much metrics to measure performance - No employee were cut due to COVID-19 for now

    Cons

    - Politics & fiefdom are everywhere - Directions given are vague and very politically worded - Wants to run like a non-government tech company, but staff operates with a mindset of government - Lots of lifers with "it has been always been done this way" mentality - Even within a team, staff work in silos - Human Resources support employers, rather than employees & HR is defensive all the time with what needs to be changed for employees. - No repercussions handed to micromanagers or under-managers - Everyone is about saving their 'face' rather than telling the truth and work towards a better organization.

    Continue reading

    BCLC Response

    September 21, 2020Recruitment Consultant

    Hi there! Thank you for leaving your detailed thoughts on Glassdoor! I might suggest you bring up these concerns with your People and Culture Advisor as they seem to pertain to a specific situation with specific objective behaviors. I'm sure you'll find an ear to listen. Also, I encourage you to attend our conferences that begin next week with our Re-Visioning Conference where every employee will be able to participate in shaping our OneBCLC and P360 strategies! Thanks again!

  10. "good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Sports Sales Associate in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BCLC full-time

    Pros

    good wages and nice people

    Cons

    long days and no promotion

    BCLC Response

    October 13, 2020People Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for leaving your comments!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 100 English Reviews
</>Embed