Altera Intern Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2016

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
100%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Altera
9 Ratings
  1. "Good internship"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Altera

    Pros

    Learned a lot and collaborated with a bunch of people

    Cons

    Worked too hard (including some weekends)

    Altera2015-09-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Software Intern"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Intern in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Altera for more than a year

    Pros

    Very smart, nice and friendly people. Many cool challenges to tackle.

    Cons

    Somewhat closed environment, not as open as other tech companies nowadays. The whole company is betting on one piece of software, somewhat risky business model from that perspective.

    Continue reading
    Altera2015-08-02
  3. "Rewarding hardwork, company direction unknown"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Altera for more than a year

    Pros

    -Really intelligent people -Fun work environment -Good low level management

    Cons

    -Senior management has no idea what the company direction is. -Keep changing goals. -Laid off people without reason

    Continue reading
    Altera2014-03-16
  4. "Nice working environment, friendly colleagues"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Intern in Kuala Lumpur
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Altera for less than a year

    Pros

    I was an intern in IT department Flexible hour Nice management Nice facility ,gym or clubhouse Friendly colleagues who always help you out Food OK and subsidy with RM3

    Cons

    There is nothing for me to share as cons, just the food can improve, clubhouse and gym always full of people The location is not ideal because I'm having traffic congestion everyday

    Continue reading
    Altera2016-09-14
  5. "Finance Intern"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Financial Analyst Intern in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Altera for less than a year

    Pros

    Great hours, great personable employees, great learning experience. I really enjoyed my time here! I would recommend to anyone looking to learn about finance in practice and meet a solid establishment that is successful.

    Cons

    Company was merging so the amount of work for a new intern was very low. Not a lot of tasks I could complete. Felt like I was mooching little bit. Still great!

    Continue reading
    Altera2016-08-28
  6. "Internship Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Bayan Lepas
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Altera

    Pros

    Cozy and Stress free environment. Colleagues are friendly. Willing to share their experience with you when you are new to the company. Good bonding among the employees.

    Cons

    Coordination among the departments are slow.

    Altera2016-08-01
  7. "Internship in Altera Penang"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Bayan Lepas
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Altera for less than a year

    Pros

    - A good place to learn if you have a good mentor to guide you, which in my case, I had the most pleasant opportunity to. - Flexible working time. - Able to work with people on international scale

    Cons

    - The office working environment is too serious. - The actual supervisor doesn't actually pay attention to the interns, but instead let the mentors do the job.

    Continue reading
    Altera2016-07-16
  8. "Good"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Program Intern in Santa Clara, CA

    I have been working at Altera for less than a year

    Pros

    Good and healthy environment , had great learning.

    Cons

    No cons as such, quite good and healthy environment .

    Altera2016-02-13
  9. "A company mainly focuses on HW, but also has a strong SW team."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Intern in Davis, CA

    I have been working at Altera part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Payment is a little better than other simi-conduct companies, and the FPGA which is their main product is still occupying a lot of market. It is expected to be better since it is bought by Intel.

    Cons

    Engineers have to work hard in the company.

    Altera2015-10-12
  10. "Great company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineering Intern in Los Angeles, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Altera for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Food! Great work culture. People are nice to talk to and are always helpful.

    Cons

    Compensation is on the "just okay" side for a silicon valley company

    Altera2015-10-04
Found 16 reviews