Arbor Memorial Reviews

Updated May 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
57%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Arbor Memorial Chairman  David Scanlan
David Scanlan
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company that cares about its employees(in 7 reviews)

  • "I'm so thankful that I have the opportunity to help families with their cemetery and now funeral pre-planning(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Cemetery Sales side is all numbers driven(in 7 reviews)

  • "Branch cannot retain sales staff(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Administrator in Ajax, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arbor Memorial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management, flexibility and culture

    Cons

    Pay structure isn’t clear, some favouritism

    Arbor Memorial2019-06-13

    Arbor Memorial Response

    October 22, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased that your time at Arbor has been positive. We look forward to working together to ensure it remains a rewarding experience.

  2. "A great place to work, 40 years in this service profession, and counting!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Valley View, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arbor Memorial full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This is a rare, possibly unique combination of knowing you're helping people with something we all face someday, and at the same, if you work had, there's great earnings potential. The Company is stable but not stagnant. After 40 years in this profession, I still feel great about what I do and the people with whom I work. Personal success and fulfillment may be found working at one location or, for those who want it, by advancing to management roles, possibly at other locations as well.

    Cons

    Variable hours are an asset, but not for everyone. Self discipline is essential.

    Continue reading
    Arbor Memorial2020-03-06
  3. "employee for 4years."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Funeral Director 

    I worked at Arbor Memorial full-time

    Pros

    opportunity to work/transfer across canada. great benefits.

    Cons

    poor upper management. lacks consistency.

    Arbor Memorial2020-05-19
  4. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Junior Draftsperson in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Arbor Memorial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly Staff, pretty fast pace

    Cons

    No cons to think of

    Arbor Memorial2020-03-24
  5. "Old School Management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Funeral Director Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Arbor Memorial full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Professional Funeral Directors, dedicated to helping grieving families

    Cons

    Old School Management (top down, patriarchal, and blinkered)

    Continue reading
    Arbor Memorial2020-03-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "arbor memorial groundskeeping"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Property Maintenance Person in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arbor Memorial part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good hours and flexibility, good management, able to accomodate to weather conditions, friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    can be a little overwhelming at times, sometimes tough to deal with customers

    Arbor Memorial2020-02-25
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Wouldnt recommend"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arbor Memorial full-time

    Pros

    Has benefits & pension plan. Can make a good living if you know how to sell.

    Cons

    Sales staff are expected to do an enormous amt of administrative work. Hours are not flexible as advertised. Lots of micro management & favoritism. Taught to sell sell sell and push the products quickly. Overtime is not permitted on timesheets unless approved but wont be, however you are expected to work whatever it takes to make your numbers. Arbor doesnt care about your well being only the number you are producing. Upper mgmt protects its managers and if you have an issue you will be micro managed out the door. Seen too many staff members cry in the workplace.

    Continue reading
    Arbor Memorial2020-02-03

    Arbor Memorial Response

    February 7, 2020HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We are committed to providing a respectful workplace and rewarding employee experience. Please contact me directly at lkobayashi@arbormemorial.com so we can have a further discussion about your concerns.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Reality"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Preplanning 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Arbor Memorial full-time

    Pros

    Great pay if you work hard.

    Cons

    Head office needs CPR and humility

    Continue reading
    Arbor Memorial2019-11-28

    Arbor Memorial Response

    February 7, 2020HR Manager

    We appreciate your time to leave a review. At Arbor, we take all feedback seriously and I encourage you to contact me directly at lkobayashi@arbormemorial.com so we can discuss your concerns.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Funeral Director in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arbor Memorial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company, treats us employees more than well. Full benefit package and lots of flexibility as a pre planner .

    Cons

    None. But it is important to understand that it is not easy to make it work. The deal you are selling to families is very sensitive for some.

    Arbor Memorial2019-10-04

    Arbor Memorial Response

    October 22, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for your positive feedback. We are committed to providing a rewarding work environment for all employees, and are happy to know that this is your experience.

  10. Helpful (2)

    "I was paid to rip off grieving families"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pre-Planning Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Arbor Memorial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    free lunches, thats about it.

    Cons

    ripping off grieving families and vulnerable elderly

    Continue reading
    Arbor Memorial2019-07-17

    Arbor Memorial Response

    July 18, 2019HR Manager

    At Arbor, we take all feedback seriously and I encourage you to contact me directly at lkobayashi@arbormemorial.com so we can discuss your concerns.

Found 105 reviews