Aquilent Reviews

Updated Jun 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
52%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Aquilent President and CEO David Fout
David Fout
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work/life balance depending on your project(in 11 reviews)

  • "Great perks (flex schedules, great benefits, fitness programs, nice caf(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management is quick to fire people(in 9 reviews)

  • "The experience being at HQs in Laurel is different than on a customer site(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Consultant 

    I worked at Aquilent full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    No cons at all for this company.

    Aquilent2019-06-05
  2. "Great company; limited opportunity for advancement"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aquilent full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits. Treat employees very well. Lots of work/balance

    Cons

    Opportunities for advancement can be tied to who you are pals with.

    Aquilent2018-05-09
  3. "Supportive culture, pay suspect"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Aquilent full-time

    Pros

    great supportive culture, fun-loving, some good people/team

    Cons

    pay is not transparent and a discrepancy in pay amongst the team. Difficult to negotiate

    Aquilent2018-03-07
  4. "Consultant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aquilent full-time

    Pros

    Small company, you are not a number

    Cons

    Dominated by the upper management

    Aquilent2018-01-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Once was good"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Aquilent full-time

    Pros

    small company feel, easy access to management

    Cons

    Booz just bought us, now we are the large consulting company that we were proud not to be.

    Aquilent2017-03-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A good opportunity with the right PM"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Laurel, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aquilent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is a great culture, with lots of fun activities. Your fellow colleagues can become close, and support each other. They have communities by functional area (e.g., Business Analysis area, t=Testing community, etc.). HR was supportive when I was first there. The projects were interesting. Benefits were great for such a small company (Approx. 300 employees). Good place to learn about web services and solutions.

    Cons

    If your manager didn't like you, they would do things behind your back to get you out of their project. If there was no other project, you were out of a job. Training was minimal. HR was always on the side of management, and never considered the employee staff as an asset. If you tried to move to another project within the company, you would need to re-prove yourself like a new employee.

    Continue reading
    Aquilent2017-02-17
  7. "Senior leadership (or lack thereof) is the biggest issue."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Laurel, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aquilent for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay, good work-life balance, good benefits, opportunities to work with smart people, could be a good stepping stone for advancing your career.

    Cons

    Old school business model, self-centered CTO with absolutely zero leadership skills, experience could be a hit-or-miss depending on the project you're assigned to.

    Continue reading
    Aquilent2016-11-04
  8. "Great Company, Close to home"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Content Specialist in Laurel, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aquilent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Aquilent was close to home, also right off the beltway in a low traffic area. Its a good sized company, it's easy to speak to higher ups and HR since we were all in the same building. They were working on employee events. Good relationships were made with this company. Compensation was good and the yearly raises were average. Opportunities to work from home.

    Cons

    I did not have any opportunity to shadow or work with other groups while I was there. End of year bonuses were usually gift cards to Amazon.com, not cash.

    Continue reading
    Aquilent2016-10-19
  9. "Great, Cultured Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Sales Coordinator in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Aquilent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good at promoting and hiring from within when suitable. Excellent support given to staff as well as flexible hours and regular social nights out

    Cons

    Some double standards between divisions and departments regarding company rules. Wage increases are not often

    Continue reading
    Aquilent2016-10-20
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Run away"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aquilent

    Pros

    People are great though many of the best leave quickly. Compensation is reasonable. Benefits are good, especially vacation though most people don't have time to use it.

    Cons

    The CIO is a misogynist. Worst case of sexism I have ever witnessed. The Executive team makes decisions based on egos to the detriment of the company. Comoany is setup as a body shop, there is no employee development. Employees are assigned to projects whether they are qualified or not. If no project is immediately available they are layed off. Attrition is terrible. Kool-Aid is plentiful.

    Continue reading
    Aquilent2016-10-01
Found 75 reviews