Alberta Energy Regulator Reviews | Glassdoor.ca

Alberta Energy Regulator Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 45 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Alberta Energy Regulator CEO Jim Ellis
Jim Ellis
12 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alberta Energy Regulator full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    work life balance is great

    Cons

    too much politics and favoritism

    Continue reading
    Alberta Energy Regulator2019-07-22
  2. "Great people, great benefits, poor senior leadership culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Alberta Energy Regulator full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Smart, energetic, and capable people Benefits and work life balance can't be beat

    Cons

    Salary freeze for 5 years Senior leadership culture is not very good (silos, my way or the highway, etc.)

    Continue reading
    Alberta Energy Regulator2019-08-19
  3. "Solution Architect - OneStop Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Architect in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alberta Energy Regulator for more than a year

    Pros

    the talented people I had the pleasure of working with

    Cons

    Management is focused on private agendas instead of the good of the program

    Continue reading
    Alberta Energy Regulator2019-07-30
  4. "Steady place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor, Planning and Process in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Alberta Energy Regulator full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ability to move across the organization and try different roles

    Cons

    Constant reorganizations and "starting over"

    Continue reading
    Alberta Energy Regulator2019-07-19
  5. "An amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Alberta Energy Regulator full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work with great minds. Excellent work-life balance!

    Cons

    None that I can think of now.

    Continue reading
    Alberta Energy Regulator2019-06-10
  6. "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Co-Op Student 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alberta Energy Regulator full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, focus on the employee in terms of employee engagement and continued satisfaction, engaging work especially for a co-op student

    Cons

    Its government, things happen slow and changes are very slow.

    Continue reading
    Alberta Energy Regulator2019-05-07
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alberta Energy Regulator full-time

    Pros

    lots of internal movement & room for growth, supportive leaders, interesting work happening

    Cons

    no salary program for years, inequity with longstanding staff vs new staff coming into the organization

    Continue reading
    Alberta Energy Regulator2019-04-24
  8. "Toxic culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alberta Energy Regulator full-time

    Pros

    You get a lot of time off, people work short days.

    Cons

    There is no clear leadership, groups working against each other.

    Continue reading
    Alberta Energy Regulator2019-05-03
  9. "Very Slow, little gets done"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alberta Energy Regulator full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Producing solutions that actually impacts Albertan's. Some solid employees littered across the organization with strong backgrounds and principle based paradigms.

    Cons

    Prevalent micro-managing leadership styles, control, siloed and narrow thinking. Few enterprise thinkers are being frustrated. Career growth appears to come to the well connected.

    Continue reading
    Alberta Energy Regulator2019-03-14
  10. "Good place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alberta Energy Regulator full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, flex day program

    Cons

    do not want to comment

    Continue reading
    Alberta Energy Regulator2019-02-20
Found 45 reviews