American Express Global Business Travel Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

American Express Global Business Travel Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
51%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
American Express Global Business Travel Chief Executive Officer Paul Abbott
Paul Abbott
11 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Nothing like American Express, not(in 34 reviews)

  • "While at GBT there were many things that pulled down the name of Amex it was bad(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (30)

    "Great company and growth potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express Global Business Travel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -great team -lots of resources available -good pay -process driven -good brand recognition -reputable company -growing like crazy! -global -virtual work environment -flexible -great benefits / PTO

    Cons

    NA - Can't think of any.

    Advice to Management

    Great job continuing to build this company. I could have used a little more training initially but lots of great people to help figure things out along the way.

    American Express Global Business Travel2019-02-19
  2. "Best place to work from intermediate level to senior position."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Corporate Travel Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Express Global Business Travel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Anybody with full knowledge of corporate account may join. Lot of chances to improve with clean daily activity, Colleagues are very helpful and cooperative, since performance are monitored regularly and coaching are provided to improve.

    Cons

    I did not find any cons. during my employment time. Since management are very helpful

    Advice to Management

    I like to add only thing is that Management may seek duel screen monitor for senior agent or heavily engaged agent for speed transaction.

    American Express Global Business Travel2019-12-11
  3. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Travel Consultant 

    I have been working at American Express Global Business Travel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home Straightforward work Easy with experience

    Cons

    Low pay Garbage schedule Feel like a number Unreasonable expectations

    American Express Global Business Travel2019-12-08
  4. "As expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Travel Consultant 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Express Global Business Travel part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible with my school schedule

    Cons

    Pay is okay, could be better

    Advice to Management

    Better staffing of departments

    American Express Global Business Travel2019-11-12
  5. "Do not be misled - this is a CALL CENTRE POSITION!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Corporate Travel Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Express Global Business Travel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits start right away, work from home is awesome. Initial Travel Academy (8 weeks) training was great, but could've been shorter.

    Cons

    Accounts have no idea how to train when you come out of the eight week training. So, if you are okay with minimal training and being thrown on the phones, you will do great! At the end of the day, it is about numbers/stats/calls holding etc. If you thrive in an environment like this, then this job is for you.

    American Express Global Business Travel2019-09-22
  6. "Your performance is never good enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at American Express Global Business Travel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits. Good co workers

    Cons

    Favoritism. High scores still try to make you faster. You will never he good enough for this company. The technology is always crashing every day and is never taken I to account for your handle time.

    Advice to Management

    Long time employees got a raise to be 50 cents more than new hires after being upskilled several times. The long time employees should have gotten at least a dollar more. Not good for morale.

    American Express Global Business Travel2019-10-11
  7. "na"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Corporate Travel Agent in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at American Express Global Business Travel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Home office is the best

    Cons

    late shifts, hardware could be better

    Advice to Management

    Around the sun accounts offer no life balance.

    American Express Global Business Travel2019-08-31
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Pay not bad benefits good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Travel Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Express Global Business Travel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work. Exceptional people to work with. Very Professional company and and good support team

    Cons

    No cons at this time

    Advice to Management

    Training could be a little slower paced and longer time frame.

    American Express Global Business Travel2019-08-10
  9. "if you dont mind to be only a number....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Travel Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Express Global Business Travel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    home office and medical benefits,

    Cons

    management cares only about management, top heavy, no consistency, little or no training, VERY LOW moral

    Advice to Management

    open your eyes, and treat people with more respect !!!

    American Express Global Business Travel2019-08-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "American Express Global Business Travel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Express Global Business Travel full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Great Co-workers.

    Cons

    Turning into a company that only cares about bottom line, jobs being sent off shore to save money.

    American Express Global Business Travel2019-04-29
Found 501 reviews