BBC "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

BBC Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Mar 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
BBC Director-General Tony Hall
Tony Hall
427 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "career progression is a challenge for admin roles(in 34 reviews)

  • "Lots of red tape and didn’t feel like a dynamic place to work(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Depends on the department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Journalist in London, England

    I have been working at BBC full-time

    Pros

    Great people, good opportunities. Amazing experiences if you're in a good department

    Cons

    Managers don't listen. Sadly, they care more about how to cover their own... than your wellbeing and career development.

    BBC2020-03-29
  2. "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Freelancer - Camera Operator 
    Recommends

    I have been working at BBC

    Pros

    great people, always wanting to help and teach

    Cons

    haven't come across one really.

    Continue reading
    BBC2020-02-10
  3. "A great but at times frustrating place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Editorial Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BBC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people Interesting products and contents At the top of its game in output and quality Some partner perks and discounts depending on base Interesting talks and training sessions

    Cons

    Lots of red tape and didn’t feel like a dynamic place to work Too many attachments / contracts making it hard to progress Hot desking set up could feel alienating Little support in office transfers etc

    Continue reading
    BBC2020-01-29
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BBC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, good facilities and good work life balance

    Cons

    too much red tape at times

    BBC2020-01-14
  5. "Fast Paced, Passionate and Purposeful Organisation with great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Digital in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BBC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, incredibly creative and high-quality output - high engergy. Can make your mark.

    Cons

    Highly internally political environment at senior levels, projects are slow to get started

    Continue reading
    BBC2020-01-13
  6. "Brilliant name but resources being cut"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Journalist in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at BBC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people; amazing to work at most trusted brand; get to do a dream job

    Cons

    Limited promotion; not so great pay; resources getting cut constantly so stress is high

    Continue reading
    BBC2020-01-27
  7. "The place to learn and innovate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BBC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    With eight years of corporate experience behind, this place is without a doubt - the best place I've worked for. Easy-going, result-oriented, open-minded and every day fun atmosphere make you want to get up in a morning and go to work. Trust. The ultimate culture of trust to each other. Attitude here is like "If we hired you - we trust you, go and get this thing done in the way YOU think it should be done and how fast it can be done". Some managers from big corporate boxes would scream and say that this would never work, but you know what ?! - it works. iPlayer, Sounds, News, Children in Need, Sports, Weather and limitless amount of other products that people love and use every single day. Not sure for how long I will stay here, but this place is an amazing place to learn and innovate, to meet great people and have time of your life. Thank you BBC for everything.

    Cons

    Salaries are below the market average, however BBC always purchase the best infrastructure for you and pays the best options when book you a business trip, even if you are not a manager

    BBC2019-11-20
  8. "Slow but steady"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - UI-UX Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BBC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people Meaningful work Good life/work balance

    Cons

    Slow (but steady) Risk averse Low pay

    BBC2019-11-03
  9. "Good people but progress is stifled"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Project Manager 

    I worked at BBC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great projects Lots of great people

    Cons

    Micro managing is rife Lots of people plodding along in the same role for years Not much opportunity for growth and progression People work in silos

    BBC2019-10-14
  10. "Great company but can be tough going"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at BBC part-time

    Pros

    Interesting work, some great people

    Cons

    Difficult to move around the organisation

    BBC2019-09-19
Found 58 reviews
</>Embed