Alida Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 of over 370 reviews

4.2
79%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Alida CEO Ross Wainwright
Ross Wainwright
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexibility with work/ life balance - understanding with family and outside commitments(in 31 reviews)

  • "Great people work at the company(in 28 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "As of late it has been fast paced with lots of changes to keep up with(in 12 reviews)

  • "Varying culture and work-life balance by team(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    687

    228 Comments

    Tech

    84.3K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.ca&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Alida~325658
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Jun 3, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive colleagues, strategic leadership, flexibility, momentum, growth, product innovation, clear communication, work/life balance

      Cons

      In the past, there seemed to be periodic misalignment across departments and it would take ages to get things done. Now I feel we are aligned and moving in one direction together, getting things done more swiftly.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Alida Response

      Director, Talent

      Thank you for your review. With a new VC leadership team on board over the past few months, we continue to work toward CXM leadership and are glad you can see the forward momentum.

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Game of thrones in real life

      Dec 16, 2019 - Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work/life balance Some truly amazing people

      Cons

      Almost every 1-2 years the company does a spring cleanup of top executives and with every new exec come new ideas that are royally botched up in their implementation. The aftermath of this constant turmoil is a deep pile of tech debt and N versions of similar products and services. It should not be surprising that not a single CTO has survived VC for more than 1-2 years (for over a decade now). While it is understandable that the company is going through transitions, but this is chaos. On the lower engineering level, the company size has come down by half and you could count good developers on fingertips. Over the period I worked at VC, the top leadership was engaged in making (new) grandiose plans almost every 6 months that went nowhere. Not so surprisingly, the company managed to hire some very good people but lost all of them. The level of politics is so bad, and mismanagement so deep that instead of developing products in-house, the company is outsourcing development to Lohika. While there is hope that someone will buy VC and all these problems would go away, that maybe just sweet hope. As revenues fall and customers start leaving for (cheaper) alternatives, VC has cornered itself into a tight spot.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      The company is in a tough spot.

      Nov 15, 2019 - Software Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work/life balance Mature development practices Strong middle management

      Cons

      The market VC is in is evolving and the company is struggling to find the solution to match the current trends. Lack of product vision Lack of cohesion in leadership Culture that is fading as many of the top talent exit the company Lack of defined career paths in engineering Haven't seen much financial success from the current CEO Bleeding talent faster than it can be replaced

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good work life balance

      Nov 2, 2019 - Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Culture is pretty relaxed - People are very helpful - Good work life balance

      Cons

      - Slow pace - Constant change in management decisions and company structure. It feels like they don't know where they should be heading to improve the product. - Multiple rounds of layoffs

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good People but things often don't make sense

      Jul 24, 2019 - Middle Level Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - A few really talented people that think logically and act in the best interests' of the company - Fast paced which means you get exposure to a lot of areas in a short amount of time - Work Location Flexibility - you can generally work from where you want (Note: this is not equivalent to work-life-balance) - Reasonable salary/good benefits

      Cons

      - Product value proposition can be difficult to grasp at times - Important decisions feel rushed and not well thought out - Other important strategic initiatives feel eerily similar to legacy ideas from past VC leadership - Lack of investment in the majority of the talent pool (execs are heavily biased towards a retention strategy around "A" players) - Senior Leadership Group - no communication to the middle layer, you will constantly need to take the initiative to seek out what is happening and what to focus on

      6 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Torture and politics in management

      Apr 5, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work life balance Beer carts Good office space Kitchen is well equipped.

      Cons

      Insane politics among management. Everyone wants power and say in decisions No respect for co workers. Salary range is pathetic HR tries to show that VC is great through social media but hides the real picture Great people leave the company or are asked to leave because of politics and showcased as "next big opportunity".

      14 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Just terrible

      Mar 26, 2019 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Option to WFH Beer cast Fridays Work life balance

      Cons

      In order to get the company acquired by a powerful player in the market, they have been building a shiny little thing over and over again. In recent years it has resulted in 3 iterations of what can only be described as failures. The worst part is all the people responsible are still here. The CEO wants to sell the company. The CFO says no money. The company books are in red. The CTO just wants a quick win and then you got the engineering leadership. A bunch of un imaginative,stubborn, egoistic people with an archaic mindset of creating software products. Politics is rampant. Culture is not conducive to learning. They think they are a technology and customer data company whereas it's not. Customers are leaving, issues are piled up and the people in charge are content in making their salaries. No tittle makes any sense here. Senior devs, principals, architects, even directors just because those have been here long enough. Not according to skill or competence. Huge gaps in infrastructure and platform. Crumbling product sliding to the bottom slowly. Terrible place for a new dev or engineer. Good only if you are in customer success.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful

      Alida Response

      Director, Global Talent

      On behalf of our CEO, Scott Miller Dear Current Employee, Thank you for taking the time to express your views. I am sorry that you are having such a negative experience at our company. You always have access to Tara, myself and any member of the Exec. You also have sound-off and Transparent Thursdays as forums to voice your frustration and offer recommendations on how we can improve. I hope you feel comfortable using them. I’m also sorry you feel that Vinod, Alan and I are so negatively disposed to the business. We remain passionately committed to the progress the business has made. Over the past several years, our focus on delivering customer value through our technology platform has significantly increased our subscription revenue while transforming our revenue mix from services-dominated to 88% subscription. You have heard in recent town halls and Transparent Thursday broadcasts that we are growing revenue with our target customers at double digit rates while starting to generate positive EBITDA. We also have shared openly for some time that our workforce would be changing while we pursued those business objectives. You won’t read of many transformations like that…anywhere. We believe the change we have gone through is the best strategy for Vision Critical to remain relevant to its customers during a period of dramatic disruption in the market research industry. And yes, retaining relevance will impact our enterprise value, which matters. But even more importantly, as you know, we are developing a culture that obsesses over the impact that we can have – as teams and individuals -- on the most successful brands in the world. We have dedicated several channels and stakeholder hubs to customer impact. It is highly rewarding for much of our team and it is our corporate true north. I hope you’re tuning in. You care enough to take the time to write a review. Thank you again. I hope you will take the time to engage one of our execs or senior leaders so that we can help you have the positive impact that you want to have at Vision Critical. Scott Miller CEO

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good Place to start career

      Sep 22, 2018 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good opportunity to learn Exposure is high Work life balance is good

      Cons

      Culture is not the best Compensation is lower than average micromanagement

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      VC Experience

      Sep 13, 2018 - Sales Associate in Vancouver, BC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - co-workers are smart and awesome, genuinely can be friends with many of them! - the product's concept is very innovative and what you are helping clients DO is rewarding

      Cons

      - no clear direction.. and if there is, it was not shared with employees - reorgs & layoffs - within my 3 years here, there were over 5 large reorgs with the company laying off over 100 people - lack of communication - having upper management let go of your manager, telling you that their hiring someone to replace them, and then, after a number of chaotic months, tell you that they will not be replacing your manager is misleading - work/life balance ... there isn't any - upper management & employees - having worked 3 years here with key accounts & structures, many of upper management team didn't even know my name much less care - product.. this needs a lot more work before it's ready for customers and having sales and CS hide this information is a disservice

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Marketing Manager

      Mar 26, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company, great people and great benefits. Out of all the companies I've been employed by, Vision Critical definitely stands out in a positive way. They are always actively trying to improve the employee experience and asking for feedback. Good benefits and work life balance. Senior leaders also really care about their employee's career development, and there are lots of opportunities for growth to those who seek them out.

      Cons

      In typical tech company style, things can get busy and hectic, and sometimes there can be a "lot of cooks in the kitchen". But nothing above and beyond what you see at most companies.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 42 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Alida Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Alida? Share Your Experiences

    or