American Fidelity Assurance Company Account Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

American Fidelity Assurance Company Account Manager Reviews

Updated 26 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
66%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
American Fidelity Assurance Company CEO Bill Cameron (no image)
Bill Cameron
30 Ratings
  1. "Managers lack respect for employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Yes you do get a car to use, that was good. Training consisted of one week on school site enrolling less then 10 teachers. No time to learn their Annuity software. Learned it on the fly in front of a customer. Not good. Traveling was more than expected. Anticapate being out of town in Redding or other location for 6 days at a time then come home to leave out on Sunday for another week. Their base is very low, 35K..., but you work 55 hours plus per week. Think it works out to $14 an hour for a seasoned experienced life agent.

    Show More

    Cons

    The managers provided no employee handbook, nor provide what their red line rules are that could result in a termination or displinary action. When it happens there is no communication on the issue or problem, then you are placed on unpaid leave. Not even an email, text or letter of what happened to justify their actions. So expect to be thrown out to schools with little guidence, expectation, nor training for... $14 an hour.

    Show More
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2019-09-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great training, horrible management, high turnover, and questionable business model."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You will receive the latest and greatest in training and technology. Currently it is centered around Salesforce, and Gartner's Challenger sales method. The compensation is above industry average as well.

    Cons

    Major structural flaws that management has no interest in changing. The company markets the account manager position as unbiased benefits consultant to the school districts. However solutions you recommend need to include AF products if you want to proceed. Overall the position and company are a tragedy, there is a real need for benefits education in the school system. Unfortunately the model they use just funnels... money back to the company's owner Bill Cameron. Who happens to be the 103rd richest person in the world.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on paying out claims to educators rather than pilling on unnecessary products. It will be impossible to hit the targets for growth and profitability, while performing the necessary reforms. Not changing will result in states moving away from this model. Look at the changes in Washington State as an example.

    American Fidelity Assurance Company2019-08-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Too much travel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Account Manager in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In Colorado you got to travel the state on the company dime.

    Cons

    Way too much travel depending on where you live. I traveled probably 80% and the demanded more. On top of that the work load is insane. This isn’t a long term career option in this state.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on employee retention rather than numbers

    American Fidelity Assurance Company2019-07-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "The last job you'll interview for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Extensive Sales & Customer Service training prior to stepping foot in the field. Continual support from upper management. Opportunity for rapid growth in compensation. The position is the best combination of Sales & Customer Service. Challenges growth daily. Helping educators secure financial freedom and financial protection with insurance benefits. AMAZING benefits.

    Cons

    Hiring process can take some time. Transitional period between time of hiring and production time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with continual support and training to field reps. Challenge thinking.

    American Fidelity Assurance Company2019-05-30
  5. "A Different Opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Saginaw, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Long Term employment, Family Oriented, Both service and product sales. Flexible, Great Benefits, amazing training tools, corporate support.

    Cons

    Transitioning to a new position

    Advice to Management

    Keep providing training tools and support for your Account Managers

    American Fidelity Assurance Company2019-05-30
  6. "Outstanding Company, Great Culture!! Looking for your last job!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent training, unlike any other benefit provider, they are very niche focused in schools and do an outstanding job in partnering with their schools to provide a lot of great value. Culture is amazing, on a team with over 30 account managers and great leadership and amazing support for one of the largest privately owned insurance companies. I finally found my last job!!!

    Cons

    Their can be travel but the company pays for everything.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a great job!

    American Fidelity Assurance Company2019-05-30
  7. "Great Company, Outstanding People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Springfield, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great culture, great pay, awesome retirement, family oriented. Love this company. Have worked here over 15 years and will retire here. Company Car! All expenses paid. Great training. Everyone wants you to succeed. American Fidelity changed my life and my families!

    Cons

    They are very selective on who they hire, not always a quick process but is a life changer.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working to always have the positive culture we currently have!

    American Fidelity Assurance Company2019-05-30
  8. "No Cold Calling!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've always loved sales but hated cold calls. I have THRIVED with American Fidelity as you see on average about 20 people a day as we work in schools and have to see everyone. I hit 6 figures my first full year with the company and have increased my income every single year....AND have a company car with gas card that can be used for personal use, too. Great retirement and benefits. Get to work from home on... days when not at a school.

    Show More

    Cons

    Hiring process takes some time, but worth the wait. Company keeps growing which is good, but keeps me busy.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate all the support and making our team feel like family.

    American Fidelity Assurance Company2019-05-30
  9. "Wonderful place to grow a career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in South Bend, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Base salary Company vehicle Great colleagues Professional growth No out of pocket expense No cold calling

    Cons

    Travel is part of the position, however it is communicated well.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!!

    American Fidelity Assurance Company2019-05-30
  10. "Don't miss this opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Sales Potential, Bonuses, Benefits, and a Company Car

    Cons

    Traveling and hotel stays, but that's all paid for including per diems.

    Advice to Management

    Keep giving us support and training that we need!

    American Fidelity Assurance Company2019-05-30
Found 47 reviews