American Apparel Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 of over 1,047 reviews

3.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
American Apparel CEO Chelsea Grayson
Chelsea Grayson
91 Ratings
Pros
  • "great clothe got a 50% discount and it was a vibe(in 108 reviews)

  • "Selling good quality/sweatshop free clothes(in 106 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No direction from upper management(in 64 reviews)

  • "Had to wear American Apparel head to toe - no crazy hair colours or visible piercings(in 50 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Fun place to work, very hands-on

      Jul 30, 2013 - Back Stock Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff, a lot of fun, lots of lee-way and slack environment, very hands-on approach to the job compared to the same position at another company, great for people with natural leadership personality.

      Cons

      Very unorganized company. Sporadic and unpredictable demands. little to no appreciation from upper management usually. Can be stressful due to unrealistic expectations when upper management decides all of a sudden something specific needs to change, they want it done ASAP and they want you to drop anything else you've been working on. Then, the next minute, all of sudden that first project no longer matters and suddenly its something else. Somewhat intrinsic of the retail industry but due to AA's lack of organization, the problem gets exacerbated.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Worked with a great team despite company challenges

      Jan 27, 2017 - Assistant Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My team was totally awesome. My bosses always appreciated my hard work and gave me positive and constructive feedback. I was promoted to Inventory Manager within 6 months of being hired as a Key Holder and promoted to Assistant Store Manager as soon as the position was available. I was even offered a Store Manager position at another store, but turned it down mostly so I could stay with my team (but also because I didn't want to commute to the other location). I got a raise every 6 months like clockwork. Communicating with IT and upper management was usually pretty hassle-free (mostly) and despite massive turnovers at upper echelons and major policy and procedure changes in the year leading up to bankruptcy, they usually tried to address any concerns or challenges we had respectfully. My benefits kicked in after 6 months and the drug plan was really solid.

      Cons

      The major downside to working at AA was really the massive changes and upper management turnovers in the last two years. My team adjusted pretty well, but other teams struggled without competent management for months or sometimes years at a time. This led to disorganized stores and bad work ethics at other locations that I helped out at. The company ethos was also just kind of gross sometimes and hypocritical. They project themselves as a company that values immigrants and minorities but in practice a lot of their campaigns were off the mark, or awkwardly sexual for a teen retailer. Usually just rolled my eyes and got on with my job. The whole thing went bankrupt and my store closed, and the severance package was not awesome. I was hoping to stay with the company and work my way up into district management, but now I have to find another job. I miss my team.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      too bad

      Jan 14, 2017 - Various Management Roles in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      affordable ethical clothes, very flexible schedules, working with likeminded people, working at AA was sort of like a second hand education.

      Cons

      horrible upper management as of recently. bad computer softwares, lots of troubleshooting everyday.. no updates on bankruptcy and how staff should be handling the transition with customers, which develops a very hostile work environment.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Terrible work environment

      Aug 8, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good clothing packages and clothing discounts Easy to make friends Progressive in terms of their manufacturing standards

      Cons

      Extremely misogynistic and oppressive practices towards women terrible upper management Very low pay Violates labor laws, anti-discrimination laws and basic human rights in their hiring process

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Inventory Manager

      Jul 8, 2015 -  in Ottawa, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff -- some really good people. Discount is good.

      Cons

      Over worked, under paid. Upper management had some organizational issues -- poor understanding of issues at employee level. Management is young, so they can be more concerned with themselves.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Waste of time and energy

      Jan 10, 2015 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lower management is usually great. Staff is awesome. Great discount and perks of free clothes

      Cons

      Upper management, such as District managers and head office are the WORST. They treat you as if you're worthless and don't appreciate you whatsoever. Little to no motivation and getting a raise is nearly impossible. They act as if they care about humans, constantly promoting the "sweatshop free" slogan however they have nothing to show face. They promote sweatshop free so hard to steer away from all the slavery of how they treat their retail employees.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee

      American Apparel, sweatshop.

      Oct 20, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Some coworkers a great - Management is approachable - Very easy to grow within the company - nice working environment - free pieces of clothing once in a while

      Cons

      - unstable schedule - upper management is unnecessarily rude and condescending - Head office is pointlessly rude to store staff - management is unorganized and dysfunctional for example: I would receive my work schedule on Monday nights (you know, when the week already started) - you start at minimum wage and it's extremely hard to get a raise - superiors do not let you leave the place if nothing is not spotless clean (sometimes leaving the store at 1AM on a Wednesday night) - trainings of new employees is often neglected, which results in a high turnover rate - unnecessary pressure from upper management - lack of trust from management to employees

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good people at local branch, but very disorganized upper management

      Aug 27, 2014 - Backstock Associate in Kingston, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun people to work with, and the job was simple enough. They were good about fitting your schedule and the store manager was good at communicating what he expected of everyone.

      Cons

      Very often there would be many shipments and changes sent down from upper management that were a bad fit for our branch location, throwing many things into chaos.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Fun and frustrating.

      Nov 10, 2013 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      relaxed work environment, working with friends, free clothes, plenty of room for promotion, great experience,

      Cons

      lack of clear direction from upper management, pressure from management to complete impossible tasks with little incentive or compensation, very little training

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      decent job for young ppl

      May 7, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great employee discount and seasonal allowance to spend on clothes

      Cons

      horrible corporate and upper management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 64 Reviews

    Popular Careers with American Apparel Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at American Apparel? Share Your Experiences

    American Apparel logo
    or