Appway Reviews

Updated Apr 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
55%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Appway CEO, Founder Hanspeter Wolf (no image)
Hanspeter Wolf
30 Ratings
  1. "Great ride with occasional bumps"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fats growing, many opportunities, you can take influence, hard workork usually rewarded, international attitude and cross-culturally open minded people.

    Cons

    Complexity of growth or easy to absorb, recently good people left because of lack of keeping up promises and missing team spirit.

    Continue reading
    Appway2017-11-04
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Growth"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appway full-time

    Pros

    Culture, Style, Diversity, Innovation, Software Platform, La Cimbali Coffee Machine, The company parties

    Cons

    Diversity, Not everything is well organised

    Appway2017-10-18
  3. Helpful (19)

    "On paper a good company, in reality you will deeply regret it"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chiasso
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Work-life balance (basically you can work half of the time or with half of your brain and nobody will notice/complain if you are in Chiasso). By the way, is this a real pro ?

    Cons

    - Extremely weak leadership (CTO is basically absent). This has an impact on every level and there is no technical roadmap at all. - Technological stack is old and tech debt is huge (no concrete plan to tackle it) - Automated testing and focus on quality is completely out of their mentality. Manual testing (also for developers) is still an everyday activity. - A lot of unexperienced people (first working experience) in particular product managers and teach leaders. - Very conservative mindset (innovation is a mirage)

    Continue reading
    Appway2017-10-16
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Growth is a nice challenge to face"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appway full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I didn't know Appway before being chased. I discovered a company that gathers many criteria I had in mind. - qualified and valuable people - very good Management team - dedicated, supporting and coaching mode always on - good product - excellent reputation - young international spirit - company striving for improvement - self-motivated employees (no need for Management pressure) It is such a pleasure to say that our major problem is growth! We have the problem that every company dreams of having...

    Cons

    Wages are not very high. Management is a bit too optimistic on the Business Model and forecasts. Recruitment is sometimes a bit fuzzy, candidates don't always know for what position they are applying for. People away from the headquarter can feel out of the game (collaboration is variable from one team to another). Growth make teams and people more conservative. It generates also some resource issues.

    Continue reading
    Appway2017-04-04
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Just what I was looking for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Zürich
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appway full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - international team - friendly working atmosphere - respectful & collegial workplace - achievements do not go unnoticed - flat hierarchy When I was looking for a new job, I had quite a few criteria in mind and I never expected all of them to met. Appway offered everything I was looking for and more! I really enjoy working here and feel very lucky to be working with great people in a super creative company.

    Cons

    - growth is fast so space can be limited

    Appway2017-02-24
  6. Helpful (11)

    "At our limits for efficiency"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appway full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extremely challenging engagements. A lot of change and new experiences. Very young environment.

    Cons

    A layer of unproductive middle managers is starting to be visible. Salaries are low than market.

    Continue reading
    Appway2016-09-04
  7. Helpful (2)

    "The Appway"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Zürich
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appway

    Pros

    - Flexible Work times - Own choice of OS - Open workspace - Excellent coffee! - Diverse team - Drive projects from start to finish - Speak your mind - Cool events

    Cons

    We need more space and rooms with how this rapid growth

    Continue reading
    Appway2016-06-07
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Interesting stepping stone, don't stay too long"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Zürich
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Appway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good career opportunities if you take advantage of the chaos and take charge of your own career development. Opportunities to travel, work abroad or take responsibility in new positions as the company grows. Many excellent colleagues, both on a technical and on a personal level.

    Cons

    Compensation is closer to a startup than an international medium-sized business. Raises are small and hard to get, even when you take on over more demanding roles, since that often happens informally (so make sure you cut a good deal when signing). Little opportunities for further training that can be useful beyond Appway (only product-related trainings). The consolidation of internal processes is lagging behind company growth. This has led to tensions between product development and consulting services.

    Continue reading
    Appway2015-06-29

    Appway Response

    October 12, 2015HR Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. As we grow, pains are normal and we have identified that HR is one such necessary change - Since July of 2015 we have increased our HR team and provided regional support to alleviate this issue. We will continue to try to improve step by step!

  9. Helpful (5)

    "Interesting company, relaxed atmosphere. Difficult personal growth"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Appway full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working arrangement. Gives you the possibility to travel and experience working on projects with big companies. Nice working environment with sites in Switzerland, US, and Singapore.

    Cons

    You develop using a proprietary language, that outside of the company will not be of enormous value to you. You don't receive training on the technologies underlying the platform and so are limited in your knowledge growth.

    Continue reading
    Appway2014-12-10

    Appway Response

    January 6, 2015HR Manager

    Thank you for your thoughtful comment! We wish you all the best in your future endeavor and will make sure your advice is passed onto management - conferences sounds like a great idea to promote team member training/networking!

  10. Helpful (13)

    "Super Dynamic Organization"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager/Human Resources in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As someone that has worked for the New York office since the beginning, I can not say enough great things about this organization. From the culture down to the staff (globally), Appway is a class act. Never have I seen such passion, camaraderie and team work. It is a pleasure to be surrounded by such an amazing team!

    Cons

    Since we are still so new in New York, our notoriety is not quite out there, yet. BUT we are getting there.

    Appway2014-07-07

    Appway Response

    July 23, 2014HR Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review - we are happy to see that the feeling of camaraderie is spread globally and couldn't be happier to have you onboard!

Found 38 reviews