Amica Senior Lifestyles Reviews

Updated May 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
55%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Amica Senior Lifestyles President and CEO Doug MacLatchy
Doug MacLatchy
23 Ratings
  1. "Concierge"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Amica Senior Lifestyles part-time

    Pros

    Really wonderful people to work with, the residents were great!

    Cons

    The shifts started very early in the morning

    Amica Senior Lifestyles2019-04-21

    Amica Senior Lifestyles Response

    April 29, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It is great to hear your positive comments about our team members and residents. Yes, our concierges do start early!

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Rather not say"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amica Senior Lifestyles full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Most of my co workers , and of course the real people that pay us. (residents) they nikel and dime them.

    Cons

    Managment seem to be always stressed and always working. (staff shortages) The company doesn't seem to get it. Theres a lack of labour . Why don't you stop cheaping out on wages. The culture is not good. It used to be fantastic and friendly. Unfortunately it's the seniors that suffer. Lot's of repackaged foods. Can't even give us a gift card at Christmas.

    Continue reading
    Amica Senior Lifestyles2019-04-19

    Amica Senior Lifestyles Response

    April 29, 2019Chief People Officer

    Sorry for the experience you are currently having. At Amica, we take pride in enriching the lives of our residents, their families and each other. With regard to wages, we recently conducted an industry compensation survey to ensure that we are leading the retirement living sector. Where necessary this year we made additional adjustments beyond the regular merit cycle. I would love to better understand the experience you are having so I can help. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at v.owen@amica.ca. Valerie Owen Chief People Officer

  3. "PSW"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amica Senior Lifestyles part-time

    Pros

    Great team to work with! And lots of different shifts to choose from.

    Cons

    The pay is not very competitive.

    Amica Senior Lifestyles2019-02-27

    Amica Senior Lifestyles Response

    March 5, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased to hear you enjoy being a part of the Amica team and that you like the flexibility in shifts. I see that you have a concern about pay. We have just completed a Compensation Benchmarking exercise within our industry. Our philosophy is to pay equal or above our competitors and our benchmarking study confirmed our positioning. However, we have and continue to give market adjustments as required. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback. It is appreciated. Val Owen, Chief People Officer Amica Senior Lifestyles

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible!!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amica Senior Lifestyles full-time

    Pros

    The seniors are so kind and make you want to come into work

    Cons

    the management and head office

    Continue reading
    Amica Senior Lifestyles2019-03-10

    Amica Senior Lifestyles Response

    March 28, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. I also thoroughly enjoy working alongside seniors. I am sorry we lost a team member who so clearly values seniors. In an effort to address your feedback, I’d love the opportunity to speak with you directly, if you are interested. I can be reached at v.owen@amica.ca.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "poor pay"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Amica Senior Lifestyles part-time

    Pros

    cheap staff lunches, choose how you alot your break time

    Cons

    managments a mess, pay structure after baybridge buy out means that new employees make 5-6$ less per hour than those hired before buyout. short staffed often

    Amica Senior Lifestyles2019-03-18

    Amica Senior Lifestyles Response

    March 28, 2019Chief People Officer

    We test our rates against the market bi-annually and are confident that our current starting rates are in line with or above the marketplace. However, we do take your feedback seriously. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

  6. "Amazing organization to work for."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Development in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amica Senior Lifestyles full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Family centric organization, a non politically charged environment, ability to work with a smart, dedicated team of professionals for successful and growing organization.

    Cons

    None to speak of really.

    Continue reading
    Amica Senior Lifestyles2019-01-16

    Amica Senior Lifestyles Response

    February 10, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We strive every day to create a supportive environment where our team members join together in meaningful work while building rewarding careers. It is delightful to hear that you are having such a positive experience during your first year at Amica Senior Lifestyles. Valerie Owen Chief People Officer

  7. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amica Senior Lifestyles part-time

    Pros

    Enjoyed the culture and people

    Cons

    Wish to have been put full time as I was casual for 5 year

    Continue reading
    Amica Senior Lifestyles2018-10-21

    Amica Senior Lifestyles Response

    November 21, 2018Chief People Officer

    I am happy to hear you found a full time job. Please continue to watch our Career website at amica.ca for future opportunities. Thank you for your contributions to our culture over the last five years, and I wish you the best of luck in the future. Val Owen Chief People Officer

  8. "A lot of work but good team"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amica Senior Lifestyles part-time

    Pros

    Good team members to work with

    Cons

    Workload is quite high.. you would be burnt out

    Amica Senior Lifestyles2018-10-31

    Amica Senior Lifestyles Response

    November 21, 2018Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. We rely on our care team and all our team members to provide exceptional service and discerning care to our residents. Although we have tracking mechanisms in place to ensure appropriate staffing levels, your specific feedback could help the local leaders schedule more effectively. Therefore, I encourage you to share your feedback directly with your Director of Wellness or General Manager. Thank you again, Val Owen Chief People Officer

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Prepare to be burnt out"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Life Enrichment in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amica Senior Lifestyles full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the most rewarding industry and jobs you'll find. The staff you'll meet are always very friendly regardless of how hard they're working. Interactions and learning about residents, sharing life stories and some amazing outings.

    Cons

    As many other former and current employees have mentioned here, the pay is below competitive in comparison to other companies within the industry. The management seems to always find ways to squeeze more out of it's employees. The amount of work sometimes can be overwhelming making you dread going into work. Many loyal employees have expressed the level of their fatigue and being burnt out but no measures have been taken into rectifying that matter. There is a constant shortage of staffing which may be contributed to the lack of full time positions and a surplus of casual positions.

    Continue reading
    Amica Senior Lifestyles2018-11-16

    Amica Senior Lifestyles Response

    November 21, 2018Chief People Officer

    Thank you for sharing your concerns. We have just completed a Compensation Benchmarking exercise within our industry. Our philosophy is to pay equal or above our competitors and our benchmarking study confirmed our positioning. We have and continue to give market adjustments as required. When looking at compensation we also consider other benefits we offer including our Tuition Reimbursement Program, Benefits, Service Awards and our extended Leave of Absence and Vacation policies. We have tracking mechanisms to monitor our staffing levels to ensure we have enough team members on shift to meet our residents' needs. I am sorry you chose to leave the organization. I would be happy to chat with you directly. If you wish, please email me at v.owen@amica.ca. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback. Val Owen Chief People Officer

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Life Enrichment Assistant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Life Enrichment Assistant in Stoney Creek, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Amica Senior Lifestyles full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stoney Creek's location has wonderful staff, their current coordinator has been nothing but fantastic and helpful.

    Cons

    Considering how high end and reputable this company is their salaries for frontline staff is atrocious. They are highly compensated with earnings from residents Use the money to improve the lives of your FrontLine Staff!

    Continue reading
    Amica Senior Lifestyles2018-09-16

    Amica Senior Lifestyles Response

    September 19, 2018Marketing Consultant

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback, which has been reviewed with our Chief People Office Val Owen. We are committed to paying competitive rates and are in the process of assessing our rates across the country as compared to our competitive set. If you'd like to discuss this further, Val welcomes you to reach out to her at v.owen@amica.ca. Thanks again for taking the time to place this review.

Found 75 reviews