Aquatic Informatics Reviews

Updated Jul 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 of over 27 reviews

4.2
79%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Aquatic Informatics President/CEO Edward Quilty (no image)
Edward Quilty
17 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Super passionate and supportive workplace

    Jul 23, 2021 - Marketing 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work contrubtes to a sustainable future with water Ever-changing and challenging environment as part of a hyper-growth sector People across the organization support and acknowledge hard work Leadership is passionate, strategic, and have deep understanding of the market Internal opportunities for career changes

    Cons

    Lots to learn about the industry Unique product niche to understand

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee

    generally it is a good company to work for 3-5 years

    Dec 26, 2020 - Quality Assurance Analyst in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    wonderful location, views, and office, nice people

    Cons

    salary level is not very good

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    The company is good if you don't have high aspirations

    Jan 7, 2020 - Software Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The office environment is good, and nice view. There are monthly free lunch and company meeting about the company status. Friday happy hours you can drink beer. The company allows developers to try a variety of technologies if you like. Life balance is great, you can also work from home from time to time. The company is actively looking for growth via the acquisition of other small companies in related areas.

    Cons

    The business has many other competitors, and business growth is slow not like an internet company. There are no career growth opportunities here, you just work. This is a quite political environment, you need to belong to a certain group, and there are some small exclusive groups that you are not one of them. There are some people staying there for 8, 10 years, which is good in job security point of view. However, some people are still staying in junior to intermediate level and trying to lead you. This also means there are not many exciting opportunities (room) left for newcomers. Some of them are very bossy and arrogant. Sometimes their design or code is ridiculous complicated for no reason of just for cool, and some people like to write very fragile, difficult to maintain or understand code, but when you challenge the necessities, you got to listen his 10+ minutes of explanation here and there, then you get lost....

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great atmosphere, motivating environment

    Sep 3, 2019 - Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked at Aquatic full-time for 5 years. I have worked with really great developers in my time there and learned a lot from them. I became a much better developer thanks to them. The work atmosphere is really good. I had really great colleagues who supported each other. People were always respectful of others opinions and open to change their own opinions when faced with good arguments. There were friday afternoon drinks, lunch-time card games and lot's of foosball matches. The management is very open about all the numbers. Employees have insight into the financials and the different leads that are being explored. (Although, personally I never paid much attention) Releases and deadlines are very well managed. In my teams there were almost never times where people had to work overtime to wrap up a release (I think this was different for other teams). I had a pretty good work-life-balance there. I prioritized being home with my kids in the evening and always left at 4pm and that was never a problem. It's easy to identify with the company mission which is to make environmental data more accessible and more useful. Monthly meetings with free lunch.

    Cons

    They started some kind of initiative with KPIs that are tracked and shown on screens around the company. I understand the idea behind it, but it always seemed totally unrelated and a distraction to my work as a developer.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company, vision, management, career advancement, training.

    Aug 26, 2020 - Technical Support in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of perks and supportive staff. Questions are always welcome. Trust in their staff.

    Cons

    Not too many. It's a great place to be.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good company and great people!

    Sep 30, 2019 - Implementation Specialist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Because of life's unfortunate event, I only had the chance to worked there for a short while. However, I can still share with you what I felt throughout that short period of time. - Great office with amazing 360 views of the city, great kitchen / dining area, free snacks / coffee etc... - Management listen and do genuinely care about their employees. - Products that have positive impact in our world - Very open to feedback / suggestions - Great people - Great benefits (Good salary/vacation,gym pass...)

    Cons

    The products are legacy and could definitely use some overhaul TLC. However this is known to them, and they do have some big projects on their roadmap. They have big projects ongoing in marketing, sales and products design, which should be exciting time ahead for the company and the employees.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Inspiring company doing good in this world. Poor work life balance.

    Aug 28, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Monthly company meetings and weekly highlights - Happy hour - Social Committee events - Meaningful company purpose - Downtown office in Vancouver - Global operations

    Cons

    Some employees don't have healthy work-life-balance atm. Workloads have soared due to aggressive growth and acquisition plans. They are slow to add team resources. People are expected to take on additional responsibilities and products to manage at any given time. They have a tv displaying quarterly KPI's with people's names and their photos next to each one. It's offputting to constantly be reminded about the aggressive KPI's. There's too much focus on making a profit for shareholders, but no incentives offered for those going above and beyond. Managers turn a blind eye and don't want to figure out why people end up feeling unmotivated or burnt out.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Lots of potential

    Aug 21, 2019 - Anonymous 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The culture can be a lot of fun at Aquatic Informatics! There are lots of fun organized activities, monthly company lunches, and weekly happy hours. Most of the people there are also quite friendly! It’s also great knowing that you’re making a difference in a key global issue.

    Cons

    I felt a definite lack of importance was placed on certain teams within the company, making results difficult to achieve and employees ending up feeling frustrated and burnt out. There’s a lot of focus on continuing to grow by acquisition but without the internal systems and staff to support that, leading to some very difficult situations for certain teams.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company with wonderful colleagues

    May 19, 2019 - Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great senior software developers to learn and get coaching from.

    Cons

    Relatively small company, which can make career progression more challenging.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Passionate company with great work/life balance

    Sep 16, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I’ve been with Aquatic Informatics for over 2 years now and it truly has been, and continues to be a great company to work for. I love working for a company that has a positive impact in our world. In line with that they are B Corp certified, which shows the want for them to keep improving their initiatives in sustainability in as many ways possible, and striving to be a best employer and best for the world. This keeps them on their toes. We have monthly meetings which provide us with all department updates showing the company’s transparency. I like the balance in culture there is here. While Aquatic Informatics promotes fun and team building activities like Friday afternoon drinks, work lunches, yoga classes, department go-carting etc., there is no sense of obligation to attend these events. They really respect work/life balance.

    Cons

    The office space is beautiful and definitely done right! It is open concept which I love as I think it promotes a real sense of togetherness and collaboration, however if you’re the type to like a more closed office environment, this space might not be for you. That said, there are “think rooms” for anyone who needs a bit of quiet time every now and then.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 22 Reviews

Popular Careers with Aquatic Informatics Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Aquatic Informatics? Share Your Experiences

Aquatic Informatics logo
or