Amazon "fast paced" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Amazon Employee Reviews about "fast paced"

Updated Apr 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Amazon Chairman, President, and CEO Jeff Bezos
Jeff Bezos
23,638 Ratings
Pros
  • "good work environment is a good thing(in 1845 reviews)

  • "Good pay compared to other service based companies(in 1500 reviews)

Cons
  • "its annoying to work long hours(in 1848 reviews)

  • "no cons - absolutely enjoyed it(in 848 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "fast paced"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Finance Analyst at Amazon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Safety Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong pay, $60,000 base salary, + $20K signing bonus in year 1, $18K bonus in year 2, + $50K worth of Amazon shares over a 4 year period. As top performer, strong change in promotion at a fast pace, always new challenges, strong emphasis on labour planning.

    Cons

    Too much emphasis on labour planning, long hours, required to work weekends in high volume months to keep up.

    Amazon2020-01-22
  2. "Great place to work, cutting edge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast pace, ever changing, huge opportunity to grow

    Cons

    Long hours, you need to get used to the physical demands

    Amazon2020-03-05
  3. "Nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Laborer in Milton, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy and fast growth read

    Cons

    Too much walk Lifting fast paced

    Continue reading
    Amazon2020-02-19
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student Worker 

    I have been working at Amazon part-time

    Pros

    Good for students for part time

    Cons

    Very fast paced space not for old people

    Amazon2020-02-03
  5. "It's Always Day 1!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazon has the scale of a massive global company, but the culture of a more agile startup, which is a huge plus. The fast pace of growth and change means that it always feels like it's "Day 1" where you are continuously learning and developing. You have more control and visibility of your career progression, day-to-day work and quality of life than in any previous role I've been in. I would highly recommend Amazon to anyone looking to work hard, have fun and make history.

    Cons

    For anyone looking primarily for 'tech perks' like freebies, onsite chefs, nap pods, golf simulators, etc. I don't think Amazon will be the best fit for you. Amazon treats its employees very well, but there isn't as much spending on extras as at competitors.

    Amazon2019-12-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "fast paced environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Associate in Brampton, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good compensation and you will always find work, amazon never goes out of employment.

    Cons

    fast-paced environment, may not be suitable for older people, Punjabi is the second (first) language. Some of the process assistants don't know what it likes to be polite.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2019-11-16
  7. "Great Environment but fast paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Delta, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very Great Environment to work in. You are valued.

    Cons

    Very fast paced jobs, need to hit the required rates every single day.

    Amazon2019-10-04
  8. "Good company for new comers beginners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate 

    I have been working at Amazon full-time

    Pros

    4 days a week, meet a lot of new and young people, good benefit plan, liked the personal time off structure

    Cons

    10 hour shift, too much walking. Super fast paced at times.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2019-06-22
  9. "Lot of opportunities to learn and Grow !!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Assistant in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazon is like an ocean. Best thing i like about this job is there is to much to learn and grow. If someone want to grow in his career in fast pace then he/she should work at amazon and perform at his best and move up the ladder.

    Cons

    Pay is not very good and shifts are long and exhausting.

    Continue reading
    Amazon2019-05-18
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amazon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is by far the best place I have worked for in my 20+ year career. You get to work with top notch, talented people and solving problems at a mind blowing scale. Things get traction and move along very quickly with little bureaucracy. Decisions are made using data so politics and lobbying are non existent. The company moves at such a fast pace so everyone is pushed to grow and adapt very quickly. You can learn and grow much faster than you would in other companies. One fun fact, often new hires would tell me that they are surprised by how well we treat our employees and we have a such a strong focus to keep them happy given what some of things they read online. Instead of give them a whole speech about the benefits of employee engagement, I simply tell them the cold hard facts: Amazon literally interview hundreds of candidates to find the few who are the best of the best. It is for our own best interest to keep the people we hired happy so they can be amazing and stay with us than to interview another few hundred people to replace them!

    Cons

    The company move at a very fast pace and experiment a lot. Some projects will get canceled and some teams will get moved around. For those who enjoy the stability of working with familiar teams and projects, the work environment will feel chaotic for them. People you will be working with are very smart and talent people. The culture is here is challenge each other to build a product. For those who doesn't like their ideas or proposal to be challenged, it will feel like people are always asking you tough questions and challenging your thinking. (For some this is a Pro, because this means you get a lot of smart people investing their time to help you grow) Management are expected to keep a good work life balance within the team to avoid burnouts but a few times a year, you will get called into resolving a critical issue and work extended hours to help the team.

    Amazon2019-04-04
Found 689 reviews