Amilia Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Amilia Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
92%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Amilia CEO Francois Gaouette
Francois Gaouette
17 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "The best place you could hope to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive/Solution Advisor in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amilia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amilia is a fantastic place to work, both from a corporate perspective, and from the culture/team perspective. There is none of the infighting between departments that is all too common at other companies, and everyone is truly focused on improving the platform and delivering quality to the end users. Management is approachable, open to new ideas, and clear in their communication. Management was also very... understanding and accommodating when my wife went on bed rest while pregnant with our second child, allowing me the flexibility to work from home when necessary. Work/life balance is second to none. The location was fantastic as well, located an easy walk from the metro (Amilia helped offset the cost of my EXO pass). The office is also located right next to the bike path, allowing me to bike most days during the spring/summer/fall. Summer/Christmas parties, "Summer Fridays", coffee, fruit, kombucha and beer on tap, $300 fitness credit to help keep everyone in shape... I was happy to go to work every single day.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is growing rapidly, and with rapid growth can sometimes come contractions as the company adjusts to the new size and direction.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the family atmosphere... and keep doing what you're doing!

    Amilia2019-09-14
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Tech company with potential, rather filled with drama that could make a reality tv show"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amilia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful offices & open space, great social events. Working environment between various teams is always a great thing in a tech company. (Innovation Day/Hackathlon) Personal health is always focused and many group classes are held in the same building in which people of various departments participate! Fruit baskets are delivered regularly as well as coffee, etc The demographics are fairly young, so you... can feel energy in the room at the stand up meetings!

    Show More

    Cons

    The following applies only to marketing, sales, customer success and support: -High turnover of staff -Promotions based on favoritism -Toxic senior management (not all, but a few VP's) -A lot of gossiping about members on the same teams -Non stop meetings all week long Unfortunately, the competent employees who actually deliver results and don't get involved in drama are usually either forced out, or quit... to work somewhere else. Firings are very common....even at the most illogical times for very trivial reasons. CEO doesn't seem to make rational decisions, rather very emotional ones based on gut feeling. His role model is Donald Trump apparently.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire quality, NOT QUANTITY! You are losing the best employees you ever had because of a few cancerous individuals... and you know exactly who they are but refuse to do anything about it. Stop trying to compete with tech companies as to who will have the most female executives in Montreal. Nobody cares! Hire for competency and high emotional intelligence instead.

    Amilia2019-09-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amilia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Allowed to work remotely Brilliant team members to collaborate with

    Cons

    Most employees are very new

    Amilia2019-07-25
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Excellent work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amilia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely wonderful culture, very caring and passionate team or hard working employees, great benefits, competitive compensation, flexible hours

    Cons

    Honestly I have very little to say that's negative, I've had a great time working here, it's been my best job to date.

    Amilia2019-05-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good in general"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Amilia full-time

    Pros

    Lots of events organized for the employees, fruit baskets , good insurance coverage.

    Cons

    Amilia is growing at a rapid pace and you have to adapt and keep up with the constant changes. It can also lead to disorganization and miscommunications.

    Amilia2019-05-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amilia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing coworkers and management team A lot of money is invested into the offices and HR policies, great culture

    Cons

    Growth comes with some challenges; Vision is not always clear

    Amilia2019-04-26
  7. "Terrible work politics."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amilia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Activities, free coffee and access to gym, beer.

    Cons

    Terrible health benefits. No glasses included The firing rate and hiring rate are laughable. A few employees per month are fired. In a company under 100 employees, it makes a big difference. Soooo much gossip, and so many tattle tales. Then they offer drinks, and hold any of those conversations against you.

    Amilia2019-05-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amilia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible learning opportunity, company is going places, great environment and culture, and tools + equipment to get the job done. Also have gym, free fruit, coffee, and beer

    Cons

    Not necessarily cons, but it's very competitive, hard-work with long hours needed to get ahead.

    Amilia2019-03-24
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amilia full-time

    Pros

    Awesome team, really cool environment

    Cons

    CEO does not care about employees. Too sales-driven.

    Amilia2019-02-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing tech company to work at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Designer/Developer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amilia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Even though there is 100 employees, you have a voice. If you want to try something new or suggest something new, you have the freedom to do so. I've always had to deal with micro-managers, at Amilia it is the opposite. You have an amazing and fancy office equipped with everything you need. In previous jobs, I had to bring my own laptop to work, not at Amilia. Amazing coffee machine for everyone to use... at any time. Fresh fruit every day in the kitchen. ( FREE ) Great atmosphere, great people. They know how to hire cool people who aren't stuck up. Flexible hours. If you arrive at 9, leave at 5. Or come in at 8 and leave at 4.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not many to be honest. Working here is pretty damn cool. I don't want to leave!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Amilia2019-01-10
Found 22 reviews