Alberta Health Services Employee Reviews about "short staffed"

Updated Oct 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 of over 1,481 reviews

3.8
78%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Alberta Health Services President and CEO Verna Yiu (no image)
Verna Yiu
492 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and great benefits with great manager(in 94 reviews)

  • "Good place to work and good benefits(in 86 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Often short staffed with long shifts(in 24 reviews)

  • "Challenges of large organization(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Healthcare

    Join the conversation on

    Healthcare

    7h

    a 

    Physical Therapist

    After submitting a job application, personally how long do you wait before not hearing any response that you take the intended job out of consideration and move on? (Not counting those random out of the blue jobs where recruiters hit you up 2-3 months later after you’ve applied.) I’ve been on the hiring end so I know how the processes work, so I give it a week max now as an applicant. I wanted to ask what everyone else’s personal timeline was?

    1

    3 Comments

    Healthcare

    30.5K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/medicine-2/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.ca&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Alberta Health Services~214023
    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Alberta Health Services and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "short staffed"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great organization

      Sep 30, 2021 - Registered Nurse in Edmonton, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Career advancement, benefits and wages

      Cons

      Change fatigue, short staffed, managers don't always know roles supervising

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Part time job

      Oct 15, 2021 - Client Care Assistant in Edmonton, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay and the benefits are good

      Cons

      Always short staffed. Can be very stressful. Need to be able to work in a volatile environment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Need more staff

      Oct 5, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay and better benefits

      Cons

      Short staffed most shifts which makes it bunts at times

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Sensible work place

      May 5, 2021 - Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) in Edson, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunities to get lots of hours and experience

      Cons

      Often short staffed with long shifts

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Environment

      Mar 9, 2021 - Registered Nurse in Foothills, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Technology and organization of staff

      Cons

      Working short staffed is common

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Feb 9, 2021 - Life Skills Coach in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible schedule with benefits and a great atmosphere

      Cons

      Work short staffed a lot

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Job review

      Feb 2, 2021 - Registered Nurse, BSN in Lethbridge, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unionized, pay is relatively good

      Cons

      Short staffed, fast paced environment

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good. Not great.

      Jan 20, 2021 - Registered Nurse 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good clinical experience, different acuity of patients.

      Cons

      Short staffed, some management leads a lot to be desired.

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Poor Management, Poor Morale

      Jan 12, 2021 - Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have a difficult time seeing the pro's these days, perhaps the only Pros are: Wage, Pension, Benefits.

      Cons

      I've had the opportunity work with several different employers throughout my career. From Private - Public (government). AHS is the worst I have ever worked for. It begins with management, they are disengaged and focused on only one thing! money, money, money. Its also the most toxic environment I've ever had to work in as well. I'm not someone who gets involved in work politics, however watching from the sidelines I can see how management doesn't follow their own policies on professional behavior and respect in the work place. This is the first and only employer which I have felt like nothing more than a number. We constantly run short staffed because they leave vacant positions vacant. We don't have proper supplies or equipment. We are constantly trying to "make things work". Through it all, when we're being asked to work harder & harder, with less & less, we're never appreciated. Not once have since joining AHS have I been told, thank you for you hard work!, or great job! Nothing like that. They "pride" themselves on patient and family centered care, however that's only followed if the budget allows. Otherwise, the feeling is patients are nothing more than a number as well. As well, your career opportunities are very limited here. Moving up the ladder is next to impossible unless you're willing to step on your colleagues along the way. Overall, I feel that I cannot perform my job the way I was trained to. I'm a caregiver and to me the patient comes first. I've never seen an organization so focused on money and budget. As well, the benefits and pension offered here do not out way the negative impact on my career aspirations and overall mental well being. The culture at AHS is not a "just culture" and does not follow the values that AHS laid out for themselves.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Ok company

      Nov 27, 2020 - Laboratory Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff, good hours, shifts are 8 hours

      Cons

      Low pay, always short staffed, very overworked and underpaid

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 24 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Alberta Health Services Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Alberta Health Services? Share Your Experiences

    or