B&Q Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

B&Q Reviews

Updated 20 July, 2018
638 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
B&Q CEO Christian Mazauric
Christian Mazauric
76 Ratings

638 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The staff discount of 20% is a generous amount which is also an added pro for working for B&Q" (in 54 reviews)

  • "Really good pay ( depending on the location of the store you get paid extra for busier stores)" (in 41 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not enough people know about the great variety of rewards and benefits that B&Q offer" (in 52 reviews)

  • "could do more to improve work / life balance" (in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Fast paced but fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great team mates
    Always someone to help you if you need it.
    Learning new skills
    Customer interaction
    Good training program to help you learn and settle into your role.

    Cons

    Stroppy customers who can talk nasty to you.
    Trying to remember where products are (there are so many) when a customer wants a specific product.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the staff on the shop floor. We often see things you miss.


  2. "Great place to work and develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at B&Q full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Opportunities to grow and develop.
    Good pay and respect for people.
    Recognition is part of the business DNA

    Cons

    Friction between Ops and Commercial removing the ability to be entrepreneurial in the branches. Setup Pack management which is frustrating.

    Advice to Management

    Allow the branches and the teams to operate in their local market - trust their decision around stock placement and ranging.

    B&Q Response

    19 Jul, 2018 – B&Q

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave us this review! We appreciate your comments and will take them on board.

  3. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deputy in Grantham, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Deputy in Grantham, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at B&Q full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Love it salary+ bonuses work life balance

    Cons

    Weekend work. But it’s retail

    Advice to Management

    Carry on as your are

    B&Q Response

    19 Jul, 2018 – B&Q

    Hi there, we're so glad to hear you're enjoying working with us! Hopefully more of the same going forward, if not better!


  4. "Nights Replenishment/Customer Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at B&Q part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Holiday allowance, staff discount (Screwfix), flexible working hours.

    Cons

    Workplace politics, overtime comes and goes at the drop of a hat (possibly just within my store), training is really difficult to come by (again, possibly just within my store).

    B&Q Response

    15 Jul, 2018 – B&Q

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We'll have your comments logged for internal review.


  5. "Showroom Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at B&Q full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    None with this company .

    B&Q Response

    12 Jul, 2018 – B&Q

    Glad to hear your enjoying your time with us, thanks for leaving this review!


  6. "Its Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at B&Q part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Decent training is provided, how to provide customer service, product knowledge, computer skills etc.
    Higher than minimum wage
    Good technology to help you do your job.

    Cons

    Bad payroll system, Wages are always paid wrong.
    Part time contracts only.
    Pulling back on staff benefits.
    Very strict policies during your first two years where you don't get an independent tribunal and it's easier to sack you.
    Frequently expects you to work without pay.

    B&Q Response

    10 Jul, 2018 – B&Q

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review. We'll look into your comments accordingly.


  7. "You can do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southampton, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southampton, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at B&Q full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I've been here a year and half and it's the most friendly corporate I've worked in. My job in head office is varied and rewarding, plus I have a great boss who gives me freedom and autonomy. B&Q is good at recognising the achievements of its people too. Coming here was definitely a good career and wellbeing move.

    Cons

    Pay is lower than where I worked before (but I'm much closer so it balances out).

    B&Q Response

    10 Jul, 2018 – B&Q

    Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your time with us, hopefully will be more of the same going forward!

  8. "B&Q"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southampton, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southampton, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at B&Q full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    B&Q as an employer is somewhere i would fully recommend. I worked in the store support office for nearly 4 years and in that time worked with some great people. The opportunity to drive your own career is apparent and whilst the expectation is it is self driven, there is opportunity for anyone who is willing to go above and beyond and work hard. I feel like everyday i had the ability to make a real difference and have been supported well throughout my time in the business.

    Cons

    B&Q's reward package is average based on the external market and i feel in certain areas of the business (particularly the head office) a review of salaries needs to happen in order to retain the great talent that is there.

    B&Q Response

    10 Jul, 2018 – B&Q

    Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave us this review! We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your time with us. In regards to your comments on our reward package and salaries, we'll have... More


  9. "Very depressing work environment. Looking for new job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at B&Q part-time

    Pros

    Good pay, plenty of overtime available if needed.

    Cons

    My hours are not flexible, leaving me with zero work life balance. Management seems to have one rule for some, another rule for others.
    The store is a total mess making various aspects of the job very difficult. Expectations are too high and no gratitude is shown for hard work.
    Morale at our store is at a rock bottom. Constant moaning and complaining from other members of staff makes the job very depressing.


  10. "Enjoyable job, look after their staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Showroom Sales in Macclesfield, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Showroom Sales in Macclesfield, England (UK)

    I have been working at B&Q part-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Lots of different departments to explore, good discount, great wage

    Cons

    Unsociable hours, not very easy to progress

    Advice to Management

    Help the people willing to progress!

    B&Q Response

    6 Jul, 2018 – B&Q

    Hi there, thanks so much for leaving us this review. We'll take your comments on board.


Showing 638 of 662 reviews
Reset Filters