AppNeta "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

AppNeta Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
AppNeta President and CEO  Matt Stevens
Matt Stevens
46 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "lack of transparency and honesty from upper management(in 6 reviews)

  • "I'm guessing this is common in start ups but there is a high turnover rate(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Software Engineering team in Vancouver top-notch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppNeta

    Pros

    The software engineering team in Vancouver has very low turnover. That speaks volumes to the established culture, work/life balance, and the rewarding challenges of working with progressive and complicated technologies. Can't speak much about the Sales team which is based in Boston, since I'm in Vancouver, but I'd take the negative reviews of those who didn't make it with a grain of salt. There are many Sales people in Boston that have been going strong for a long time. For those in Vancouver, which consists of developers, QA, and technical support, we build strong products in an emerging market, and the engineering teams are full of bright people who adopt technology early and make it work.

    Cons

    The office has been growing fast, and the floor is full to capacity. Another floor in the same building has been acquired recently so that should alleviate the congestion.

    AppNeta2013-08-14
  2. "Interned for four months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AppNeta for less than a year

    Pros

    *Relaxed Work environment *Good perks like food and beer , etc *Good work, life balance *Very Professional and knowledgable coworkers (learnt a lot from them)

    Cons

    Its still growing and a lot of things could be improved like the communications between the product managers and employees and stand ups

    AppNeta2020-02-23
  3. "Great working and learning environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Junior Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AppNeta for less than a year

    Pros

    * Depending on what team you're in you get to work with the Linux kernel and low level networking which is rare for an internship. * Great manager and supervisor who treat you like a real employee and respect your opinion. * You are put in a perfect environment for you to try new things and learn from them. They are okay with you failing as long as there is something to learn from it. * Good work-life balance * They let you work from home * Very fun atmosphere

    Cons

    * Work can be kind of slow, especially at the start of your internship. * Upper management and IT don't treat you like a real employee so you oftentimes need to spend extra time going to your manager so you can have access to basic tools that you need to complete your tasks. * Working with IT felt adversarial at times. * Pay is on the lower end for internships. * Upper management don't care about your feedback - during the entire internship I was not asked to provide feedback for management. Even despite full time employees being asked to complete an employee survey.

    AppNeta2020-01-12
  4. "A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fulfillment Specialist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppNeta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Great company to start your career * Excellent work life balance * Casual working environment * Unlimited snacks (could be a con) * Responsible managers

    Cons

    * No RRSP contributions * career path might be limited

    AppNeta2020-01-09
  5. "Great company, great people , interesting projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppNeta full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Company has amazing history and technology to stay among the leaders on the market - Interesting Projects, Good Work Life Balance, Great Team - Management team is very helpful - Good location if you take public transit in Vancouver

    Cons

    Company keeps growing, which is great, but always assumes some growing pains

    Continue reading
    AppNeta2019-12-11
  6. "Great company that cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AppNeta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Management genuinely cares about its employees * CEO is a great guy (although he rarely visits the Vancouver office) * Fairly interesting engineering problems to solve * Really good work-life balance (at least when you're not on call) * Good position in the market * Lots of stability if you're looking for that, many people have been with the company for 5-10 years * Fun atmosphere, beer Fridays, foosball league

    Cons

    * On call can be literal hell * Only one day WFH a week, although management is pretty lax about it * Lots of tech debt * Foosball games can get pretty heated

    Continue reading
    AppNeta2019-12-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "A startup where culture actually counts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppNeta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    AppNeta is a company that has clearly changed looking at the past review. As a newer employee, I can tell you that this is a different company. The culture is one of openness, responsibility and risk taking. I've been particularly shocked at the lack of politics. This is a place that respects employees and encourages a good work/life balance, while still being very exciting and having great products. At most startups I've worked at, "culture" is code for pool tables and free lunch, rather than the actual values of the company - AppNeta's culture is real.

    Cons

    None yet other than the lack of bathrooms for men. I know that sounds like a bullish*t answer, but it is really true - I haven't found anything that I'd really regard as a con.

    Continue reading
    AppNeta2015-11-22

    AppNeta Response

    December 4, 2015CEO

    Thank you for your feedback - keep 'em coming! Culture is built over time and is a product of many many people working together towards a common goal with common set of guiding principles. AppNeta has so many talented people that contribute to a living, breathing culture and it's awesome to hear that the culture felt by newer team members too. Oh, and regarding that nagging men's room challenge ... we've opened a second men's room, so hopefully that helps some too!

    Continue reading
  8. "Great Choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AppNeta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great management team that seeks to create an environment where there is both a collective sense of responsibility and personal ownership of tasks. - High expectations for achievement are balanced with rewards (Thursday/Friday drinks, free lunches, company parties). Management team actively recognizes people in the weekly sales team meetings for doing something well or going above and beyond. -Open transparency between divisions at AppNeta. Marketing is focused on how to help grow the brand and leads, sales and customer success have open communication about product developments/feedback from customers. Very collaborative environment. -Investment in career development. There is a full sales enablement onboarding program as well as continuing training in sales strategy which I was pleasantly surprised by! Many companies do not offer such career development.

    Cons

    I came from a background where I did not have to be in an office every day. For me, coming to AppNeta, I understood that I was changing roles and would need to be in the office every day. This for me was a transition, not so much a con, as there is good work life balance (better than average for most companies in Boston) and the office is in a great area of the city (Seaport).

    Continue reading
    AppNeta2015-11-16

    AppNeta Response

    December 4, 2015CEO

    Great feedback - thanks for sharing it. Collaboration - true collaboration, can be hard to maintain. Technology has helped us for sure, but certain elements still benefit greatly from personal face-to-face sharing of thoughts and ideas. We'll continue to investigate ways to advance this further even as our growth continues to explode and keep an eye out for ways to let our teams work in ways that best suits their individual needs.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Lots of lies and long days"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AppNeta full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great opportunity to put on resume, recruiters in Boston love AppNeta reps -Young sales team is a great crowd, build great relationships during the early mornings, late nights, and saturday sourcing sessions. -True work hard play hard environment (just dont get a lot of time to play) -Sales Spiffs are top of the line (trips, events) but not worth the abuse -Technology is great and the team designing/building/supporting it is A+

    Cons

    -Very junior sales team with not a lot of leadership to go around -Lie in interviews to bring on more reps (Positive Glassdoor reviews prior to April 2013 are written internally by HR for recruiting purposes just an FYI) -No work life balance (expect to be at work before 7:30pm, after 6:30pm, and to be on your managers good side come in on a Saturday or two to source lists for data import on Mondays) -Since leaving have heard feedback from old prospects/lost opportunities that they were turned off by the lack of professionalism on the AppNeta side of the phone.

    Continue reading
    AppNeta2013-06-21
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Decent product, high amount of turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at AppNeta full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The product appears to have a good amount of R&D behind it. - Fulfills a market need. - If you last it could be an opportunity into sales. Keep in mind that if you only last a quarter or two you probably won't look very appealing to other companies.

    Cons

    - No work/life balance. - High turnover. - Very minimal sales training. - High stress.

    Continue reading
    AppNeta2012-09-23
Found 11 reviews