Alton Towers Resort "free tickets" Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Alton Towers Resort Employee Reviews about "free tickets"

Updated Dec 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Alton Towers Resort CEO Nick Varney
Nick Varney
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "fun exiting free tickets differt every day(in 22 reviews)

  • "Very good pay for people under 18(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free tickets"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "perfect for being a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Host in Uttoxeter, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alton Towers Resort part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - weekend work -free tickets and discounts - team is like a second family - good pay - every day is differnt -pushed to be my best - chances to learn new skills like makaton

    Cons

    - long hours towards the end of the year -seasonal - the local roads - took a while to get my pay sorted

    Alton Towers Resort2019-12-02

    Alton Towers Resort Response

    December 13, 2019Social Media Recruitment

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review ! It is great to read you experiences so many great things at Alton Towers Resort such as ''chances to learn new skills like Makaton'' We appreciate all of your feedback, as and where we can we will make adjustments. Best Wishes Alton Towers Resort

    Continue reading
  2. "Working at alton towers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chambermaid in Cheadle, West Midlands, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alton Towers Resort part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    school hours work by self get rewards for example 20 free tickets

    Cons

    no communication picky have favourites some rooms contain many beds in minimalistic time

    Continue reading
    Alton Towers Resort2019-12-13

    Alton Towers Resort Response

    January 3, 2020Social Media Recruitment

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review! It is great to see you enjoyed the benefits of working at Alton Towers Resort, such as Employee Magic Pass Tickets. We appreciate your feedback and will ensure all of your comments are passed on to the appropriate members of staff. Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  3. "Not awful at times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar and Restaurant Host in Alton, West Midlands, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alton Towers Resort full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a wonderful feeling knowing you have made a guests day or when you do something extra special to make it memorable, some managers are kind and understanding, you get free tickets to use in any Merlin attraction and a staff discount to make prices more reasonable on park, there are opportunities to progress within the company, it's a busy place so every day there is different.

    Cons

    They're not very understanding when it comes to mental health, I had a rough few months and was told that I was a liability to the company instead of understanding that I had to have time off because I was exhibiting symptoms of my depression, lack of energy and interest in things. The same manager once blamed me for the whole restaurant having complaints and having problems which were completely unrelated to me such as food wait time and incorrect items etc, but proceeded to say that because I had the first table that had an issue with food it made all of the other tables start complaining that weren't under my care. The staff are very clique-y, some have worked there a while and haven't progressed in roles due to their attitudes towards people and work yet are allowed to stay working there creating a toxic environment for newcomers that want to do well and care about the role. It can be stressful at times, especially at peak times, but this is expected in the food and beverage industry.

    Continue reading
    Alton Towers Resort2019-11-26

    Alton Towers Resort Response

    December 2, 2019Social Media Recruitment

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review! It is great to read that you enjoyed making guest days and doing the extra little things to make magical memories. We hope you enjoyed the Merlin employee benefits and free tickets. As a business we take Mental Health very seriously, this is why we have Mental Health First Aiders who are trained to assist and support those who need it. We would like to here more about this, please email Recruitment@Alton-Towers.com Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  4. "Amazing Setting, Unique Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Retail Host in Barnsley, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alton Towers Resort for less than a year

    Pros

    Free tickets, staff only events and previews, flexible hours available, very supportive reguarding mental health, beautiful surroundings and very happy vibe.

    Cons

    Can be very far to travel. Staff transport is very hit and miss and lack of hours in some departments during beginning of season. I have throughly enjoyed my time with Alton Towers this season and sad to be leaving. This job has meant the world to me and ive been through alot to be here. Ive moved closer for the season which wasnt cheap but I wouldnt have had it any other way!

    Continue reading
    Alton Towers Resort2019-11-11
  5. "Best and worst three years of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Customer Service Host in Alton Towers, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alton Towers Resort part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Unique setting, unique job. You get free tickets and discount on park. Some of the guests are regulars and you can build pleasant relationships with them. Genuinely a laugh sometimes.

    Cons

    Under appreciated, over worked, minimum wage. Managers do not appreciate you as people, you are nothing more than an ID number to them. Even when you go above and beyond your position you are not recognised nor appreciated for it. They view you as replaceable and there is an extremely high turnover rate of staff. One of my colleagues had concerns and went to her manager who told her to stop being ridiculous and quote “I can replace you in a second”. Ridiculously long hours, working for 7-10 days in a row sometimes. Guests can treat you appallingly, shout abuse and get physical and management view this as part of the job. Impossible to advance within your own department, often have to move departments.

    Continue reading
    Alton Towers Resort2019-11-26

    Alton Towers Resort Response

    December 13, 2019Social Media Recruitment

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review! It is great to read that you enjoyed the unique setting, unique job, free tickets and discount when working at the Resort. However, we are very sorry that you feel this way about working at the Resort. We would like to investigate this, please email recruitment@alton-towers.com Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  6. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ride Host in Stoke-on-Trent, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alton Towers Resort full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Meet new friends, free tickets, numerous discounts with other companies, further your career,

    Cons

    Seasonal, transport unreliable (sometimes),

    Continue reading
    Alton Towers Resort2019-11-10

    Alton Towers Resort Response

    November 11, 2019Social Media Recruitment

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review! It is great to read that you have met new friends, enjoyed the employee benefits and furthered your career. We appreciate feedback regarding seasonal work and transport. With this feedback we can make improvements as and where possible. Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  7. "Bad for mental health"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Ride Host 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alton Towers Resort for more than a year

    Pros

    Free tickets. Can be a very social job with good co workers. Good for a summer job/weekend work for whilst at college or uni. Rate of pay good for under 18’s. Drops to minimum wage once you turn 18. Can be a fun place to work if you are with a good team on your ride. Regular breaks if you work within rides. The grounds are beautiful and it is a unique work setting.

    Cons

    Poor management, especially in the rides department. HR and SLT seem out of touch with the reality of the work place environment. Higher rides team management aren’t helpful, for example during ride downtime they will attend the ride and watch the hosts struggle to speak to all the guests getting off the ride rather than helping. Long and unsociable hours - no work/life balance. Poor pay for both ride hosts and operators unless your under 18. Lack of staff means more pressure is put on the rides teams to keep queues to a minimum. Rides teams are blamed for the queues rather than the lack of staff. Damaging to mental health, complete lack of understanding and not a good place to be when your feeling low. Lack of permanent positions makes the place not suitable for a career and only good as a part time job in education.

    Continue reading
    Alton Towers Resort2019-11-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Cleaning rooms"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Room Attendant in Alton, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alton Towers Resort part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good pay for people under 18 Great perks such as free tickets, scarefest staff nights, etc.

    Cons

    Managers can be intimidating towards younger people

    Alton Towers Resort2019-10-06

    Alton Towers Resort Response

    October 16, 2019Social Media Recruitment

    Hello, Thank you for writing this review! It is great to read that you enjoy the benefits of working at Alton Towers Resort. We would like to hear more about your experience working at the Resort, please email ATRecruitmentTeam@merlinentertainments.biz Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  9. "Senior Management see you as a Number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Park Operations Assistant in Alton Towers, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alton Towers Resort full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Free tickets to the park

    Cons

    No chain of communication, passion is discouraged, all staff are expendable and are treated like it, standards are not enforced, hypocritical.

    Continue reading
    Alton Towers Resort2019-11-09

    Alton Towers Resort Response

    November 11, 2019Social Media Recruitment

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to hear this, we would like to hear more about your experience. Please email recruitment@alton-towers.com Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
  10. "Amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Host in Alton Towers, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alton Towers Resort full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    *Free Tickets and discounted Annual/Season Pass * Staff Previews for Scarefest Mazes, New Rides etc * Generous Staff Discount on goods and hotels * Amazing environment * Easy to reapply as a returner

    Cons

    * Distance to travel if you don't drive * Abuse from Guests * Can't progress up the ladder easily

    Alton Towers Resort2019-09-24

    Alton Towers Resort Response

    October 10, 2019Social Media Recruitment

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review! Its is great to read that there are so many 'pros' about working at Alton Towers Resort and that working environment is 'amazing'. We would like to hear more about your progression opportunities, we run training programes and schemes to help internal progression at Alton and Merlin. Please email ATRecruitmentTeam@merlinentertainments.biz Best Wishes Alton Towers Recruitment Team

    Continue reading
Found 22 reviews