Alberta Health Services Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Alberta Health Services Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 453 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Verna Yiu
106 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Salary freeze due to economic situation in the province(in 15 reviews)

  • "core flex, poor work life balance(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Consultant 

      I have been working at Alberta Health Services full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Wonderful and talented people to work with

      Cons

      No cons to share at this time

      Alberta Health Services2019-04-25
    • "Service Worker I"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Alberta Health Services part-time

        Pros

        Good pay, decent work environment

        Cons

        Management can be inconsistent with employees

        Alberta Health Services2019-05-08
      • "AHS - lots of opportunity"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Unit Manager in Edmonton, AB
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Alberta Health Services full-time for more than 9 years

        Pros

        Great salary, great benefits, great people

        Cons

        Hierarchy , too many managers , trying to implement new processes can be stressful

        Advice to Management

        Simplify, support, better communication and more lead up time for implementation of new projects, processes, etc.

        Alberta Health Services2019-05-08
      • "Environmental II"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Environmental II in St. Paul, AB
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Alberta Health Services part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        working my routine at my pace myself.

        Cons

        At any given time, I am on call for other services that interupt my routine.

        Advice to Management

        Management is incredible.

        Alberta Health Services2019-05-06
      • "Great Experience and Benefits at a Cost"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Social Worker II in Calgary, AB

        I worked at Alberta Health Services full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        This position offered me an amazing experience as a social worker. It offered me clinical mental health experience that helped me to further my educational goal of completing my Master of Social Work. The pay and benefits are excellent.

        Cons

        High workload, with little capacity for there to be extra hours or support that would have helped me to feel less overwhelmed. I often felt as though I was drowning in paperwork, and would often stay late in order to complete all of my work tasks. I felt I had no other option, as there was no room in the budget for me to work extra hours to complete my job, but I still felt an obligation not to get behind so I could support...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Give your employees more recognition for hard work and for taking initiative. Do complete performance reviews every year. It's important for management to hear and be responsive to the concerns of employees. Try to think outside of the box to support employees who are overwhelmed by their workloads. This will prevent turnover, burnout, and cynicism.

        Alberta Health Services2019-05-18
      • "Social Worker"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Social Worker in Edmonton, AB
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Alberta Health Services full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        Best wages and reasonable work environment.

        Cons

        Heavy on the management side

        Alberta Health Services2019-04-30
      • "Restaurant Generral Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Food Service Manager in Edmonton, AB

          I worked at Alberta Health Services full-time for more than 20 years

          Pros

          More than 10 years experience in Managing Restaurant

          Cons

          Always smiling,always happy.Hard worker.Willing to listen and learn.

          Advice to Management

          Willing to learn more.

          Alberta Health Services2019-04-27
        • "Full time"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Alberta Health Services full-time

          Pros

          As an Albertan and health care professional i want to contribute my part

          Cons

          Some times it is frustrating to be jobless while ahs is posting thousands of jobs

          Advice to Management

          No job no experiences

          Alberta Health Services2019-04-28
        • "Good company, Some culture problems"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Calgary, AB
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Alberta Health Services part-time for more than 4 years

          Pros

          guaranteed hours, pays well , benefits

          Cons

          Work environment not always friendly, Cannabalistic

          Advice to Management

          Protecting leadership roles out of principle may cause problems to fester

          Alberta Health Services2019-05-10
        • "Clinical Dietitian"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Clinical Dietitian in Edmonton, AB
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Alberta Health Services full-time for more than 4 years

          Pros

          Pay, benefits, resources, multidisciplinary teams, opportunity for advancement, job security

          Cons

          Starting out in a rural area then trying to get back to the city

          Alberta Health Services2019-04-23
        Found 453 reviews