American Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

American Airlines Reviews

Updated Jan 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
American Airlines CEO Doug Parker
Doug Parker
1,058 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Fairly long hours, but worth the effort(in 79 reviews)

  • "Company oversells flights, passengers get mad and scream at us(in 53 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines for less than a year

    Pros

    everything! all is good with them.

    Cons

    none we really get everything

    American Airlines2017-11-16
  2. "Rewarding?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time

    Pros

    flight benefits, medical benefits, dental benefits, flexible, exciting

    Cons

    stressful, ever changing, toxic, no job protection, very few benefits left

    American Airlines2017-07-18
  3. "American airlines"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Airline Pilot in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They pay alot is good is a big airline they have good planes they have alot of destinies they are excellent

    Cons

    You have to speak two languages and you need to now alot mathematics to flight the plane and you need to know all of that

    Advice to Management

    Is the best airlines and is the biggest airline in the world and they have good serves they pay alot they have the b787, b757, b767,B777 and a330 good excellent airline prefect good big biggest

    American Airlines2015-12-02
  4. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time

    Pros

    good flight benefits and travel perks

    Cons

    terrible starting wage, long hours

    Advice to Management

    listen to your employees

    American Airlines2015-09-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Rewarding in most cases"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ramp Agent in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management communicate with employees on the progress of the company

    Cons

    Some lower level supervisors appears to have little or no interest of the staff they supervised

    Advice to Management

    Provide ongoing management and supervisory training to lower level supervisors.

    American Airlines2013-11-15
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    Nothing to comment about company

    American Airlines2020-01-25
  7. "Reservations Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Draftsman/Designer in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedules, flight benefits, 4 weeks paid vacation starting day one.

    Cons

    Mandatory overtime, your schedules are seniority based. It can take years to gain seniority because we only hire every few years.

    American Airlines2020-01-24
  8. "Revenue Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Tempe, AZ

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits - medical, matching 401k, travel

    Cons

    Large corporation - can often times get lost in the numbers

    American Airlines2020-01-23
  9. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Construction Inspection Manager 

    I worked at American Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Multiple opportunities to gain skills in different areas of the company. Many projects available to work.

    Cons

    Challenging managing some Union team members while meeting your KPI.

    American Airlines2020-01-23
  10. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and pay and flexibility

    Cons

    Shift bids can be annoying

    American Airlines2020-01-22
Found 2738 reviews