Anadarko Petroleum Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Anadarko Petroleum Reviews

Updated Nov 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
84%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Anadarko Petroleum CEO R. A. Walker (no image)
R. A. Walker
183 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Volatility of oil and gas, uncertainty in future of industry(in 14 reviews)

  • "There are no cons that I have seen(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Anadarko Petroleum full-time

    Pros

    Professional, talented people throughout the organization

    Cons

    None worth mentioning - very collaborative environment

    Advice to Management

    Maintain the strong lease that you have shown for the past 10 tears

    Anadarko Petroleum2019-04-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Forced Relocation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Anadarko Petroleum full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits: 9/80's, 401k match/pension, gym/cafeteria in Woodlands

    Cons

    Bumbling bureaucracy with stagnant wages and no risk tolerance. Compensation is linked to experience, not performance.

    Advice to Management

    The process of relocating employees to Midland (forced to move or else laid off without severance) did not reflect core values.

    Anadarko Petroleum2017-08-22
  3. "Data Cleansing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Anadarko Petroleum

    Pros

    It was busy work that was too expensive to automate. Thus I could easily listen to podcasts and music while grinding out work.

    Cons

    It was busy work that was too expensive to automate. Some of the data auditing projects were huge and took a portion of my soul.

    Advice to Management

    Good luck trying to find interns now that the price of oil is at decade low. Don't rely on nepotism too much.

    Anadarko Petroleum2016-03-08
  4. "Class"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Anadarko Petroleum full-time

    Pros

    Good in pay the salary is good

    Cons

    Work early At morning at six o’clock

    Advice to Management

    Thanks

    Anadarko Petroleum2019-11-09
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Completions Engineer in Midland, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Anadarko Petroleum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Teams were open to new ideas

    Cons

    Sometimes they catered to employees too much

    Anadarko Petroleum2019-09-27
  6. "It was great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Staff Data Engineer in Denver, CO
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Anadarko Petroleum full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great compensation and work environment.

    Cons

    Company was sold... I think Oxy looks good also but still changing.

    Anadarko Petroleum2019-09-24
  7. "The best O & G company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Accounting Specialist in The Woodlands, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Anadarko Petroleum full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very collaborative, all supervisors I worked for were supportive and not micromanagers, relaxed atmosphere even under tight deadlines

    Cons

    There are the "chosen ones" who are prepped and groomed to climb more quickly up the corporate ladder.

    Advice to Management

    Hopefully Anadarko and Oxy can combine the best of both companies to stay on top of the game.

    Anadarko Petroleum2019-09-09
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Anadarko Petroleum full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good people good balance good pay

    Cons

    no longer an active company

    Anadarko Petroleum2019-09-06
  9. "Great until we were sold"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in The Woodlands, TX

    I have been working at Anadarko Petroleum full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    most everything was good while it lasted

    Cons

    not much except for getting sold

    Anadarko Petroleum2019-08-27
  10. "Best Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Auditor in The Woodlands, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Anadarko Petroleum full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    4 Weeks PTO!? Huge sign on bonus!? High starting salary with yearly bonus

    Cons

    I wish the company would not have been sold!

    Anadarko Petroleum2019-08-21
Found 348 reviews