BAE Systems USA Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

BAE Systems USA Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
BAE Systems USA CEO Jerry DeMuro
Jerry DeMuro
389 Ratings
Pros
  • "9/80 work schedule and ability to work from home 2 days/week(in 108 reviews)

  • "good benefits, discipline, process driven(in 100 reviews)

Cons
  • "upper management hires terrible workers and never fires the ones they should(in 63 reviews)

  • "Large company red tape, government mandated regulations(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Machinist in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems USA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay good benefits

    Cons

    Long hours away from family

    BAE Systems USA2019-10-15
  2. "BAE Systems Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer I in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic culture; a company that comprises of courteous, hard-working people. The majority of BAE Systems employees work well with one another.

    Cons

    Salary raises come in small increments. Do not know if promotions will be the same.

    BAE Systems USA2019-10-10
  3. "BAE System 360"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reliability Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems USA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Knowing my jiob, flex time, great people and product to work with

    Cons

    No raises, no pension, no bonuses, no room to move. Complete dead in place.

    Advice to Management

    Compensate employees financially. People are working hard but no sign of appricistion. Be like Google. The people are the company assests not the products. Retain them.

    BAE Systems USA2019-10-09
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CAD Drafter in Lexington Park, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Family friendly environment. Everyone is great to work with and work load is steady. Job Security.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    BAE Systems USA2019-10-08
  5. "Senior Principal Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Software Engineer in Hudson, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems USA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stable job. Smart people. Useful products. Lots of work. Acceptable benefits. They run a tight ship. No nonsense. They try to be nice to you.

    Cons

    Office environment is dreary. Cafeteria sucks. Salaries are ordinary. Benefits could be better.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be so chintzy on office parties. Cash bars at the QLMs at hotels are tacky. Sinks in the kitchenettes would be a distinct improvement.

    BAE Systems USA2019-10-04
  6. "Overall good experience, but they are rolling back benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Firmware Engineer in Nashua, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flex time to let me work when I want to. A 9/80 (or alternative) work schedule to provide 3 day weekends every other week. Good benefits. Great coworkers. Great furniture. Good hierarchy manager and lead structure to allow for help from multiple directions. Everyone is for the warfighter and not for BAE, which focuses us on the customer, not management. 1

    Cons

    Over the last 4 years BAE has slowly rolled back some great benefits. Weekly to Bi-weekly pay periods and stating there's no cost difference (what about payroll??). First 10 hours over 80 hours are free - we get no pay (4 years ago we did! ). They've removed the best Traditional health insurance program. If you are really good at your job, a golden goose, you'll constantly get pulled back to the same program which... could be great, but if you don't like that program then that will push you out of BAE.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Ensure your employees are happy where they are, and if they aren't then move them to somewhere they want to go, don't keep giving them raises or promotions to make them stay.

    BAE Systems USA2019-10-04
  7. "Good Salary but Losing Many Subject Matter Experts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary Technically rewarding work (Supporting the Warfighter)

    Cons

    Not enough knowledge transfer and limited training.

    BAE Systems USA2019-10-17
  8. "Nice environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Supply Chain Manager 

    I have been working at BAE Systems USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good benefits, discipline, process driven

    Cons

    protocol centric, not a lot of growth opportunity

    BAE Systems USA2019-09-27
  9. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer-II 

    I worked at BAE Systems USA full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, consistent work opps

    Cons

    Not always opportunities for growth

    BAE Systems USA2019-09-26
  10. "Good Work Life Balance But Uninspired Workforce"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst 

    I have been working at BAE Systems USA full-time

    Pros

    Good work to life balance

    Cons

    Workforce can be uninspired and/or resistant to change

    BAE Systems USA2019-09-24
Found 1852 reviews