Amica Senior Lifestyles Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Amica Senior Lifestyles Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
57%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Amica Senior Lifestyles President and CEO Doug MacLatchy
Doug MacLatchy
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great team atmosphere and dynamic(in 3 reviews)

  • "Serving seniors is a fulfilling career path(in 2 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Amazing place to work with unlimited growth potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amica Senior Lifestyles full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is very well strategically positioned in a growing senior landscape to take advantage of favorable demographics.

    Cons

    Travel may be required depending on the role

    Amica Senior Lifestyles2020-02-18

    Amica Senior Lifestyles Response

    March 4, 2020Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review Amica. We appreciate your feedback!

    Continue reading
  2. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amica Senior Lifestyles full-time

    Pros

    Great people and Culture. Great learning environment. Busy and growing.

    Cons

    Non I can think off.

    Amica Senior Lifestyles2020-02-10

    Amica Senior Lifestyles Response

    March 4, 2020Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review Amica. We appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "No advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Maintenance Assistant in Windsor, ON
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Amica Senior Lifestyles part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Residents and employees were pleasant

    Cons

    Low pay no room for pay increases

    Continue reading
    Amica Senior Lifestyles2019-12-11

    Amica Senior Lifestyles Response

    December 16, 2019Manager

    Hello, thank you for taking the time to review Amica. Amica conducts a bi-annual industry compensation survey to ensure that we are leading the retirement living sector. We're sorry you feel that this was not what you experienced in your time with us.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "An open, honest review of the experiences employees are afraid to speak on with management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Whitby, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amica Senior Lifestyles part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The residents are phenomenal!

    Cons

    My goodness. This company used to be great in its birth. I resonate with statements of discrimination and racism within the company posted below, specifically at the management level, as I have seen and experienced this myself. I have seen managers work to eliminate or discourage minority employees striving to take on leadership roles of the company. I have also seen many of these employees be used for their skills and education, to never be given the opportunity to successfully be chosen for leadership positions for “various reasons” –those reasons are never made clear. Many employees who have been with the company from the beginning when it was at its best, have left or are leaving. Whitby for example, is at the highest turnover we have seen in a long time, with some of the best employees now gone. Ironically, the Assistant Manager for "People Development", is renown amongst employees as one of the most disrespectful, unprofessional people within the company. Someone with an actual HR and recruitment educational background who knows how to communicate and interview in a professional manner should be in this position. I have heard of (and have experienced myself) terrible experiences with her from not allowing interviewers to answer questions, to condescendingly responding to or embarrassing interviewers for their responses. This includes laughing at interviewer responses, inquiring about work-relationships, and repeating or changing interview scenario questions as interviewers respond. Many of the people who have applied for positions and have had the unfortunate luck of interviewing with this woman have shared their experiences, and it is actually quite crazy to know that this is a common experience. There is a significant problem with ‘management friends’ helping other managers move up throughout the company. Many of them are absolutely not qualified to be in the positions they have deliberately been set up to be in, and this is discouraging to those employees who have the drive, skill, dedication, and unfortunately – hope, to move into a leadership position. The problems with Amica goes beyond money mongering behavior from community relations – there are no development opportunities for employees, especially for those of diverse backgrounds. Many of us are looking to leave the company soon, but it is sad when you have been with the company for so long.

    Amica Senior Lifestyles2019-12-20

    Amica Senior Lifestyles Response

    January 8, 2020Manager

    Hello, thank you for taking the time to review Amica. As a long term team member, we value your feedback. I would love the opportunity to talk to you directly regarding your recent experience. As you know, we strive to promote internally wherever possible while still following a standard recruitment process that we use internally and externally to avoid any bias. Our residents and team members deserve that. One of our core values is "seeking to build trust". Again, I do hope you will trust me enough to reach out to me directly at V.Owen@amica.ca with your feedback. We take your accusations of racism and discrimination very seriously. We recently scored extremely high on our Team Member Engagement Survey; specifically, creating a culture where we promote an environment of diversity and inclusion. We are deeply committed to ensuring we provide equal opportunities across the organization. In assessing talent for future positions, we consider skills, past experiences, a person's leadership qualities and the ability to provide a premium resident experience. Thank you and please feel free to email me directly at V.Owen@Amica.caVal OwenChief People Officer,Amica Senior Lifestyles

    Continue reading
  5. "Ok Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Dining Room Server 

    I worked at Amica Senior Lifestyles part-time

    Pros

    People were great and friendly

    Cons

    Management could have been better

    Amica Senior Lifestyles2019-11-22

    Amica Senior Lifestyles Response

    November 25, 2019Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review Amica Senior Lifestyles. We appreciate your input

    Continue reading
  6. "It's just gotten worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Life Enrichment Assistant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amica Senior Lifestyles full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great residents, most staff are great

    Cons

    Low pay, management is horrible

    Continue reading
    Amica Senior Lifestyles2019-11-04

    Amica Senior Lifestyles Response

    November 4, 2019Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review Amica. Your comments regarding management are taken seriously. With regard to wages, we recently conducted an industry compensation survey to ensure that we are leading the retirement living sector. Where necessary this year we made additional adjustments beyond the regular merit cycle. We hope you will continue to enjoy creating meaningful connections with team members and residents.

    Continue reading
  7. "lovely place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Server 

    I have been working at Amica Senior Lifestyles part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the residents are friendly and the servers work so well together

    Cons

    benefits only apply to full time staff

    Amica Senior Lifestyles2019-10-08

    Amica Senior Lifestyles Response

    October 10, 2019Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review Amica Senior Lifestyles. We're glad you are having a great experience at your residence.

    Continue reading
  8. "Big company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Night Auditor/Front Desk Agent 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amica Senior Lifestyles full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big company to work for

    Cons

    Nothing but you have to patient to find a chance to grow

    Amica Senior Lifestyles2019-10-03

    Amica Senior Lifestyles Response

    October 15, 2019Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to review Amica Senior Lifestyles. We appreciate your input.

    Continue reading
  9. "Terrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Dundas, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amica Senior Lifestyles full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food, making friends with residents

    Cons

    under staffed, managament does not handle problems well, under paid, verbally abusive to staff and residents

    Continue reading
    Amica Senior Lifestyles2019-10-15

    Amica Senior Lifestyles Response

    October 15, 2019Manager

    Hello, thank you for taking the time to review Amica Dundas. Your comments regarding management are taken seriously and have been noted by support office human resources staff. Please note that verbal harassment is not tolerated on any level as per our Violence, Harassment and Bullying Free Workplace policy. All team members have a duty to report acts of workplace bullying even if they are not personally involved. If team members are not comfortable reporting to a leader, they are able to file the concern through our Concern, Complaint and Compliment system. Training on the importance of reporting incidents of this nature and how to properly report is provided to all team members annually.

    Continue reading
  10. "Not great pay but friendly workplace culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Amica Senior Lifestyles part-time

    Pros

    Nice facility, lovely work atmosphere, very organized

    Cons

    poor pay and theyre pushing a longterm care model when they dont have the resources or the staff

    Amica Senior Lifestyles2019-09-18

    Amica Senior Lifestyles Response

    October 15, 2019Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review Amica Senior Lifestyles. We appreciate your input.

    Continue reading
Found 74 reviews