Alberta Health Services Employee Reviews about "short staffed"

Updated Jan 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 1,054 reviews

3.9
82%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Alberta Health Services President and CEO Verna Yiu (no image)
Verna Yiu
315 Ratings
Pros
  • "good pay, great benefits, really good office environment, great manager who support you(in 58 reviews)

  • "Good benefits for those who have positions(in 55 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Often have to work short staffed(in 16 reviews)

  • "Positions with work/life balance hard to acquire without decades of experience(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "short staffed"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Become a nurse

      Sep 28, 2020 - Nurse 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work family life balance Various shifts availability Many locations to choose from Great network of people

      Cons

      Shift work Working on holidays/evenings or nights High demands Can be short staffed Increased responsibility

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good. Not great.

      Jan 20, 2021 - Registered Nurse 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good clinical experience, different acuity of patients.

      Cons

      Short staffed, some management leads a lot to be desired.

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Poor Management, Poor Morale

      Jan 12, 2021 - Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have a difficult time seeing the pro's these days, perhaps the only Pros are: Wage, Pension, Benefits.

      Cons

      I've had the opportunity work with several different employers throughout my career. From Private - Public (government). AHS is the worst I have ever worked for. It begins with management, they are disengaged and focused on only one thing! money, money, money. Its also the most toxic environment I've ever had to work in as well. I'm not someone who gets involved in work politics, however watching from the sidelines I can see how management doesn't follow their own policies on professional behavior and respect in the work place. This is the first and only employer which I have felt like nothing more than a number. We constantly run short staffed because they leave vacant positions vacant. We don't have proper supplies or equipment. We are constantly trying to "make things work". Through it all, when we're being asked to work harder & harder, with less & less, we're never appreciated. Not once have since joining AHS have I been told, thank you for you hard work!, or great job! Nothing like that. They "pride" themselves on patient and family centered care, however that's only followed if the budget allows. Otherwise, the feeling is patients are nothing more than a number as well. As well, your career opportunities are very limited here. Moving up the ladder is next to impossible unless you're willing to step on your colleagues along the way. Overall, I feel that I cannot perform my job the way I was trained to. I'm a caregiver and to me the patient comes first. I've never seen an organization so focused on money and budget. As well, the benefits and pension offered here do not out way the negative impact on my career aspirations and overall mental well being. The culture at AHS is not a "just culture" and does not follow the values that AHS laid out for themselves.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Ok company

      Nov 27, 2020 - Laboratory Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff, good hours, shifts are 8 hours

      Cons

      Low pay, always short staffed, very overworked and underpaid

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Always unpredictable

      Feb 14, 2020 - Practice Lead in Wetaskiwin, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A large company with multiple resources available including job opportunities

      Cons

      The variable funding provided by the government year to year makes it almost impossible to provide adequate service to patients or to plan or progress towards any goals as programs and people get cut one year and they are working short staffed and OT the next. No consistency.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee

      hard to work there when they are always short staffed

      Apr 27, 2020 - Sales in Coleman, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      working with the residents and their families

      Cons

      SHORT STAFFED+++ STRESSFUL abusive disrespectful

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Lpn

      Dec 18, 2019 - Licensed Practical Nurse 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Union helps provide some job security

      Cons

      You don’t get paid based on performance. Most units are Short staffed

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Provide quality care to patients.

      Sep 7, 2019 - Health Care Aide in Olds, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      High standard of Patient care.

      Cons

      Often short staffed. Not replaced.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      RN Job Now At Calgary

      Nov 23, 2019 - Registered Nurse in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is a job. Has decent benefits.

      Cons

      Frequently short staffed and busy

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Environment to work in

      Jul 10, 2019 - Licensed Practical Nurse in Edmonton, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Grateful for all of the educational opportunities available.

      Cons

      Often have to work short staffed

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Alberta Health Services Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Alberta Health Services? Share Your Experiences

    Alberta Health Services logo
    or