AlayaCare Reviews

Updated Sep 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 139 of over 160 reviews

4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
AlayaCare Founder & CEO Adrian Schauer
Adrian Schauer
117 Ratings
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    If you like doing EM, PM, PO, SM and Dev role all at the same time, then I guess you'll love it at AlayaCare

    Apr 8, 2021 - Senior Web Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - My team was awesome and I made good friends there - The technical challenges are interesting

    Cons

    - Abysmal management - There are a lot of unfilled positions and it's been like that for years. So the more senior you are the more you do everything else than coding, i.e. spending more time in Jira than in your IDE of choice. - Lack of expertise in epic teams since we never let them the time to learn and improve their craft. It's sprints back to back and the planning doesn't even include time to learn about the integration testing framework so it's not used. And doesn't even include any time to learn about anything else. - Too many initiatives at the same time and none are done correctly since it's always the mindset figure out as we go without proper planning. - Everything has to be shipped for yesterday. - Salaries are low compared to market value and considering all the hats you have to wear. - There are currently an impressive number of departures each months across all engineering, I guess I'm not that crazy in my current review.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful

    AlayaCare Response

    Hi, I am really sorry that you had such an experience within your team and thank you for your feedback. As you know, we are heavily engaged in getting feedback from all team members. Since my arrival a few months ago, I've made changes to address any situation including the one you are describing for your particular team. Transparency is one our Values at AlayaCare, and as such here are some initiatives which were implemented to address the specific points you highlighted: - We assigned engineering managers to all agile teams, and this has been completed 100%. We are also assigning a Product Owner to all agile teams, including platform engineering, and positions are 90% filled as we speak. - We added hiring criteria to recruit more experienced people, and we are deploying a mentoring program to upskill employees, including dedicated time to learn, with resources such as the O’Reilly eLearning platform. - I have personally led our first quarterly planning with all agile teams. Teams defined themselves in a self-organized way their area of ownership, KPIs and Epics that they will deliver in the quarter. It encouraged collaboration and provided visibility of dependencies. Moreover, we added the notion of a two-week sprint zero every quarter to perform planning, training and additional hardening. This was appreciated by team members, and I encourage you to ask your former colleagues for their experiences. - Thanks to the quarterly planning, and having identified a few themes to focus on, we are minimizing the work in progress and the teams are setting proper expectations on when Initiatives/Epics will be delivered and what they will not work on during the quarter. - AlayaCare is in a high-growth mode, and processes and structure need to evolve to scale for the next stage of our growth. While we don’t enjoy seeing great people leave, it's not unusual to have several departures during these transition phases. One good indicator that I am tracking is that we have people who left a few months ago and are now interested to come back to AlayaCare. We wish you good luck in your career progression. In the meantime, we’ll continue to work hard to make AlayaCare an awesome place to work where people can contribute to a better world. Thank you, Best Regards, Jean-Francois Gailleur, SVP Engineering

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Amazing place to work

    Mar 7, 2021 - Director in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A company showing tremendous promise. Great company culture. Management very transparent and very apparent that they care about the employees.

    Cons

    High stress at times- comes with high expectations

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    AlayaCare Response

    Thank you for your review and for your feedback. It's awesome to know that you have been part of the AlayaCare journey for several years now. You've definitely seen lots of growth during that time. With the growth we've experienced, there can certainly be moments of stress. Please don't hesitate to share this feedback with your manager or your HR Business Partner. We're in it together and want to make sure our team members get the support they need. Thanks again for your comments and for your contributions to our growth and success as a company! - AlayaCare HR team

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company with a huge growth curve ahead

    Mar 5, 2021 - Regional Sales Director in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company culture, lots of support for remote work, fantastic market with a huge amount of upside, stock sharing plan

    Cons

    New markets mean new product gaps. They can't get filled fast enough.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Trainning

    Mar 1, 2021 - Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing sales training throughout the first couple of weeks

    Cons

    Not any cons from me!

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    AlayaCare Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate it. Great to hear to that you've enjoyed and benefited from the training you've received. Thanks again for stopping by and sharing your positive experience to date with AlayaCare. - AlayaCare HR Team

  5. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Under resourced

    Feb 25, 2021 - N/A in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Dedicated and welcoming people working hard

    Cons

    Not at the level of maturity that you would expect for a company its size Fractured and disconnected teams made up of mini companies each operating how they want to

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Excellent Culture and Opportunities

    Jan 25, 2021 - Client Services 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company to work for that is growing extremely quickly. The team is incredibly supportive and ensures that employees feel well connected. Transparency from the CEO all the way down. Lot's of exciting things happening all the time, very mission and outcomes focused.

    Cons

    Nothing bad to say about the company.

    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Challenging, but a great place to work

    Jan 28, 2021 - Client Services Manager in Rio de Janeiro
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    GREAT people, always willing to help and collaborate Open and honest leadership Growing fast so lots of opportunities to learn new skills Willing to change processes, adapt and improve

    Cons

    The company is growing very quickly, so there are some growing pains. The workload can be a lot, especially on the services teams, but the rewards are there if you are willing to put in the hard work. The product is still maturing which can sometimes be frustrating, but the focus is on the right areas and it is improving all the time. No pension plan.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    AlayaCare Response

    Thank you for your feedback and for sharing both positive and constructive feedback. Your comments are spot on with the culture, growth and reality of AlayaCare. In a hypergrowth environment like AlayaCare, there are some growing pains to work through. Glad to know that you value and appreciate the transparent and collaborative culture that we have. This will continue to be a priority for us as we scale, as it's a key part of our DNA as a company. In terms of not currently having a pension plan in place -- thanks for sharing. We recently launched our first Global Total Rewards Survey for employees and I am sure you shared this feedback there too. We are aggregating the responses from employees across the company, which will help determine how we revamp our benefits offering. Thanks again for your feedback and your contributions to AlayaCare's success! Lots of exciting times ahead! - AlayaCare HR Team

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work, great career opportunities.

    Jan 22, 2021 - Senior Staff Software Engineer in Montreal, QC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been at AlayaCare over 4 years now and I've never had a dull moment in my career since I took this job. It is a fast growing company with ambitious goals, on a sector with huge growth potential. The company's mission is one that resonates with me and I feel proud how during these years we've helped improve the quality of home health care services in Canada and around the world. There are plenty of intelligent and motivated coworkers, people you can learn from, work and play with. The company promotes a culture of honesty and open feed back that I think is very healthy. Overall, if you like professional challenges and want an opportunity to grow your career this is the right place for you.

    Cons

    - It's a complex platform that encompasses different technologies and has relatively steep on-boarding curve. - Depending on your experience and comfort zone's it can feel challenging at times.

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    The people & their values make AlayaCare an amazing place to work

    Feb 1, 2021 - Director in Montreal, QC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. The positive company values are actually embodied by its employees. 2. There is lots of room to bring ideas and help things improve (in multiple areas), and everyone is trying their best to help us get there. Bias for action is real for AlayaCare. 3. People track and Tech track career levels are equivalently valued, and people have successfully switched between the two. 4. Transparency is the default. 5. Company leadership truly cares deeply about building great software to help people receive care, as well as about making this a great place to work for the people building it. 6. It's never boring ;)

    Cons

    1. There have been many engineering management changes in the last half year as the company goes through growing pains, which can lead to perceived instability. 2. There are still urgent fires to put out on a fairly consistent basis, but it's much better than a year ago. 3. Shared ownership and responsibility areas of the product development still exist (or are vague), and only a handful of people can adequately work on some of them. 4. The culture of shared responsibility for quality is still being worked on.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Current Employee

    No work life balance, too much work load

    Jan 25, 2021 - Confidential in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible leave Can take days if you are sick

    Cons

    Unrealistic work deadlines. People burning out. What the ceo says sounds right and at first you believe it but you see none of the teams have enough people to do their work. Good people at the top but they think you should work ALL THE TIME, you are always asked more. Always talking about the stock maybe they will be rich but not the rest of everyone.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 21 - 30 of 139 Reviews

Popular Careers with AlayaCare Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at AlayaCare? Share Your Experiences

AlayaCare logo
or