Anglian Water Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Anglian Water Reviews

Updated 6 September, 2018
122 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Anglian Water Managing Director Peter Simpson
Peter Simpson
103 Ratings

122 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Quite a lot to learn - takes about a year to feel fully comfortable" (in 5 reviews)

  • "Long hours, pressure, lack of support, poor management, poor career development" (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Peterborough, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Peterborough, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time

    Pros

    Good company culture
    Skilled management
    Friendly approachable people
    Understanding and helpful colleagues
    No visible hierarchy divides
    Flexible working
    Employee support in and out of work
    A company that cares about its employees
    Sensible level headed work approach
    Opportunity to up skill in company
    Development is encouraged
    Mature working environment
    Decent pay

    Cons

    Silo working patterns as everyone seems to be very much into their role
    Expectations can be high but managers always open to talking about work loads

    Anglian Water Response

    20 Sep, 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thanks for a great review and brilliant you find it an amazing place to work.


  2. "In-Day Scheduler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - In-Day Scheduler in Lincoln, England (UK)
    Current Employee - In-Day Scheduler in Lincoln, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly & supportive office.
    Good pay with opportunities for pay progression, overtime & bonuses.
    Great perks such as the GEM system.
    Private healthcare.
    Happy environment.

    Cons

    The job itself can be somewhat stressful at times but working within a supportive team helps considerably.

    Anglian Water Response

    20 Sep, 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thanks for a 5 star review, really pleased you are enjoying our perks and please do chat to your manager or HR Business Partner about our wellbeing support if required.

  3. "An awesome value driven employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Fleet Services in Huntingdon, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Head of Fleet Services in Huntingdon, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Have never worked at a company where culture and value is so evident from CEO down to the troops.............doing the right thing comes as standard here.

    Cons

    Being a regulated industry, some things take longer than you'd like


  4. "Generally happy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lincoln, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lincoln, England (UK)
    Recommends

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Very supportive in times of need.

    Cons

    Very target driven environment due to demands made by regulatory body.

    Anglian Water Response

    20 Sep, 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thanks for your review and great to see how supported you feel.


  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leakage Technician in King's Lynn, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Leakage Technician in King's Lynn, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Lovely people. Great benefits and manageable workload

    Cons

    Promotions don't always go to those who deserve it

    Anglian Water Response

    20 Sep, 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for leaving a review


  6. "Part time, home based, desk top auditor."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Staff in Huntingdon, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Audit Staff in Huntingdon, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water part-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    After suffering a significant, life changing stroke, Anglian Water supported me and went beyond their contractual obligation. Managers and colleagues visited me at home. When it was decided I was unable to return to my previous hours or work, they offered me a position within my capabilities. No company could have done more and without their assistance, I dread to think how I would have coped. A large company that has a human side and shows they care, rather than just saying it. Thank you Anglian Water.

    Cons

    In my opinion, no downside whatsoever.

    Advice to Management

    Carry on showing you care for your employees, all the support has been unbelievable. I do not consider myself fortunate, but I consider myself fortunate to have been employed by Anglian Water at this unfortunate time.

    Anglian Water Response

    16 Aug, 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thank for your very honest review, really glad you have felt you were able to return and that we were able to support this.


  7. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Coordinator in Huntingdon, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Programmer Coordinator in Huntingdon, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexible working, friendly atmosphere, opportunity to give back to community. I enjoy coming to work.

    Cons

    Struggling to think of any

    Anglian Water Response

    16 Aug, 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thanks for your review and great to see no cons!

  8. "Operational Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Huntingdon, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Huntingdon, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Benefits package is still good compared to many organisations.
    Opportunities for progression are good if you work hard and take the opportunities as they arise and are prepared to put yourself out and make some sacrifices, travel etc.
    For me personally every where I have worked (over 28 years) has been like a second family and part of my life not just a job. I can honestly say even through the hard and stressful times I have loved it all. I have always received support from my managers and felt able to make decisions knowing they would support me even if the outcome wasn’t perfect.
    Commitment to improving service to customers and wanting to the right thing even if we cant afford complete resolutions.
    Importance of Wellbeing of staff.
    Commitment to Safety.
    All staff are able to say thank you or give a small financial reward to colleagues and peers for going above and beyond.

    Cons

    Not everyone has the same attitude to working for AW and believe the company owe them for the doing the job they are paid for.
    Operational staff are relied on by the rest of the business to deliver customer service and don’t see that service is their job.
    Some operational managers fail to take ownership and responsibility for customer service and their assets and look to someone else to blame and take the flack for them.
    Being a heavily regulated business the service we are able to offer is held back due to financial constraints.
    Reduction of pensions over the last 10 years was disappointing for longer serving employees, but pension is still good compared to other private businesses.

    Advice to Management

    We have done many good things over the years so please don’t let people feel they have failed when we receive a poor SIM score for reasons beyond our control such as wet weather incidents.
    To improve on service long term we need to deliver day in day out whatever the weather. This needs more dedicated focus on resourcing to meet customer demand, seeing an end to using our customers as alerts to failures or overloading of our systems and an increased importance on externally flooding customers from our systems.
    Make Today Great is a great programme but needs reinforcing with some operational managers who don’t seem to have got it.

    Anglian Water Response

    16 Aug, 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thanks for a detailed review, really appreciate this and lovely to see your comment about AW being like a second family.


  9. "A lovely place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntingdon, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntingdon, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The company is very committed to wellbeing and take care of their employees. There is a supportive culture. It isn't like you would think a water company would be - there is much more innovation and a wide variety of opportunities.

    Cons

    There is a lot of cake! I bet everyone who joins puts on weight.

    Advice to Management

    Don't change the things that work - but do delegate more and trust your people

    Anglian Water Response

    16 Aug, 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thanks for your review and we can confirm there is often lots of delicious cake!


  10. "Development & Progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Anglian Water full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    AW is such a large company that there is plenty of scope for development and progression. There is such a wide variety of career paths that it's easy to see how people become 'lifers'!
    Many people within the business have been recommended by family/friends who also work there, this speaks to how happy the staff are working for Anglian Water.
    Aside from the benefits of working there are plenty of softer benefits, including healthcare (dental & physiotherapy), staff and corporate discounts and competitive salaries (depending on the region).
    Finally, due to the nature of the industry Anglian Water is very risk-adverse, this isn't necessarily a pro or con, just something to be aware of

    Cons

    Due to the size of the company it is difficult to implement change and business wide improvements are slow to happen. There are a number of people within the business who have outdated and irrelevant ideas and it is a challenge to bring a newer way of thinking to these people.

    Anglian Water Response

    20 Sep, 2018 – Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and we agree that there ate lots of opportunities for development.


Showing 122 of 130 reviews
Reset Filters