American Apparel "50 discount" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

American Apparel Employee Reviews about "50 discount"

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
American Apparel CEO Chelsea Grayson
Chelsea Grayson
78 Ratings
Pros
  • "50% discount on all American Apparel merchandise(in 107 reviews)

  • "fun, team, flexible, free clothes, uniform(in 104 reviews)

Cons
  • "horrible upper management as of recently(in 61 reviews)

  • "Low pay, no commission unless you make past a certain sales goal(in 40 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "50 discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fun for retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Apparel part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Trendy update to fashion, 50% discount, chill young coworkers, very fun

    Cons

    Some lack of professionalism from managers and mod, little room for growth, self-entitlement

    American Apparel2014-06-09
  2. "Superficial but good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at American Apparel

    Pros

    Seasonal wardrobe packages 50% discount on all American Apparel merchandise Flexible hours and easy shift switching

    Cons

    Very superficial Catty atmosphere High turnover Managers tend to play favourites amongst employees Most people are hired for looks

    Continue reading
    American Apparel2017-02-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid, unless you can handle a shallow work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Apparel part-time

    Pros

    Free clothing (Fall/Spring) 50% off discount Some coworkers are friendly

    Cons

    Not enough hours Cares too much about appearance Very shallow management Not being able to book time off

    Continue reading
    American Apparel2016-11-07
  4. "Good temporary job for student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Apparel

    Pros

    Your co-workers are an awesome young bunch who making standing for hours fun. You get 50% discount, which is quite significant if you like the clothes and shop there frequently. Sometimes you get free stuff. The manager on your shift will make a little game as a sale incentive. Sometimes we have theme days where you have to wear a certain colour or feature a certain item. If you couldn't make a shift, you can ask people from other stores to fill in for you. The managers at my store were very considerate for the workers who were under 18 years old. They never let them close the store so that they got home earlier.

    Cons

    I noticed that there was a high rotation of employees (many people come and go). For those of us closing the store, we weren't sure when we would be allowed to leave. Some days are worse than others.

    Continue reading
    American Apparel2015-09-24
  5. "Fun part-time job while in school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Kingston, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Apparel part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Made lots of friends. Lots of new products to be excited about every month. Our store hosted many "wine and cheese" type events - we were involved in the local scene and culture. Employee discount (50% off) can't be beat!

    Cons

    Everyone was afraid of senior management - high-up employees who would visit our store from LA or Montreal - they were too intimidating and never kind to lower-ranking employees. Perfect fill was also a nightmare.

    American Apparel2014-08-08
  6. "Worst ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Apparel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% discount on clothes and thats it

    Cons

    awful company culture no life at all

    Continue reading
    American Apparel2013-09-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Love the clothes, dislike the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Apparel part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50% discount Relaxed working atmosphere Flexible hours Free clothing package for employees

    Cons

    Unorganized management Little traffic in store, so shifts seem extremely long No training Minimum wage

    American Apparel2013-07-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Ridiculous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - In Store Merch in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Apparel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    surprisingly lovely people 50% discount creative lenience in merchandising

    Cons

    wild turn over (six mass firings in 8 months) low pay ( minimum wage ) a lot of work ( was working 70 hrs a week at one point )

    Continue reading
    American Apparel2013-05-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "This is an exciting place to work, no doubt, but it can burn you out very quickly if you let it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Back Stock Coordinator in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Apparel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% Discount Lots of room for growth/promotion Staff Camaraderie Ample hours and often ample overtime if you want it Entertaining

    Cons

    Dov Charney Forced overtime Disorganization and confusion around head office directives Rushed and unclear training Sexism I feel like if one stays with this company too long, they might never be able to shake the unprofessional attitude that is fostered by the American Apparel culture.

    American Apparel2012-08-23
  10. "Good while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stock Associate in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Apparel part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get an awesome 50% off discount, and there's employee specials now and then. You get a free package when you're hired, one for summer and one for winter. The environment was really good when I got hired, it was a fun place to work. It's the perfect job if you want to work for a couple of months.

    Cons

    It was a really stressful job. Literally a person a week got fired. It's not even because you're doing a bad job, it's because they hire so many people every month. If you don't fit in the mold, or your sells are not good enough, or simply because they don't like you at the fullest, you'll get fired. Recently, they started to cut back hours, and fire more employees. You're either alone with the manager on the sales floor or working by yourself if you're a stock associate employee. Working there was really fun at first, but I had to quit after 7 months since the job was so lame and stressful. Every person I got to like found himself get fired one after the other. Wasn't cool, man.

    Continue reading
    American Apparel2012-08-07
Found 107 reviews