BCAA Manager Reviews

Updated May 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
BCAA President and CEO Eric Hopkins
Eric Hopkins
2 Ratings
  1. "Great employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BCAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great corporate culture Excellent benefits Progressive strategic plan

    Cons

    Only in British Columbia Can be bureaucratic

    BCAA2020-05-02
  2. "Great Things Happening at BCAA"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    We are shaping the future of how we service our members and make our community the best place to live. Great job opportunities Carer development options Leadership that cares about its employees and whats in important to them.

    Cons

    I have been at BCAA for 6 years and the leadership and forward thinking have kept me here. I don't see myself anywhere else.

    Continue reading
    BCAA2020-01-31
  3. "Great Place to Work!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    BCAA is a people first organization that truly acts with employees at the heart of their decisions.

    Cons

    It's a great organization, no cons so far.

    BCAA2020-02-04
  4. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCAA full-time

    Pros

    You get to work with some the best people. The culture is great.

    Cons

    Some of the processes are slow. Technology can be improved

    BCAA2019-06-21
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Burnaby, BC
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free BCAA membership with all the savings that come with it, special employee insurance discounts. "Good work-life balance, small cafeteria, food ok Discount towards membership, which provides discounts to many stores and services. Free coffee and tea. Subsidized cafeteria with many salad choices.

    Cons

    The employees who have been with BCAA for years will never leave and don’t know how to adapt. Cultures vary from department to department. Cramped space, aged building with no room for expansion, parking says it all.

    BCAA2018-03-12
  6. "Great place to work at"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Gives back to the community

    Cons

    Not enough underground parking, cafeteria food could be healthier.

    BCAA2017-06-30
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New CEO is great, moving towards less bureaucracy and everyone has a voice Benefits are amazing! Flex plan so you pick what you want and have a control of where your money is going Room to take on new projects - appetite to learn The people are fantastic! Large organization, but family feel.

    Cons

    Transition time right now - some middle managers are struggling to give up their power and use their position to try to keep you under their thumb Senior leadership is great and VERY open to feedback and bring about change.

    Continue reading
    BCAA2017-05-03
  8. Helpful (19)

    "Company in turmoil"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BCAA full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits

    Cons

    Seriously lacks any sort of concrete plan- there has been 3 CEO's in as many years. Each wanting to reinvent the wheel. Also BCAA is not invested in their employees. They treat them as commodities and are quick to find ways to get rid of people. As a manager I was often instructed by senior management to " manage someone out". They act like ethics are of the utmost concern but people are usually treated terribly when they need support. They also have little concern for work life balance and expect their managers to work all the time and be available all the time. They will work you into the ground and if you finally push back they will just get rid of you

    Continue reading
    BCAA2016-06-21
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Early 20th century talorism in full effect"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BCAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    So chaotic and backward that smart people can take advantage and be successful.

    Cons

    If upper management have read any recent books on modern management practices and theory they quickly burned them. The only good ideas come from the HiPPOs.

    Continue reading
    BCAA2016-02-19
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Love BCAA"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Advancement opportunity, benefits, amazing people, community volunteer work, training, engagement surveys, fabulous product you feel good selling and new exciting business lines rolling out!

    Cons

    Sometimes it can feel like your voice isn't heard. Lots of changes recently - all good ones, just moving VERY quickly.

    Continue reading
    BCAA2015-05-28

    BCAA Response

    June 8, 2015Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for providing some of your thoughts. We agree things are moving very quickly as we go through very exciting times at BCAA. Recently launching EVO Car Share, new ways to improve insurance service to our members, and soon to come our new Auto Service Centre in Penticton. We have great team members that have been tremendous through these changes and work diligently to ensure service levels are still at there best! BCAA is a great place to work, because our amazing teams support each other and create amazing member experience. Thanks again for sharing your positive feedback!

Found 13 reviews