Asurion Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Asurion Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Asurion CEO Tony Detter
Tony Detter
8 Ratings
  1. "Best employee culture to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Asurion full-time

    Pros

    Very good company to learn and grow Awesome people with helping nature Open culture unlimited PTO is perk

    Cons

    Everything is good as of now

    Asurion2019-08-06
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Don't (Never) Join Asurion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Asurion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Work Life balance - Politics

    Cons

    - Be ready for major Layoffs. Recently they shut down San mateo office and asked everyone to move Nashville branch else leave the company. Earlier they did layoffs in various locations - Even though they market as a tech company, it's not. Leadership doesn't have solid basis of tech. They think from operations stand point - No clear product vision - Below average Salary

    Asurion2019-07-26

    Asurion Response

    July 29, 2019Talent Relationship Marketing Manager

    Thank you for reaching out. We want to enable moments of sharing, brainstorming and partnering to happen spontaneously, therefore we recently announced some positions will be relocating. While we don’t take these decisions lightly, consolidating teams in a common location will allow ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Software engineer Soluto Product Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Asurion for more than a year

    Pros

    Work on new technology stack, work without deadlines on interesting problems, own more of the problem space and help define direction. Culture of the teams are extremely helpful and willing to show Junior engineers the ropes.

    Cons

    Swap teams constantly. I have been on 8 teams within one year. Teams constantly shift priorities, teams are dropped or redirected to new directions, leadership allows each team to make up direction and strategy. Seems there's no overarching strategy for the Soluto technical teams.

    Advice to Management

    Hire competent and experienced leadership for the technical team. Culture cannot compensate for bad planning and constant shifts of priorities. The lack of direction is abundant and a constant water cooler topic.

    Asurion2019-06-19

    Asurion Response

    July 22, 2019Talent Relationship Marketing Manager

    Thank you for reaching out. At Asurion, we act like owners and take accountability to drive sustained results. We’re sorry to hear about your experience and have alerted our leadership to your feedback.

  4. Helpful (5)

    "Nashville Principle Software Engineer/Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Asurion full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities to introduce new technologies to the company Lots of training opportunities and I can attend at least one major conference per year which has been very beneficial Opportunities to code in multiple languages Challenging business problems to solve which often need solutions leveraging newer industry technologies Flexible work schedule Talented coworkers Work is in Nashville which is big pro...

    Show More

    Cons

    Promotion frequency for engineering vs management tracks seems far too slanted towards the management side Merit pay increases seem to be below industry average Asurion is a very fast paced environment at times which is not for everyone, and can be difficult to get a good work/life balance. However a good balance is achievable and carries a lot of weight as to why I’ve stayed with the company over the years. That balance...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improve merit pay increases. Bonuses are generally very good, but merit pay has been has been questionable over my time with the company. When management changes for a developer or engineer then any progress towards a promotion resets which can result in a bit of a recurring cycle. I’ve seen this scenario occur with a good number of coworkers, and with merit pay increases not having a lot of momentum. I’ve seen employees...

    Show More
    Asurion2019-03-31
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, great benefits, less than stellar pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer III in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Asurion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The unlimited PTO policy is actually unlimited, and all the people who work here are very friendly

    Cons

    The pay is a little bit less than standard for the Bay Area, so expect to not have a great quality of life living anywhere in the bay.

    Advice to Management

    I often hear that its hard to attract talent to Asurion here in San Mateo. If the pay was more competitive with other companies in the area, I bet that would help alleviate that

    Asurion2019-03-17
  6. "Potentially great - depends on team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Asurion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Competitive compensation Very good healthcare Unlimited PTO is really great so far Lots of great people. I love my team, and I'm proud of the work we do.

    Cons

    Very corporate. Environment appears to be political at times. Huge disparity in technological maturity across teams. You could be on a project using up-to-date frameworks employing best practices with automated infrastructure. Or it could be none of those things.

    Asurion2019-01-31
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Recruiting and Interview Process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II in Nashville, TN
    Recommends

    I have been working at Asurion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I just got hired so all I can say at this point is that the recruiting and interview process as well as onboarding have been great. Everyone is super nice and are excellent communicators.

    Cons

    No downsides yet. Things have been great.

    Asurion2019-01-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to start for new developers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II in Sterling, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Asurion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, and great technology stack to work with.

    Cons

    Less base salary pay.

    Asurion2018-12-18
  9. "The only company I've worked for who puts the employee first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Asurion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Compensation, Leave, Recognition, Team

    Cons

    The very occasional lapse in communication

    Advice to Management

    Continue doing what you're doing but don't overcommit yourself. Listen to leadership because they are fundamentally doing exactly what a company should: leading by example and ensuring their employees are treated fairly, with respect while recognizing effort in both compensation and advancement.

    Asurion2018-11-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good company going towards great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Asurion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance, good opportunities , flexible work environment, friendly and relaxed atmosphere. It feels great to come in everyday and work with colleagues who are helpful and understanding towards our organizations goals. Management has been putting efforts improving employee experience in last couple of years and it does funnel down to us.

    Cons

    Some teams are more forward thinking than other, not every team is organized and standardized well. Work priorities of some teams are not so much fun/fancy and it could be not satisfying on what you are working on, it would be your responsibility to make things right for you. Project Management and Communication in projects that include cross functional teams situations gets messed up sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    Standardize : 1. college recruiting 2. employee hiring and on boarding process. 3. Mentorship process at organization at all career levels

    Asurion2018-10-31
Found 40 reviews