Appway Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Appway Reviews

Updated Mar 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Appway CEO Hanspeter Wolf (no image)
Hanspeter Wolf
27 Ratings
  1. Helpful (13)

    "Like watching the Titanic go down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Appway full-time

    Pros

    Friendly team. Good group of folks, for the most part.

    Cons

    Horrible management. No one knows what they are doing or what is going on, right down to the CEO. Very little to no communication. No one really cares to know what your thoughts or concerns are.

    Advice to Management

    Take more (some) stock in your employees. They should know that they matter in some capacity.

    Appway2018-06-04

    Appway Response

    June 7, 2018Head of People and Places

    Hello, Sharing by default is at the core of our company. Regular all-employee meetings, department meetings as well as product and project updates ensure a global sharing of successes and challenges of Appway. A good number of the most recent initiatives and changes to the organization ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Not recommended at this time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Appway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Dynamic, minimal politics, good work-life balance, business is doing well CEO is nice and approachable, and coworkers are young and friendly Expert in a niche market

    Cons

    Limited growth & learning, middle-management mostly are not qualified and don’t know what they are doing. Very Zurich-centric and if you are not Swiss German, it might be difficult to get your messages through. Lack of professional senior managers who knows how to operate and run a company that’s no longer a startup, which has outgrown the founder/CEO. Product is no evolving nearly as fast as... necessary, which could be due to the fact that the CEO/founder is the only person in charge / have the say about the product strategy. Pay is average but there is a cap (eg 1-month) on bonus, minimal other benefits and no profit-sharing whatsoever

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire some professional, qualified senior managers such as a COO that has experience running a company this size or larger, a product manager who actually knows technology and banking, and a CFO who actually knows accounting

    Appway2018-03-22
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Remarkably talented pool of peoples"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Appway full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Among the many positive things I have experienced at Appway the working environment is definitively the one that I appreciate the most. The founders' passion for building a company where it is fun and stimulating to work, is entirely reflected in Appway. Upon joining Appway, I was amazed how many smart and talented colleagues I was working with. In the last decade, the company was able to gather a genuine dream... team.

    Show More

    Cons

    Appway is a relatively young company still undergoing the process of defining the ideal organizational structure. This implies frequent organisational changes. Personally, I like this aspect, since every turn brings new opportunities to learn and grow with the company. However, I understand it can also be destabilizing for many.

    Advice to Management

    I would have loved to see a more tangible and concrete company culture. Keeping a united team that shares the same values seems to me a significant challenge to solve in the near future.

    Appway2018-01-17
  4. Helpful (19)

    "In Zurich you can find much better places......"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appway full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance. Nice people

    Cons

    Domain is boooooooooooooring. Looks like a ship without captain (especially technology wise). Not all the top star reviews you read here actually represent reality: be suspicious about the ones that just mention the nice office, the coffee machine or the "growth". These are just honey traps.

    Appway2018-02-10

    Appway Response

    February 15, 2018Head of People and Places

    Dear Appbird, thank you for providing your feedback. We’re happy to hear you’ve enjoyed the work-life balance and the people, two organizational components we’re very passionate about. We do recognize that as we scale globally and create more opportunities, there will be bumps along ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (18)

    "Extremely horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appway full-time

    Pros

    Nothing as of now except the CEO

    Cons

    - Extremely poor wages even with good turnover - All of good senior management recently quit after being treated badly - Constantly changing management - New management trying to treat the employees as "school students" - Trying to force unnecessary policies on the employees - Current new management in NY is forcing their decision on employees

    Advice to Management

    - Stop "controlling" employees by forcing your decisions on them - They have been working way before you joined the team so respect their opinion - No need to come to the office "every single day" if we are doing what's required. - Don't take the flexibility from us to work from home

    Appway2017-12-06

    Appway Response

    December 19, 2017Head of People and Places

    Dear Appbird, Thank you for your feedback and for raising your concerns. We would like to hear them from you directly so, please don’t hesitate to approach People Operations or the Head of your Department. At times we can all feel like we're not heard, and although we try to keep ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (14)

    "Horrible place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Appway full-time

    Pros

    good life/work balance, that's it, nothing else.

    Cons

    Don't believe the positive reviews, Extremely high turnover, can't keep employees, out of touch management. Company having financial difficulties, may close the NY office.

    Appway2017-12-06

    Appway Response

    February 13, 2018Head of People and Places

    Hello, We are sorry to hear you had a negative experience while working with us. However, contrary to your review, we’ve recently completely renovated our entire New York City office and continue to invest in the team by adding new openings. We strongly believe in providing our employees ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (17)

    "Nice top leadership, horrible disconnect between between middle management and workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Chiasso
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Appway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * CEO (Hanspeter), CTO (Oliver) , and new Heads of Services (Claudia) are nice people * The beginning will be nice as most people will be open minded and willing to help you

    Cons

    * After the initial honeymoon period, you realize everyone only cares about their specific project * Very little vertical communication; leadership is given the middle management viewpoint and you never get an actual say * Children at leadership positions who seem to always miss the forest for the trees * Mistakes are seen as opportunities for middle management to strut their stuff and yell a lot...never as... growing opportunities. If you want to be talked down to, this is where you should be. * Get ready for nonstop escalation...forget being a team. The moment some parties perceives a slight, escalation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's shame honestly to rate Appway only 2 stars, because generally you do this with poorleadership at the top. Different here. CEO / CTO / Head of Services are all nice, empathetic, helpful leaders. The rot in this company comes from middle management and what is essentially a bunch of egotistical children running the show. You want to improve company morale, get real leaders who can see the overall... picture and who use mistakes as growing experiences, not as opportunities to flex an ego.

    Show More
    Appway2017-10-31
  8. "Great ride with occasional bumps"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fats growing, many opportunities, you can take influence, hard workork usually rewarded, international attitude and cross-culturally open minded people.

    Cons

    Complexity of growth or easy to absorb, recently good people left because of lack of keeping up promises and missing team spirit.

    Advice to Management

    Pace is difficult to keep up, retain good staff, hire fitting people with relevant experience

    Appway2017-11-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Appway full-time

    Pros

    Culture, Style, Diversity, Innovation, Software Platform, La Cimbali Coffee Machine, The company parties

    Cons

    Diversity, Not everything is well organised

    Appway2017-10-18
  10. Helpful (19)

    "On paper a good company, in reality you will deeply regret it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chiasso
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Appway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Work-life balance (basically you can work half of the time or with half of your brain and nobody will notice/complain if you are in Chiasso). By the way, is this a real pro ?

    Cons

    - Extremely weak leadership (CTO is basically absent). This has an impact on every level and there is no technical roadmap at all. - Technological stack is old and tech debt is huge (no concrete plan to tackle it) - Automated testing and focus on quality is completely out of their mentality. Manual testing (also for developers) is still an everyday activity. - A lot of unexperienced people (first working... experience) in particular product managers and teach leaders. - Very conservative mindset (innovation is a mirage)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Hire experienced professionals especially in product management - Look for a real and seasoned CTO. - Stop promoting tech leaders just because of their seniority in the company. Seniority in the profession and personal inclination (not everybody is a people person) should count.

    Appway2017-10-16
Found 37 reviews