AspenTech Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

AspenTech Reviews

Updated Feb 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
59%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
AspenTech President and Chief Executive Officer Antonio Pietri
Antonio Pietri
121 Ratings
Pros
  • "Stable organization, good benefits(in 19 reviews)

  • "Good Environment, good people to help and consult you(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Also work from home is not an official company policy (though most managers are okay with it), so there aren't great resources in place to accommodate(in 19 reviews)

  • "Upper management does not care much about employees: anyone can be easily replaced by somebody else(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I Recomend this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Account Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AspenTech full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Mid Level Management know how to support their teams Flexibility in the schedule

    Cons

    Lack of flexibility on the sales process

    Continue reading
    AspenTech2016-05-22
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Too Much Office Politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AspenTech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some great co-workers that are very knowledgeable

    Cons

    More concern by 70's style upper management on protecting their little empires than what is best for the company. They do not communicate with or take full advantage of most of their senior technical staff.

    AspenTech2019-12-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Very difficult company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AspenTech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You somewhat get a good work-life balance as you are not having to put many "after hours" in to your work. The colleagues are great as well. You get a lot of PTO, but they complain when you take it. My advice is to just use your PTO because either way, management will not be happy.

    Cons

    There are way to many processes that make the sales cycle extremely slow and inefficient. You spend more time on internal tasks and non-revenue generating processes than you do selling. Everything you do is tracked and micro managed, and the KPI's are unrealistic along with all of the other mundane tasks that we have to do. New processes are added in every time one small thing happens so they can slap your hand when something goes wrong as that is their solution to anything. That's what happens with you work for a company run by engineers, not business minded people. There were very few promotions through my time there and no internal growth path for employees. People have to leave the company for a promotion. I saw 2 promotions on my team in 3 years. AspenTech is not customer focused and is a very difficult environment to sell in. It is a good resume builder though, as the industry recognizes how difficult it is to work for AspenTech. It is an old company that is stuck in its old ways.

    Continue reading
    AspenTech2020-02-10
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good Stable Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Server License in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AspenTech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Flexible Hours, Fun Culture

    Cons

    Too many executive changes each year

    AspenTech2020-01-15
  5. "Hadoop developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hadoop Developer in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AspenTech full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment Could have better

    Cons

    Not better management Need to maintain better

    AspenTech2020-01-11
  6. "Worst experience of my life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AspenTech full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's over and I now work for a much better organisation.

    Cons

    Potentially the worst manager I have ever come across in my 15 years of experience. This manager has no clue of commercial management, nor technical sales, least of all people skills. It is incredible that people like this can maintain employment in the real world.

    Continue reading
    AspenTech2020-02-13
  7. "Okay company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AspenTech full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stable organization, good benefits

    Cons

    Struggling with shift from old to new culture

    AspenTech2020-01-10
  8. "A great place for learning but it could learn some lessons from employee feedback"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AspenTech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    AspenTech is a company that was created out of a research project at MIT, and though it has changed and grown from their initial times, there are still some remnants from the beginnings. If you are into learning, you can learn whatever you feel like doing. AspenTech gives you a Lynda/Linkedin learning account. If you want to, there is room for changing your career internally, which speaks very well from the company; however, you have to find your path yourself. There are some initiatives within the company but they are still taking off. For new grads, it's a great place for getting your feet wet and learning with knowledgeable people who have been in the business for some time. The thing I enjoyed the most at AspenTech was the work environment. The office was so diverse and multicultural, making the environment so enjoyable. It even feels like a little family. There are lots of opportunities to travel overseas and also locally, perhaps more than what the employee would expect!

    Cons

    There are 2 main disadvantages: Management and compensation. Management needs a serious update. Direct management was good and supportive; however, they could only do so much considering top management still think we work in 1980. There are micromanagement and culture of tiny trust towards the employee for experimenting or sharing ideas for improving processes. There is little to none acknowledgement towards the employee hard work. Management will only raise their eyebrows when something was executed poorly, not when the employee exceeded expectations. Now, speaking about salaries, it's no secret that the company does not compensate enough. The company will try to offer the least possible figure to candidates. Salary is adjusted after an annual review of the goals and the results delivered during the year. Like in any other appraisal review, the employee's performance is rated against the expected results. Finally, this rate is "translated" to a 2 or 3% pay rise that does not even compensate for the inflation rate.

    Continue reading
    AspenTech2020-01-02
  9. "Technical Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AspenTech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interested and learn a lot about different process, great work environment

    Cons

    Bad increase of salary after promotion

    AspenTech2019-12-10
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Consultant in Reading, England
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AspenTech full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    Requires improvement on career paths

    AspenTech2019-12-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 331 reviews