Aviva Canada Employee Reviews about "markham"

Updated Feb 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
53%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Aviva Canada Chief Executive Officer Jason Storah
Jason Storah
2 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Tremendous disconnect between upper management and workers(in 9 reviews)

  • "Markham location makes commute from the West and downtown difficult(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "markham"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Highly recommended"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aviva Canada for less than a year

    Pros

    Really learned a lot!

    Cons

    Markham location is a little inconvenient

    Aviva Canada2020-02-27
  2. "Great culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chief Financial Officer in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aviva Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance, good benefits

    Cons

    Markham location makes commute from the West and downtown difficult

    Aviva Canada2019-09-13
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Still living in the past"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Propositions Manager in Markham, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Aviva Canada full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility for working at various locations including home. Modern location, free parking in Markham, Cafeteria, employee share plan Staff does care, however senior leadership cares more profit affecting customers and brokers.

    Cons

    Role/job descriptions not defined for all staff. many mangers are 'Bullies' and care more for their development and advancement than yours. Still on legacy systems with plans changing frequently. Collaborative environment however still structured in silos not supporting collaboration. Open office environment lacking character with very minimal personal space or privacy. background noise can be an issue. Vacation policy behind the industry Limited internal promotions

    Aviva Canada2019-08-21
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Underwriter"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriter in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aviva Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Location in Downtown Toronto. Unfortunately for the majority of the staff, location (Markham) is not great!

    Cons

    Inexperienced management Promotions based on relationship not on knowledge or merit Disorganized. Workload is not manageable The image of the company with the brokers is terrible Frequent change of direction

    Continue reading
    Aviva Canada2019-06-22
  5. "Enjoyable with a great communicative boss"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Developer in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aviva Canada for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice community Lots of good team building stuff Decent opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    Located in Markham Work can sometimes be monotonous

    Aviva Canada2019-05-27
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Bad culture, poor management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Markham, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aviva Canada full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice new office in Markham (designed to feel like a tech company)

    Cons

    I was hired under false pretences. I left a secure, albeit boring, job as I was sold on the work that I'd be doing at Aviva. When I got there I learned the manager was awful (rude, arrogant, belittling) and the work that was told I'd be doing didn't exist. I was left with basic administrative tasks that a new grad could easily handle (I have 10 years+ experience in finance). Probably not a bad place to start working at out of university if you don't have a reference point for terrible. But I would strongly advise anyone to think again before going to Aviva

    Continue reading
    Aviva Canada2019-05-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic Work/Life Balance - Low Pay in Comparison to Industry Average"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Markham, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aviva Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Work from home options-Corporate gym membership-Ability to purchase up to 5 additional vacation days-ability to contribute to RRSP's directly from pay-ability to purchase company shares-Most managers encourage a healthy work/life balance-Free parking at Markham office-Subsidized meals in cafeteria-open concept/modern head office-diversity and inclusion initiatives in place

    Cons

    Entry level employees are paid less than industry averages-very uk centric company-promotions are given to people in USA/UK/Europe before canadian employees-lack of transparency when decisions are made that directly affect you-they aim to "kill complexity" but the company has a lot of complexities in place-bonuses are based on what managers think you deserve

    Continue reading
    Aviva Canada2018-05-02
  8. "Great company coping with a lot of challenges"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aviva Canada full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Strong leadership understands the Canadian insurance business and has built strong relationships with the insurance brokers. - Good risk management. - Access to tremendous amounts of global capital and expertise through Aviva group. - Nice and well meaning coworkers. - Compensation is high compared to industry.

    Cons

    - Aviva is dealing with a lot of change in its operations; staff turnover is high after the move to Markham and the RBC acquisition. The broker model Aviva relies on is not going to last forever and they are making moves to modernize their systems and enable access to customers directly, but it is a slow and difficult process. - Years of underinvestment in management information systems is starting to make it challenging to produce timely analytics and keep up with competitors from a strategic perspective. - UK management has somewhat excessive governance in place in the risk and finance areas. - The culture is somewhat passive at times.

    Continue reading
    Aviva Canada2018-04-28
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Not recommended, descent ahead"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guidewire Specialist in Markham, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Aviva Canada full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Short drive to the office New office Subsidized food in Markham

    Cons

    Projects are approved and not approved within days, over complicated Guidewire implementation, IT leadership changes very often. The business leaders, commercial in particular, keep saying everything is 'okay' but he does not seem to know how to turn things around. 2017 bonus was tiny because of poor results, it almost seems they waited until the year-end to figure it was going to be a bad year.

    Continue reading
    Aviva Canada2018-03-23
  10. "Work Environment"

    5.0
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aviva Canada

    Pros

    Head office is brand new and modern in Markham. Very well designed office that fosters collaboration with different kind of rooms for meeting or even working alone in the "Quiet Room".

    Cons

    Nothing much to say in this.

    Aviva Canada2018-02-05
Found 13 reviews